Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Sanctuary from the craziness of Marrakech itself

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: It was very comfortable, decorated in true Moroccan style and was a great place to chill out with large very comfortable rooms and beds.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The local Saturday market is most certainly worth visiting - otherwise little to do but hotel provides complementary shuttle bus into town.
Stayed here for a week in October 2014. Spent every other day exploring Marrakech and the remaining days relaxing in the oasis of the Kasbah Dar Ilham. It was an excellent venue for a complete contrast to the busy hustle and bustle of the town. The staff were very welcoming and always ready to help us. The food was delicious and authentically Moroccan. Large swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds and nice grounds - and never felt too busy as only eight rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Lovely hotel with excellent service

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, the shuttle service, the quality of the food, the spa experience.
Cons: A more regular shuttle service without the additional charge- although I understand the costs this would involve in terms of fuel etc.
Location: The Medina is around 30 minutes away is where you will find all of the market stalls and entertainers. The hotel also is near a golf resort.
If you are looking for a relaxing break I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. At first it seems as though the airport is far from the airport (around 35-40 mins) but this becomes less of a problem seeing as the hotel provide a free transfer to and from the airport. Also, this means there is less outside noise around the hotel which is what you want if you're there to relax. The staff are brilliant and understand English well. Any issues we had were quickly resolved. For instance, we decided when we arrived that we would like to move to a bigger room (to a suite) if there was one available. Luckily there was and we were able to move rooms hassle-free. The hotel appears very family run, which adds to a traditional feel. The food is made from scratch and is delicious. Prices are also very reasonable. I would recommend that any guests try the hammam experience. The masseuse is also one of the best I have come across and she will leave you feeling truly relaxed. All spa treatments are good value for money compared to the UK. The shuttle that the hotel provides to the main square is very convenient (this is around 30 minutes away). The driver will take you at 11am and bring you back at 6pm, although you can change the times for a small fee. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. Personally, I would love to stay here again if I visit Marrakech again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tattytfrom UK

Very relaxing stay

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a very relaxing stay at the Kasbar. The staff were very attentive and very welcoming. On one of the days we had the pool to ourselves which was great, even putting our own music on the sound system. The location is great if you want to escape from the Medina, and the free shuttle bus is an added bonus. My only niggle would have been that the pool needed to be de-bugged on one of the days, but I am sure had I asked this would have been done right away anyhow. We would return, and hope to in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquil, private, personalized

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff and everything they did to make the stay perfect, from the food service to the spa to the room cleanliness.
This hotel was a nice surprise because it had the personalized attention of a B&B with the quality of a luxury hotel. Spa and Hammam were very relaxing and the pool and "tent" were welcome additions to the retreat. The food was home-cooked and deliciously authentic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Timfrom Sussex, UK

Lovely oasis of calm.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Brighter lighting in rooms.
Location: Remote & peaceful.
Had a wonderful stay in lovely peaceful & quiet surroundings. Staff were superlative all round & couldn't have been more helpful. Food was equally excellent, all cooked to order & very fresh. Pool was really lovely with very good beds to lie on. Sun hats were a nice added touch! Only reason I've given room comfort a '4' is that lighting is rather subdued in room & hard to read by. We had a delightful relaxing stay & highly recommend Kasbah dar Ilham to anybody that likes to stay out of town. (1/2 hour from centre by free shuttle).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Oyvindfrom Oslo

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Alt
Location: Rolig passe avstad til sentrum
Fint og koselig hotel. Hit vil jeg komme igjen Meget hyggelig betjening, god mat, fine senger, herlig rent baseng Topp
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean Françoisfrom Strasbourg, France

Très bel hôtel traditionnel pour couples ou famill

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: Le personnel et l intimité de cet hôtel
Cons: Le petit bout de piste pour y arriver
Location: Très au calme. La récompense après 20 minutes de route après le centre de Marrakech
Hôtel un peu difficile à trouver, mais une fois franchi le portail, c est un petit coin de paradis, avec un accueil digne de la réputation marocaine. De petites attentions de la part d un personnel toujours disponible ! Après une tempête de sable vers 21h, une piscine pleine de poussière, de feuilles et de fleurs, nous avons tout retrouvé en parfait état pour le petit déjeuner. Le personnel à travaillé jusqu à 5 h du matin pour tout arranger ! Un grand bravo '
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value
2 out of 5
by Albertofrom New York, NY

Not a good choice for couples

Posted Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Quiet but out of town
Cons: Poor quality and service delivery
Location: Ideal if you want to be away from the city but not the most convenient
We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and we had a very subpar experience at this hotel. First, the hotel did not pick us up at the airport, they said why didn't you call us? Now, I don't have a phone as I am a tourist so I could not call. Secondly, the service is poor at best. There is no menu options for dinner, you eat what they feed you unless you tell them hours in advance. Additionally, the breakfast is exactly the same every day, which gets dull and frustrating fast. One day they told us, "sorry we do not have any eggs." I've never been told this at any restaurant or hotel, ridiculous. Also, there is no ironing board in the room. I left them two shirts to iron and we had to wait for them to finish ironing in order to leave the room (waited 1 hour). Another bad experience I had was when I brought back a doggy bag of food back to the hotel. They actually went inside my room to take the food and drinks away b/c guests are not allowed to bring in food, which I was not aware of. In short, this hotel, in my opinion is no where near 5 stars. The service is poor and the staff do not know how to treat guests professionally. They are nice, but not very business smart. I encourage you to look elsewhere unless you are on a very low budget and want to relax and do nothing, which is what you get here. There are no activities at this hotel and the pools are nice, that's the best thing I can say about them.
Comment from General Manager
Sep 7, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Our guest's opinions are really very important for us to move forward and also very pleased to learn that you liked the staff and pools in Dar Ilham. To arrange your airport pick up, as all hotels ask, we need your flight details fist and then we ask to call or text once you plane lands, because many plane are late and this avoided to van driver to wait for a long time in the car park. (There are public phones at Marrakech airport). Every day we ask our customers if they prefer to have lunch or dinner in advance, and what they prefer to eat, because we have a fresh meal, made en request, (we don’t serve meals already cooked). We assure you that our chefs try to offer an exceptional range of the highest quality gourmet dishes with a very adequate value. Also, we have a laundry service, and there is no ironing in the room, because we have a special fabric on sofa and beds, and i think the laundry staff ask you for time that you need your shirts. Any where you go in the world and in the notification document in your room, it was writing “it’s not allowed to bring in food and drinks”. Ultimately, we assure you that we have always been attentive to every guest’s request and every wish, and we always do the maximum to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. This has always been our policy. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Redhill, UK

Great hotel to relax in

Posted Nov 25, 2011
We started our 2 weeks honeymoon tour of morocco in this hotel - we picked it because of its pool as we wanted to do 'nothing' for a few days. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself clean and very Moroccan and the pool, hammam and jacuzzi simply perfect. We didn't leave the hotel for 3 days and loved it. Highly recommended.