Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mansfield

friendly service

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
charming and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mark from new york

personal service

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
the owners of this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. they advised us on where to go, and even took us shopping in the souk. rooms are tastefully furnished, clean, comfortable and quiet. beautiful terraces for breakfast and sunbathing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Marrakech

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: Flowers on my birthday and being on the roof of the Riad for sunset and the rippling calls to prayer, it was just stunning.
Location: Riad close enough to Medina to walk, far enough away from Jemaa el Fna to feel like you are able to relax
We stayed at both the Riad in the Medina and the Villa Bahat Khmissa outside Marrakech. The Riad is close to Jemna el Fna and a great base to explore the old town and beautifully done out and everyone is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The Villa is about 6km outside Marrakech and feels like staying with friends. On my birthday Michael presented me with a beautiful bouquet of roses!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carol from London, UK

Lovely riad with great location

Posted Feb 10, 2013
Pros: Lovely owners, beautiful place and the sweet potato spread for breakfast!!!
Cons: no shower curtain
Location: great!
The only reason why this hotel does not get 5 stars from me is because people should keep in mind it is riad, not a hotel. A riad is basically a very big house, so there's not much privacy. You listen to your next room neighbour and to people coming in and out and ringing the door bell and chatting in the open area where all rooms open up to. The same of course applies to your own noises. There is no 24 hour room service and all the amenities you'd get in a regular hotel. The owners are wonderful though, the place clean and beautiful and (apart from other guests), incredibly peaceful despite it's perfect location in the medina. It's close to the Djemaaa el Fna in one of the little streets of the medina, but also easy to find and close enough to a main street that you can easily explain to a taxi driver and only have a couple of blocks inwards to walk. Breakfast is delicious too, there's free wifi and good hot showers (if no one turns off the water in the evening and you have to take a shower at 5am, make sure you let them know if none of the owners are around). Only problem is there are no shower curtains, so it does make a bit of a mess. Overall, if you're a heavy sleeper and want a beautiful, warm and homey place to stay, I'd definitely recommend Dar Khmissa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from London

A very pleasant stay

Posted Mar 3, 2012
Pros: The location, the staff and the atmosphere of the Riad were all fabulous.
Cons: Nothing....
Location: About a five minute stroll to the main square in the old town. Very good location.
The Riad Dar Khmissa is a very lovely place to stay. Found in the backstreets close to the hectic main square in Marrakech few would expect to find the peace and tranquility that the Riad offers. The staff are so friendly, happy and enthusiastic to meet your every need. The Riad is very well maintained, with a choice of furnishings and decorations to make your stay truly authentic. Waking up to the sound of birds, the smells of the spices and cooking rising up from the kitchen and the smokey burning of the real open fire in the courtyard all add to the atmosphere. Its like a haven of calm amid a city of chaos. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to everyone. Vincent the owner is very nice, and personally took us to the airport on our return to the Uk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Molly from San Francisco

Great find

Posted Feb 27, 2012
Pros: The public areas were stunning, the living room and the roof terrace, which has several levels.
Cons: It was hard to find initially when we arrived from the train station by taxi -
Location: within walking distance of many of the things you will want to see
We loved this riad. The staff were wonderfully kind and extremely competent, the decor is classy and the riad is full of art - Tuareg camel bags, paintings done by the owner, ceramics, masks etc. The breakfast was terrific and we ordered cous-cous one evening prepared by the kitchen - fabulous. Meals can be ordered ahead of time. Fire in the living room, sunsets from the roof terrace, I would go back in a second and probably will. Location is just off the Jemna El Fna, in a quiet part of the medina. Close to major petit taxi stand, Koutoubia Mosque and souks. Staff arranged a hamman visit for my son and a henna treatment for my daughter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

A great hidaway from the 'mayhem'

Posted Feb 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
A very beautiful and surprisingly peaceful hotel tucked away in the very heart of the city. We felt safe here, and very well cared for on our first visit to the crazy city of Marrakech.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Riad Dar Khmissa - much overrated

Posted Jan 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
This riad is located within the Medina in Marrakesh and the location is great, within walking distance to all there is to see and do in the Medina. The staff is very nice and helpful. No one there really speaks English, so getting information about what to do and where to go is difficult. Most of the guests are French speaking as are the owners, so we felt quite left out the conversations. The toilets are really small and inadequate. Drainage is poor. On the day we arrived, our passports were taken by the owner Michel and not returned until we settled the bill on the last day. We are of Indian origin, now living in the US. We asked another caucasian, american couple staying at the riad about this and they said that Michel had not even asked to see their passports. If you do not speak French and/or are a person of color, I would not recommend that you stay at this riad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Home away from home in Marrakech.

Posted Jan 24, 2012
Location: convenient location within walking distance to all sites and markets
Loved the homelike atmosphere of the Dar Khmissa. The owners and staff were attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere was conducive to meeting other guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. The rose petals on the breakfast table, and abundant fresh flowers enhanced the atmosphere. The table was always set beautifully, and the breakfast was fresh and filling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Ah-mazing

Posted Oct 17, 2011
Super friendly staff, in an awesome central location. Had the best time hanging out - it was like staying at a friends house! The garden / roof terrace is beautiful, and it was so easy to hang out. Even took a ride out to their lovely pool (a little out of the Medina) which was wonderful! Breakfast was delicious and different every day and Hisham makes the best mint tea ever. Wish we could have stayed longer!