Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily from UK

Perfect

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Cons: The Balthazar room could have a curtain between the bedroom and living room area so that the air conditioning is more effective.
Location: 5 mins from the Souks and Medina. Great street food in the Medina.
The riad was immaculate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Once we had found the hotel once, we didn't find it a problem to get back there again. The breakfast was delicious and served to us when we asked for it. The rooftop terrace was lovely to sit on in the evening and was quiet, despite being so lose to the Medina. We had a very relaxing time there and would definitely go back again and again. Excellent value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Riad, AWFUL owner.

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Pros: -
Cons: The owner was rude, insulting, aggressive and horrible to deal with.
Whilst the Riad itself and the local staff seemed great, the owner was nothing short of absolutely horrendous. Her response to my REQUEST to cancel a second night booking due to unforeseen scheduling issues was met with agression from the start and an accusation (without hearing me out to the contrary) that I was refusing to pay and that I was "blackmailing her" to not pay a second night, which was fanciful. She then proceeded to insult, rant and rave before eventually agreeing to cancel the full booking altogether. I would definitely NOT recommend this Riad in any way shape or form.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

wonderful riad

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: clean and lots of hhot water
Cons: wifi only in common areas
Location: tricky at first
beautiful room and lovely people! we would reccommend the airport transfer however. the wifi is only available in the common area on the first floor but still a wonderful riad!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic place to stay in Marrakech

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Cool respite from the heat.
Location: Easy to find, well placed for the sites.
Very friendly staff, very accomodating, looking after a bag for us for 3 days when we went away on a tour. Lovely building and rooms, fantastic breakfast. Well placed for the Jmaa el-Fnaa and the souks.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Freestone

Disappointing! 5USD supplement for aircondition?

Posted Aug 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
The pearl of this Riad is the Manager, Nadja. Booking confirmation by the owners, two sisters in Paris, with request for cash payment on arrival, not as mentioned you will be charged by check out^ Unfriendly letter after booking about what can be expected & what not. Difficult to find place, even more in the night as access portal is closed. After my room was payed i discovered there was NO AIRCONITION despite description ^all rooms air conditioned^ on website hotels.com. Owners offered over tel. other room *supplement of 5 USD more. Only hand written receipts for room and tourist tax payments lets doubts about if income is declared? I would not recommend this Riad, as compared with the others i stood at in Marrakech *Riad Carina and Riad Diana^ this does not deserve 5 stars. I would give 2 to 3 stars, this mostly for the nice building and the Manager Nadja who tries hard to make up for the absent owners and there not fair advertising. I suggested as well to offer a welcome mint tea as others are doing and Hotel cards with a map of the access way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and superb accommodation

Posted Aug 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
We couldnt have asked for a better riad to stay in Marrakech for our three nights stay. Our flight arrived early in the morning and despite the check in time of later in the day, we were checked in early. The welcome was very warm and friendly. We were met and greeted by Badr and Nadia who were also very helpful with directions and general tips. The Riad is very close to all the major attractions including the Souks and Jemma el Finaa. The rooms were HUGE, the breakfast was great and the location is very quiet and aay from the hustle and bustle of the city. We also stayed at another Riad for our last night in Marrakech but I now wish I had returned to Dar Balthazar Riad. It was the warm hospitality of the staff and superb condition of the accommodation that did it for me. Oh and great value for money!!! I would highly recommend staying there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from UK

Right Riad, Wrong Room.

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: location, furnishings, traditional style, friendly staff
Cons: no air-conditioning, lack of privacy
Location: quite difficult to find but only 10 minutes on foot from main square.
This is a lovely traditional riad with really friendly staff. Unfortunately, our room didn't have air conditioning which meant nights were almost intolerable (it was 48 degrees centigrade during the day!). I think other rooms have air conditioning so ensure you ask for one of those. Another problem was that our room was on the ground floor, just off the central courtyard. This meant that it was rather noisy. We could hear people eating breakfast and, even worse, other guests could hear us using the shower, toilet etc. This was rather embarrassing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Zanyelin from Derbyshire, UK

Lovely riad in handy location

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Pros: Ambiance and location
Cons: dusty room
Location: very convenient for souks and medina
Riad Dar Balthazar is a lovely quiet place to stay convenient for the souks and less than 15 minutes to Djemma El Fna.The staff are very welcoming- as everywhere in Marrakech it helps to speak a little French. The bed was very comfortable and if only the weather had been warmer we would have loved the rooftop terrace! Breakfast in the pretty courtyard was great too and plentiful. The rooms have a/c and hairdryers. There was a plug in oil radiator too if needed.