Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Traditional experience

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Traditional riad, very peaceful inside. very clean, staff were lovely
Location: Very close to amazing market stalls, mosques and lovely places to eat.
Amazing birthday treat. Riad was beautiful, quiet and peaceful. Staff were friendly and helpful. We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Very short walk to all the amazing market stalls and beautiful sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One of the best Riads in Marrakech

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I don't think anything needs to be improved!
From the moment we arrived at Villa Makassar it was clear that it was everything we wanted and more. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, and the whole atmosphere around the riad was incredibly relaxing. Everything was spotless, and you could see from the hard work the cleaners do that keeps everything that way. The food was delicious, really well presented and they really will cook you anything you want! A really relaxed, romantic atmosphere in the evenings which included being serenaded by a member of staff from the riad! Overall, we would have loved to have stayed longer and will hopefully return one day soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Friendly staff, beautiful interiors (a wonderful contrast to the faux islamic look of many), good location within the Medina (slightly out of the tourist bustle but an easy walk from all the sites), quiet and great facilities. An ideal base to explore Marrakech and an oasis of calm once the day is done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Home from home

Posted Jun 10, 2015
A truly magical hotel. It is an oasis of calm within easy reach of the madness of the medina. The staff, the facilities, the location...all perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted May 31, 2015
A real little oasis of calm only a few minutes walk from the centre of the bustling old town. Lovely art deco inspired interior, comfortable rooms and excellent food and service. We also loved the spa and roof top bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schweiz

Gemütlich ruhiges Hotel mit viel Herz

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Dachterrasse!! Und die herzliche Gastfreundschaft
Cons: Mehr Ablagefläche im Badezimmer, ev. ein Spiegel im Zimmer. Nur einer im Bad ist zu wenig....
Location: Im Süden der Medina. Ist nur ca. 10Minuten bis zum Big Square. Also Zentral und doch sehr ruhig.
Sehr freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal. Über alle Abteilungen. Wir hatten 1x ein kleines Problem, das uns der bestellte Taxifahrer nicht ans Ziel sondern zu einem Ledergeschäft gebracht hat. Nachdem wir das im Hotel erzählt haben, wurde umgehend reagiert und der Taxifahrer gestellt. Er hat sich bei uns entschuldigt und der Fahrpreis wurde zurück erstattet. Dem Hotel war sehr wichtig, das wir uns sicher fühlen und auf keinen Fall den Eindruck von "Abzocke" erhalten. Marrakesh selber, sehr laut, sehr lebendig, starke Düfte (positiv u. Negativ) und die Medina ist ein absolutes Labyrinth!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from exmouth. devon.uk

Beautiful hotel, fantastic friendly staff

Posted May 21, 2015
Beautiful, clean, staff all friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Close to main center.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from roma

Riad carino ma in un posto non bello

Posted May 6, 2015
Sconsiglio questo Riad a chi è abituato ad hotel a cinque stelle. La suite di lusso è abbastanza grande e con un bel bagno dotato di doccia e vasca. Purtroppo è estremamente buia e manca di aria affacciando su un cortile interno. I mobili deco' sono belli, ma forse non adatti ad un ambiente dotato di poca luce. Il personale è molto gentile, disponibile ad organizzare visite della città e a consigliare sui ristoranti da scegliere. L'hamman e la jacuzzi sono a pagamento . Peccato per l' ubicazione del raid che risulta decisamente non adatta a donne sole, non lontana dal centro ma non raggiungibile a piedi soprattutto a causa delle vie da attraversare. Abbiamo sempre girato in taxi chiamati dall'albergo con qualche difficoltà per il rientro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

Great Hotel, friendly staff, great location

Posted May 3, 2015
I have to admit I was a bit apprehensive about going to Marrakech because I was outside my comfort zone. However, I was proven wrong. Yes the souks are an eye opener and you will get lost but everything leads back to the square so go with it. Villa Makassar is in the medina close to the Kings palace a great location with excellent staff that can't do enough for you. We stayed in grand suite, which is bigger than the average room and recommended for a short stay and worth the extra cost. Also make use of the hotels spas after a day in the souks, you will feel even more relaxed. Villa makassar will also organise any excursions for you where you will be picked up from your hotel and returned, make sure you go to the Atlas Mountains, go on a Friday as you stop off at a Berber market and house a reel eye opener which will make you appreciate how lucky we are!!! If you want to buy a rug hold fire from the souks in the mountains you don't pay tax but take cash!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sevilla

Art Deco in the Medina

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The personnel and the decor.
Cons: There is inadequate light in the bathroom and the room itself.
Location: Near the southwestern wall of the medina, we generally took cabs to reach the souk and all other destinations.
Conversion of two contiguous riads into a boutique hotel in art deco style has been accomplished with great success. The hotel ,though recently built, is rife with furniture and artifacts from the period. The rooftop terrace is a lovely spot for sunbathing, watching the sun set over the city or having a drink. Our room was gargantuan, as was the bathroom with a huge tiled tub. The room opened to a private balcony overlooking the small central patio which is open to the sky. Breakfast was individually served and quite pleasant, though butter was not available. Our one dinner, a fish dish and a tajine, was very good. On a personal note, they registered the fact that I was celebrating a birthday and delivered a beautiful fruit tray accompanied by very nice champagne for my husband and me.