Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Hel from UK

Riad in NW area of Medina

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Staff were very friendly. Not too far to walk to Jemma el Fna(15-20mins)
Cons: Flooring in ensuite. Cleaning and tidy up terrace to make it more attractive.
Location: Riad down alleyway from parking area on Rue el Gaza. Alleyway has Istanbul takeaway near entrance. Walk 100mtrs turn RT after door271. Riad 50mtrsLHS
Enjoyed our time at the Riad in Jasmine room (5 nights)but comment on the following to ensure people are fully aware of the standard of the Riad: Jasmine room: concrete screed for a floor in the en suite area. The shower area had mould on the wall near the base. This was cleaned on request. 6 coat hangers provided for 3 people. (4 more provided after on request) Insufficient for a 5 night stay. Shelving to store clothes in the ensuite area but no drawers Shower virtually impossible to obtain steady temperature,one had to hand hold the head to prevent scalding Small room safe but proprietor never provided key when requested. Towels provided gradually became more threadbare as the days progressed. Main sleeping area was attractive but the dust in one area never moved in the 5 days. One small plunge pool. No pool on terrace. Roof terrace is very shabby in need of TLC. Lounger cushions are threadbare and whole area looked neglected. Two budges caged in the dinning area near downstairs rooms. They tweet early, bring ear plugs (Also call to prayer broadcast around Medina at around 6am). Breakfast OK consisting of pancakes, occasional omelette, sweet rolls, banana and sweet jams/ honey. Riad is located in a shabby area but felt safe. Hotel charges 5% for credit card payments Excursions overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pszczolka from London

Lovely hotel, great staff, interesting location

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This riad is beautiful, calm, and tranquil. It's a great escape to the rush and noise of Marrakech outside. We had a room on the ground floor that was very spacious, comfortable, and well organized. We felt a bit like royalty! The courtyard is so charming with the pool and waterfall and the breakfast served in the morning was plentiful. We had stayed in a different hotel (dar) in Marrakech earlier in our trip which was on the other side of the Jemaa el Fna square and the neighborhoods were quite different. There it was very quiet and residential while around Riad L'Orchidee, you have a real working neighborhood. I actually recommend it, it's safe and about a 15-20 minute walk to the square which takes you through streets filled with people and everyday shops (i.e. not touristy). It can be a little intimidating but, as I mentioned, we felt very safe. It's also convenient for the Ali Ben Youssef Medersa and Majorelle Garden. In short, we would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Riad, ideal for short break

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Cons: Just by it's design if people are sitting in the communal areas you can hear them but we didn't have anyone noisy so it wasn't a problem
We stayed here in November for 4 nights and had a lovely time. It is a good location to give you an insight to Marrakech's little alleys and only a short walk to the souks. Friendly staff, clean room and good breakfasts. The roof terrace was a good space to sit outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Nemo from UK

Respectable Riad in Marrakech

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Staff.
Cons: The surrounding alleys.
Location: Good distance from the main square.
I was a little surprised when i first arrived and the taxi driver walked me down two small back alleys with children running around to a small door in the wall. I had not been to Marrakech before so i was not sure what to expect but it wasn't this. Inside, my initial impression was that the photos posted on Expedia were generous but actually at night, like the rest of Marrakech, the colour and vibrancy appears. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, they were excellent and gave good advice/suggestions. The riad is located 10-15mins from Jamma El Fina, the main square, which is great because it gets you away from the mad rush and inside l'Orchidee became a sanctuary. Overall i grew to appreciate this Riad, i enjoyed my stay, it was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and the staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fishwick

Brilliant Moroccan traditional hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: The pool and the roof terrace are lovely in the heat of the afternoon and late evening.
Cons: They ran out of wine during our stay. That is the only complaint.
Location: Must see the local school, very beautiful. Also the horse and kart ride is a nice way to take photos and have a rest in the shade in the heat of day.
Brilliant traditional hotel. One thing to note on arrival from your taxi to the Raid people may ask to carry your bags from the taxi to the Raid they have a semi connection with the locals. They also expect a small tip for carrying your bags and showing you where the Raid is. We did not know this and refused to tip and carry our bags it caused quite a commotion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Korea & UK

Great hotel in Marrakech with reasonable price

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel (Riad) looks very nice and peaceful with clean rooms. All staff was kind and considerate. Their service was really great, for example, they provided me with breakfast, even though I was late (usually they provide breakfast by 11:00 am), They tried hard to make me feel comfortable and our relationships were not typical customer-service provider but family. However, disadvantages include the location (because it is located in the Medina, it is a bit difficult to find the hotel) and weak wifi signal in my room. Overall, it is a great hotel and recommendable to other travelers especially couples and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Threemusketeers from Leeds

Will make your stay great!

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was excellent! Staff were fab!
Cons: The foldaway bed in our room! Very uncomfortable!
Location: Great location once you realise where you are. Be prepared to walk though!
A lovely homely place to stay. The location is fab (even though it is a bit of a walk). You will find that you will find only a few Riad's with a location like this. The staff are fantastic here, and we loved our stay. The only reason I rated the room's comfort as OK is because we were 3 people sleeping in the Jasmin room. This room has got two extremely comfortable beds which would have been brilliant if we had been 2 travellers. However because we were 3, they had put a little foldaway bed on the side of the room which was extremely uncomfortable. Aside from that, we loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Would recommend, but not easy to find

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The service was really friendly, a little too attentive at times. We ended up staying in the ground floor room which was not ideal as it opens up onto the communal area. Would recommend staying here for easy access to the old town and the main square, it was clean and reasonably priced. Luckily our taxi driver was kind and found the correct road for us, otherwise it isn't the easiest place to find, even with a map - but it is Marrakesh after all.