Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alison from Surrey

Lovely Convenient Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Convenience, decor, the different styles of riads, food, lovely staff.
Cons: Perhaps the artificial lighting in the room could be slightly brighter!
Location: 10 mins walk from the main square and souk. Adjacent to the Saadian Tombs, Short taxi ride from everywhere else.
We had a wonderful few days at La Sultana - the staff were so lovely and welcoming. We had the Jaguar Suite which was fabulous and felt special if a little dark which was remedied by it's 2 balconies! The food was delicious. The staff gave great recommendations for dinners out and organised our tours into the Atlas Mountains and around the Souk and any taxi we required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott from San Francisco

Gorgeous Hotel!

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Location: Centrally located in the Medina, walking distance from all the major sites.
Stayed at La Sultana for four days in June 2013. Five star riad exceeded our expectations in every way. The place was so beautiful. Perhaps one of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed in. Our room was large, and extra luxurious. Service was top notch. Breakfast was delicious. Location was ideal
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LUXEMBOURG

TERRIBLE STAY - DO NOT STAY AT THE SULTANA

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: The Architectural part of the Hotel
Cons: The Hotel Manager
Location: The Hotel is situated in the middle of the Medina.
If you are planning to go to Marrakech, do NOT stay at the Sultana. Even if it has to be said that the Hotel looks beautiful, with a very nice terrace, is decorated with taste, nonetheless the Staff and the Hotel Manager are a real nightmare. The rooms are very dirty. The Hotel staff is absolutely hopeless - at the Restaurant you have to ask for simple things again and again and wait around 40 minutes to get some water or some bread. The noise from the restaurant (where the Staff is moving tables around) makes it impossible to gets some sleep in the night. The Hotel Manager accused an old lady for making the noise !!! - when it was the Hotel Staff making all the noise, every night. Shame on you, Hotel Manager ! The worse of all was the Hotel Manager. We had booked and already PAID with Expedia for a Suite with 2 adults and 2 child. She obliged us to pay an extra USD 1.500 for one of the two child beds - even if I had already paid for it via Expedia. She was terrible and so unprofessional. She will always try to lie to you and ask you to pay extra cash for things you have already paid for. Our stay at the Sultana has been the worst experience in Marrakech. After this terrible experience at the Sultana we stayed at the Mamounia, at the Taj Palace and at the Nashira Riad and they were all fantastic Hotels. We can only advice you NOT to stay at the Sultana if you are planning to spend your holidays in Marrakech which is a fantastic, friendly and beautiful city to travel to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daifly

Excellent hotel for couples

Posted Mar 18, 2013
My wife and I stayed at La Sultana for 7 nights in mid-March. We had a ground floor Prestige room which was very well appointed and spacious. The service in all areas of the hotel, from reception to restaurants, was superb. We ate dinner in the hotel several times and particularly enjoyed sharing the shoulder of lamb. Less enjoyable was the musician who plays ethnic music endlessly - a short break occasionally for some peaceful conversation would be welcome! The staff must get a particular mention. They were always attentive without being obtrusive, addressed us by name and seemed to anticipate our needs even before we knew them ourselves. The hotel's location is within easy walking distance of many of the places of interest in the centre of Marrakech. It's not cheap but is heartily recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shaz

Beautiful Hotel, in a great location.

Posted Feb 25, 2013
We have stayed here twice now, I cannot compare it to other hotels in Marrakech, but compared to others that I have stayed in across the world, this rates highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AD

A hotel with character and love

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Pros: service
Cons: swimming pool
Location: close to the centre.
The hotel was fantastic. Great and extremely courteous staff, well kept rooms, great decor and nice food. The atmosphere is wonderful, whether it is basking in the sunshine in the morning in the terrace or it is having dinner next to the pool with nice soft live music or whether it is the hamam, its all very nice. The reception booked all tours, hired cars for us and also booked tables in restaurants. They were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from New York, NY

A Delightful Oasis

Posted Dec 26, 2011
Pros: The service, the restaurant, the roof-top terrace, the food, the staff, the calm of the hotel's four interior courtyards.
Location: Excellent location inside the old city. Has all the plusses and minuses of being in the Kasbah.
We loved this place! The facility is located right in the noisy rough and tumble of the Marrakech Kasbah. Right outside the door was the vibrant, hectic city that can be fairly nervewracking to those not used to it, yet inside was an island of calm, quiet, and beauty. Built around 4 riads, each with its own design, the hotel has every imaginable facility for nonbusiness travelers, including a spa that my wife loved. Deserving particular mention are the rooms with that come with Jacuzzi and free minibar and the roof-top terrace with spectacular views and equally excellent food. We ate five meals (lunches and dinners) in the restaurant (including one lunch on the roof) and enjoyed superb food (both European and Moroccan) and service. Actually, although the facility is excellent, service is really its strong suit. The service was warm and helpful and went far beyond the expected--for example, we left an article in the room and just as we were boarding a bus to take us to the coast, the hotel doorman charged up to the bus station (3 miles from the hotel) on his minibike, with our article in hand. Marrakech is a wonderful but somewhat overwhelming city--even for a native New Yorker like myself. Having La Sultana as a refulge made our visit an absolute delight.