Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 19, 2015
Hotel was clean and quiet with a nice pool and free breakfast at the restaurant next door. It was really convenient for our early morning appointment at Bell Hospital the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Southern Michigan

Graduation celebration

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Location: We ate at the Congress pizza place. Yummy pizza. The kids were still hungry, so they got ice cream afterwards.
The weekend we stayed, our daughter graduated from Michigan Tech. This hotel was the closest we could find, even though it was an hour and a half from Houghton. As it turned out, it was a good stopping point on our 9.5 hr drive home. They were very helpful in confirming our reservation, even though the hotel had been sold and is now operating as a Magnuson Hotel. Even though we did not have our pets, it's good to know they would have been welcomed. We would stay here again when we get up that way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marquette, MI

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The room was nice. The bathroom was a little small and the bed shared a wall with the room that had all the water heaters in it so it was kinda noisy all night when other guests used the water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Green Bay, WI

Clean room

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: You could here every step of the people above us and they were running around until 3 in the morning.
Location: National Ski Hall of Fame, sledding, Jasper Ridge Brewery
The room was clean but a little outdated and run down. There was very little insulation between floors which kept us from getting a good night sleep despite bringing a fan for our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good staff, nice location.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Good value for a night sleep. Could use some updates.
2 out of 5
by Heatherfrom Ironwood, MI

Not what I expected.

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Staff, pool and hot tub. Coupons for the restaurant next door.
Cons: Comfortable beds, pillows made for adults and bedding that is a bit softer.
Location: The area is beautiful, I'm from Marquette area and the colors were in full show. I attended a Wedding at Presque Isle that was just gorgeous.
The staff were very nice and the hot tub and pool were decent. However the bed was extra firm and uncomfortable (like sleeping on the floor) they had four little tiny pillows on the bed and the sheets/blankets were pretty but thin, rough and stiff. I did think it was strange that their "continental breakfast" was at the restaurant next door but it was nice they had coupons. I also was not amused when I woke up to find our door open. It appeared that someone had brought our bill and I'm not sure if it popped open or they opened it...either way I won't be staying here again.
1 out of 5
by kj

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Not one thing!!
Cons: CHANGE THE NAME TO COCKROACH!!
Location: Nothing here, dont stop or even slow down go directly to Marquette.
The staff didn't recognize me as a reward member. there were none of the ammenities i've come to expect @ BW.. eg refrigerator,microwave etc. very run down and dirty! I should have left @ check-in because while i was checking in the staff interupted me to help another guest who was there to exchange a cleaning rag that was folded and put in the clean towels instead of a wash cloth. disgusting!!!!! At check out i wasn't even asked how my stay was, probably a good thing since i was in a hurry and wouldn't have had time to get through the list! never be back to this property and makes me think twice about Best Western. this property has the best western name which i have always valued and stay @ BW very often(several times a month) but should not have. UGH
2 out of 5
by jeanfrom Prince Edward Island, Canada

Tired travellers

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Staff was helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: We were passing through,so no time to take in any of the highlights of the area.
Staff was quick to accommodate when we found that the bathroom was not clean. Nice to see that a complimentary breakfast was included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paulfrom Tecumseh, MI

Good overall, but....

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: Fix the ice machine. Add another. But before you do either, fix the plumbing.
Location: Iron mining is it's heritage. It brought European immigrants, and the culture of the area is the unique blend of those immigrants.
Pluses: The room was clean, the hotel was very quiet, the bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the desk staff were very helpful, and the grounds were maintained. Minuses: The bathroom was really small and a bit dated, the (only) ice machine was broken, the breakfast wasn't what I expected (I just want some yogurt and fruit and maybe a Danish), but the BIG problem was the water temperature. In a five minute shower, you can go from very cold to very hot. To me, that's a sign that the building was not plumbed properly. Would I stay again? Maybe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Clean room
Everything was clean, but hotel staff was not very friendly. When checking out it took the front desk staff several minutes to acknowledge me standing there.