Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: friendly clean beautiful breakfast although quite pricey
Cons: nothing to improve
Location: dood location near to medina
had lovely holiday enjoyed marracech experience would go back breakfast too expensive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Just about OK

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location and pool.
Cons: Rooms, staff attitude
Location: Very close to the Medina and not far from Mohammed V either. A few lovely restaurants within walking distance too
I have stayed in Sofitels all over the world and this property is fairly average. Guest rooms are definitely in need of a refurb with the bathrooms and balconies looking very tired in particular. Corridors were very dark and dingy and the air conditioning was almost non-existent. Housekeeping was very hit and miss with various items not being replaced each day - coffee, shampoo, for example. Public areas however were lovely and the pool fantastic. F&B staff around the pool could be a little more attentive and happy but other than that, we liked it. We had a very warm welcome on arrival but check out was less cheerful unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by j from London

Luxury hotel with good location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Just returned from Marrakech from an extended weekend. We stayed at the Sofitel and loved it. It's a decadent hotel with a great location. The service was let down slightly but the manager then made sure that we were looked after and it definitely made up for it. Breakfast was nice but you have to be a tad firm during busy times. If you want tea / coffee etc you may find yourself asking a few times. Same with room service. However that didn't spoil our stay. The pool area is truly lovely and overall a luxury hotel in a really good location. 15 mins walk it a shirt taxi ride to the souk square and about 5 - 7 min drive to the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Stayed at this hotel several times and would go back. However this stay was a little disappointing. The hotel was very busy due to film festival which clearly effected the normal excellent service. I had requested an early check in but ended up bit getting a room until an hour after standard check in. Due to festival the main pool was used for private functions every evening something which I feel the hotel should have told us before our stay. It should be said that the pool staff were fantastic during the while trip. Breakfast is fantastic and something we look forward to. It was a shame that staff couldn't be bothered to talk to us even to ask if we would like tea and coffee. On both occasions I had to keep asking one of the many staff stood around for things. Room service was hit and miss and on this trip more hit. Although this review is negative I believe the poor service was down to festival and the hotel being full but this is a Sofitel and that shouldn't be the case. A little communication would have gone a long way. We love the hotel and will go back next year just not during the festival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy from Raleigh

Great hotel

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay! The hotel was beautiful and the staff great. The only problem was I couldn't access my emails from the hotels computers that they set up for guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by millie from hampshire

Hotel amazing

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Very relaxed, staff very helpful and friendly disappointed you had to pay extra for pool sauna etc. £23 for breakfast was expensive we went to cafe across the road from the hotel which was very reasonable and very clean. Found it hilarious looking out of the window to see the husbands,boyfriends early mornings running around with towels and books to save seats around the pools, when there were more than enough to accommodate an army.......
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

not really 5*

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Concierge service was without fault Location was good generally friendly and helpful
Cons: No building work & standard of maintenance needs to improve-windows in passage did not close. Further training of staff to European standards
Location: Good location 15 walk to old town, taxi to centre of new town but very green & full of flowers
There was major building work whilst we were staying at the hotel. This meant the pool area was very noisy and the bar area that was on the veranda was even noisy at about 8pm. I believe guests have a right to know this at the time of booking. Our two rooms should have had a view but were on the ground floor so the view was the hedge -which was not unpleasant but not quite the Atlas mountains! We considered asking for a change but decided against as we were at the furthest point from the building work. One of the fridges did not work and despite repeated requests they never got it to work. the other room had a communicating door to another room which was unlocked and it took two days to get this locked. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful but need further training to meet European standards. Concierge service was to a very good standard. Bar service whilst friendly was very slow i.e. 15 to 20 mins for four drinks once ordered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Evangeline from New York

My Marrakesh Oasis

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The decor, amenities and staff.
Cons: I would have liked for the hotel to offer group tours. I would also like if the hotel offered better transparency in relation to the pricing .
Location: The hotel was centrally located. It was walking distance to most historical sites.
We recently returned from Morocco. We stayed a week at the Sofitel in Marrakesh, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel also had many restaurants , shops, a spa and nightclub to spend your evenings. It also had a kids club to entertain young children.It was very clean and beautifully decorated, I highly recommend this hotel, it made my vacation very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from UK

Friendly, well run hotel close to town

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff
Location: Within easy walking distance of the town centre and markets.
The hotel facilities were excellent. We were greeted in style, sat in the lounge and served mint tea while the receptionists did all the paperwork. We were taken to our room and given a guided tour. The hotel has two pools readily available to all guests with plenty of sun loungers and shady tents. The open areas are pretty and surrounded with palm trees, flowers and shrubs. There is a choice of eating and drinking places. The overall impression is one of friendly and efficient staff in a relaxed environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aidy from UK

Very nice hotel with all the facilities you wish

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: There was nothing that we did dislike, , we will recommend this hotel, staff were fantastic
Cons: This hotel is not for budgeted people, so the facilities a bit over priced all around
Location: Fairly central, close to main tourist attraction, city tour is recommended and day out to the Atlas mountain is highly recommended.
First approach was very good, rooms were ready , clean and ok size, staff were very polite and helpful,