Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John & Alison from London

Quiet haven from the madness of the medina

Posted Feb 22, 2014
This is an excellent riad which we highly recommend. Simple, clean and peaceful - just what you need after a day of getting hopelessly lost in the medina. Excellent value for money too! Initially it's hard to find due it's off-street location. At the airport give your taxi driver your Expedia printout of your booking as he may have to phone the riad to check where it is. The taxi won't be able to take you all the way there due to the narrow streets of the medina - there's a 10 minute walk. The staff are vey helpful and friendly and the central location makes this riad an ideal base for your explorations of the madness they call Marrakech.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from San Francisco

Wonderful!

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast, very charming, close to town square
Cons: More help finding the riad
Be prepared to get lost finding this riad, as it is a bit deep into the alleyways, so be weary arriving at night. Otherwise, we had a wonderful stay. It has so much charm and is clean. The staff was very nice. Nice, free breakfast, too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nicely maintained riad a few minutes walk from the main square. Staff were helpful and friendly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Explore from UK

Disappointed.

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location- we got lost around the medinas alleys. It's extremely difficult to find the riad if you do not know where you are going. Eventually, a lovely young man heard us ask for directions and he took us to the riad, by which point we lost all sense of direction. Room- Stayed in the downstairs double room. 1st impression, room was dark, cold and the bathroom mirrors were filthy. Bedding was a mixture of sheet, furry duvet and throw over. If you have dust allergies the furry duvet alone will affect you if not the dust 1st. Pillows were stained and did not have a cover. Used a t- shirt to solve that problem. Cancellation- After seeing the room, I asked if it were too late to cancel & I was told you would have to do this 1 week in advance. I had only booked a few days ahead so I suppose no cancellation policy applies. Also, I assumed my booking was paid for when I made the booking but apparently not and so I had to pay on arrival. I was told 64 euros and that was converted into Moroccan dirhams. What conversion rate was used, I do not know. Nor was I given a receipt in fact. This confusion may be due to a lack of explaining when I made the booking through hotels.com but nevertheless it wasn't the smoothest check in process. Breakfast- as a Moroccan myself, believe me when I say, be under no dilution, this is NOT a traditional Moroccan breakfast. Bread, olive oil, honey, peach jam, strawberry jam, butter, 1 cheese triangle each, Moroccan bread, coffee, milk, sugar, FRESH orange juice and that was breakfast! If you asked for Moroccan tea then it was provided. On the 1st day they added these lil Moroccan 'melwis', 1 each & very small. You most likely will have to share a table with other guests which is probably the best part as the riad does have a cold vibe but be careful as you'll find yourself eating what's left of their bread. A near empty flask of coffee and that's that until you ask for some. You are almost left to it and no one is that attentive to you. There was 1 lady who seemed to do everything so I do understand that it would be too much for anyone. In 2 days we saw 3 members of staff. 1 of them being the night porter! All smile and seem friendly enough but that can only carry the riad so much. Overall- personally, I would never return there again. We didn't want to stay out late at night as the alley ways don't feel that secure. It's dark and even as a native who speaks the language I wouldn't trust it. That did affect our time in Marrakech. A couple of other guests did return in the early hrs and have said they found a guard at the entrance of the alleys and he accompanied them to the riad for their safety. There are so many hidden riads I could see why there was a guard at night. Had I known I probably wouldn't have rushed returning in the evenings. The living room upstairs is nice but cold. They should make use of that fireplace. 1 of the rooms upstairs looked much nicer then ours to be fair but still overall I was disappointed. It was the cheapest accommodation I ever stayed in and I put it down to that. Lesson learnt. The good- the riad held on to our luggage till our evening flight and the staff were nice about our going back and forth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andina from Latvia

Nice to stay - good localization.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Good rooms and staff. Breakfasts excellent!
Cons: Hard to find in The Medina - need for improved references. Need to improve the water outflow and bathrooms.
Location: In the center of Medina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fatima from uk

very nice hotel close to the center city

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: very quiet and just short work from the center very friendly
Cons: they don't have restaurant in the hotel
Location: very good location and friendly staff
i had lovely time.it is very nice house, and the staff were friendly. the room very comfort and clean.I would recommended to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ella from Philadelphia

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Riad Dar Ihssane is beautifully arranged, clean, and comfortable. We really liked the aesthetics of this riad-- the bedroom, bathroom, and common areas are beautiful. The location is also excellent. Overall, this was the best riad that we stayed in Marrakesh. Despite many people's admonition, it's actually not that hard to find. It's listed on Rough Guide map - and the Marrakesh Jma El Fna map is accurate, so just follow that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Riad right in Jemaa

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
As everyone has mentioned, the place is extremely hard to find. Even with much preparation and Google Mapping, you'll likely have to give a local 20 dirhams or so to lead you to the front door. After that, however, the stay is wonderful! The staff is extremely warm and helpful and the rooms are private and cool. The Riad is a five-minute walk from the heart of Jemaa Al Fna and I would love to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com