Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Amber from London

Amazing Riad

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic stay at Riad azoulay - can't rate it highly enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlos from Santiago

Perfectness for savvy travellers

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed for three nights in Dec/2013, and couldn't imagine a better experience. From the scents and flavors of the food to the comfortable beds, chairs and sofas, the typical morroccan plates, lamps and assorted objects, everything conspires to make you instantly feel in Marrakech. The 5 minute-walk from Place Ferblantiers through the Souk des Epiciers is part of the experience: no tourist trap here, but an authentic local market, catering to locals and visitors alike. This little maze should be negotiated, at least when arriving, with an employee from the hotel, but afterwards I did it on my own many times with pleasure, savouring the smells of the merchandise. A local touch is the muezzin call to prayers, 5 times a day, which woke me up on the first night. Not more than 5 minutes long, but being awakened before dawn can be avoided with earplugs (I did it). I highly recommend the hamman in-house experience, and the Berber masseuse has really strong hands. A few more sessions and I'm sure I'd have overcome my cubicle-generated escoliosis. I'll be back :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by danny

a true oasis

Posted May 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Riad Azoulay is such a gem. The simplicity of the interior design is the antidote for the chaotic, overwhelming but exciting daily activities that surround it. The owner Max is wonderful. His staff provided the best service with a smile. They all catered to every request we made to make our stay in Marrrakech memorable and enjoyable. I definitely would stay there again and be pampered. Arranging transportation from the airport is a must. Saves you headache and time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Cute and clean with the best service

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a great time staying in Riad Azoulay. It was very clean, the people who work there are extremely friendly and helpful and the Riad itself is beautiful. Our room was large and we got a free upgrade without asking for one which was a very nice gesture on behalf of the manager, Max. My only 'constructive' comments would be that the bed could have been more comfortable and the area wasn't exactly the slickest, but that's what you get if you want to stay in the Medina!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Traveller35 from London, UK

Lovely staff, difficult to find

Posted Mar 7, 2012
Pros: Terrace
Cons: Location
Location: Very difficult to find in the middle of the spice market. You need someone to pick you up!! Not suitable with lots of luggage!
When wie arrived, the Taxi driver dropped us in front of the spice souk and said "It's down there, just 5min", then disappeared. We were totally lost and decided to ask another taxi driver for the way, but no one seemed to know the way. Luckily a man said he knew, so we had to trust him and follow him into the dark, crowded souk with 3 suitcases, which was not really fun. After 5min we arrived in a side alley that wie would have never found on our own and a little sign said "Riad Azoulay". A pity that no one told us before our arrival that it's so difficult to find. The Riad is in the Jewish quarter, approx. 15min walk from the main square. A nice area. The hotel management were lovely, very helpful. Breakfast is served in the sun where one can watch the storchs nest and the mountains can be seen from the rooftop terrace. They have a lovely puppy as well. Breakfast was good, eggs upon order. As the mosque is next to the Riad, every morning at 5am there is the call for prayer which would wake us up, but the rest of the night was quiet. All in all, we would probably not return, as we think that Marrakesh has many more beautiful places and riads, but we'd recommend it for a short stay in case you've got them pick you up and show you the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent accommodation!

Posted Mar 3, 2012
Pros: Service and food
Location: Located in the spice souk area
This hotel was amazing! The service was exceptional. Highly recommend the hotel transfer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Impressed

Posted Feb 1, 2012
Absolutely fantastic small intimate boutique hotel. Lovely attentive staff. Excelllent value. First rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Riad Azoulay - an oasis of calm in a crazy city

Posted Nov 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
With great service and lovely décor Riad Azoulay is a sanctuary from the intensity of the streets of Marrakech. The food is great, the staff are helpful and friendly, and the prices are competetive with other establishments. Like most places in the heart of the city its not good for those with impaired mobility, but the location is very convenient for the sights of Marrakech as the Riad is right in the heart of the spice souk, an area which is very atmospheric but also extremely busy - watch out for the mopeds and donkey carts!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice building, but sterile feeling and noisy

Posted Oct 12, 2010
The riad has been completely rehabbed, and is very clean. The decor is a little too sparse making it feel sterile. It doesn't help that each room has it's own theme relating to a different culture, such as Chinese room, Syrian room, Tibetan room,... I thought that this was rather odd -- why not make them all Moroccan rooms? After all, isn't Moroccan culture one of the reasons people stay in riads? Max and his staff took very good care of us. My fiance got sick during our stay there, and they made her some rice porridge to comfort her. They also sent up a bouquet of flowers for her on her birthday (Max had noticed her birthday on her passport when we checked in). It's a 5 minute walk to Bahia Palace and a 15 minute walk to Djemaa el Fna. But that's like one day in Marrakech. The surrounding neighborhood is quite gritty (part of the experience), and there are some decent handicrafts to be found nearby. People are outside until 2 or 3am each night hanging out, talking, laughing. Then, at around 4am, the call to prayer from the mosque next door starts, for a good 20 minutes. It sounds like a megaphone right outside your window. Makes for getting a good night’s sleep quite difficult. Other problems... The wi-fi is spotty at best, and they couldn't process my credit card when I checked out, so I had to run to the ATM and use 2 different ATM cards (and pay two different fees) to get enough cash. Max speaks a little English, but the rest of the staff do not.