Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in the middle of the Medina

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was particularly nice.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the middle of the Medina -- everything can be reached easily by foot, but taxis are also available a short walk away.
Riad Dar Zaman is a great hotel in the middle of the Medina. With four rooms, it is very small and intimate, but the hosts are at the same time incredibly nice and helpful, yet leave the guests to their own devices when appropriate. The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms are nice and a good and hearty breakfast is served every morning. The staff is very helpful (Hassan in particular!) in helping you out with the organisation of your stay in Marrakesh, drawing maps for you, recommending restaurants, organising local hamam vists and day trips. A great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Northamptonshire UK

Excellent Riad.... Great location.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
We cannot praise this Riad enough it's well located, with great food(inc lovely fresh continental breakfasts along with freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade yogurt and omelettes ) also v clean.... But the most impressive thing for us was the quality of the staff and service... Nothing's too much effort , both Karima and particularly Peter and Hassan go to such efforts to give you a warm welcome and ensure have all you need. Hassan goes to great lengths to ensure you can find your way around and passes on local tips and advice on where to go and what to do. Only possible improvement, a well lit bathroom mirror to enable a gentleman to shave. Really looking forward to a return trip....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garry from UK

Hidden Gem

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Peaceful and calm. Brilliant staff. home from home
Location: Right in the midst of the Medina
A quiet oasis to return to after hectic Marrakech. Hidden away the traditional road offers 4 rooms and owner Peter and Manager Hassan will cater for your every need in an attentive but unobtrusive way. They will organise collection from airport, meals, tours and everything they do is first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Authentic Riad set in the heart of the medina

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: It's authenticity
Cons: Earlier breakfast time so you get out and beat the crowds at popular sights
Location: The souks, museums, walking distance to main square.
Everything that was promised was delivered. Airport pickup welcome and would recommend in order to find Riad for first time. Friendly, informative, obliging staff who managed to provide excellent service without being overbearing. One of my lasting memories will be sitting on the roof terrace listening to the call to prayer with the Atlas Mountains in the distance in the warmth of the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark C from London

A charming and exceptionally friendly riad.

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The welcome reception and induction was fantastic with Hassan telling us everything we needed to know to get the most of the Medina and this alone was priceless! The room was comfortable and had a nice ambience and was serviced perfectly. The breakfast was nice and we had our first night's meal at the riad which was cooked by Karima and it was also perfect. All in all, a great place to stay in the central Medina with everywhere within walking distance. The owner, Peter, emails you with proper information before you travel and do take up the offer of the taxi transfer from the airport organised by Peter and Hassan because unless you already know the Medina like the back of your hand, you will never find your accommodation and the normal taxi drivers will be equally as clueless!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel in the centre of Medina

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was good and we were warmly greeted by Peter, Hassan and Karima, all of whom ensured our stay was comfortable. Hassan spent time with us giving us tips on where to go, showing us directions and general tips which were handy to us thoroughout our stay in Marrakech. Would recommend as the hotel was well situated, spoke English and was a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sheena from London

Great Hospitality

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Dar Zaman after reading great reviews and were not disappointed. It's very serene, clean and authentic and better than staying in any hotel in Marrakech! It's located about 10-15 mins away from the main Medina and Square. It felt very central for most of our needs, and is also fantastic if you want to experience being amongst something medieval and cultural. The location of the Riad can initially be somewhat daunting, but when you've done it once, it becomes very easy. You will soon realise that this is how the main hub of Marrakech works! Don't be put off by this. Our hosts Peter and Hassan organised our arrival and departure taxi's promptly and were always available for any questions or help (on our arrival, the first thing Hassan did was sit us down and go through all the main site, do's and dont's etc.) The breakfast was nice and Karima made the best omelet! The only negative is the size of the room - abit on the smaller side, but its a very minor thing and we were out for most of the day so didn't cause us any issues. If you are planning a trip to Marrakech I would highly recommend staying here. You wont be disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AlB from London

Would recommend

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Like the Riad Dar Zaman. Location is fine, bit difficult to find your way about the first couple of times to do the journey, then it's fine. Riad is really nicely finished, with a traditional Morrocan feel to it. The staff are what makes this place special, Peter the owner is really friendly and helpful and Hassan the day to day Manager, who is a local guy, is very helpful and really polite. He is very honest with you about places to go, places not to go, also very helpful about the local customs and habits.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hosts but room rediculously small.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Very helpful hosts.
Cons: Rooms are simply too small. That cannot be changed I guess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from London

Good Riad, convenient and excellent customer care

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Clean, welcoming and, although a cliche, was an oasis of calm and beauty in an otherwise quite run down area.
Cons: The breakfast, athougth delicious, could perhaps be a little more varied.
A bit out of the way but this meant it was very quiet indeed. Towards the North of the media. Riad was very nice but what made the stay truly excellent was H. and K. who bent over backwards to ensure we were comfortable and provided for. H. in particular, who was an absolute gentleman and who throughout the stay was very generous with his time and recommendations - which were without fail we found to be accurate. Thank you.