Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Do not stay here

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location OK. And the room was clean, at least.
Cons: A lot. Attitude of reception; they shouldn't use Expedia if they're going to turn people away.
Location: Up a bit of a hill but walkable from the old centre.
Really disappointing experience. I turn up and am told that my reservation doesn't exist because 'they have a problem with the Expedia booking system'. I complain that I have paid and expect a room; they say there is no room apart from a single, which was dreadful. I ask if everyone has checked in yet, they say they have, even though there's a person waiting to check in behind me. They offer me a free breakfast, at least. All very disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but very noisy

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was in a great location and was relatively clean and nice
We got put in a ground floor room which is right next to reception and it was extremely noisy. People chatting loudly just outside our room until 2am and then starting again at around 6am. Reception and ground floor rooms (1 & 2) was separated by a door which was constantly being being opened and banged shut loudly. Was very hard to sleep. Was very easily accessed from the port though, and probably would have been good had it not been for a very bad room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patfrom Ely, UK

Great Location - Near Shops

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The main issue was street/traffic noise, which seemed to last all night. Other than that, no problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great Hotel, Friendly people

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean adn the front staff was very friendly and did their best to speak english to us. The room had everything we needed and it is just a short walk to the harbour down the hill... its not in a 5* area but i felt safe walking around the area during the day and at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a good location for the old port and sightseeing in the town. The room has everything you need but is fairly basic and the ensuite shower is small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Decent enough place

Posted Jan 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
We only stayed here for one night and it was good enough for us. The location was a little confusing for us to get to at night but we managed without getting lost. Reception spoke a little bit of English but probably not enough to have a full conversation with them. Our room was at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. We were not disturbed at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London

GOOD LOCATION CLEAN AND FRIENDLY

Posted Apr 16, 2009 on Hotels.com
We were pleased with Hotel du Palais although were relieved to have a room at the back of the hotel rather than at the front and on the busy road. The staff were exteremely helpful and keen to help us get the most out of our visit.