Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surbiton

Sea View is a must

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: I liked the staff, and I liked the cleanliness
Cons: Two chairs per room, info for tourists. A map of Marseille would be good. hangers, More storage space
Location: Right in the middle of the old town. Tons of things to do, recommend: a trip to Chateua D'If, and to Arles. Beware of being ripped off by restaurants
The room was small but comfortable, and the bed very nice. However, there were no instructions on how to use the rather strange coffee machine, no info for tourists, only one rather uncomfortable chair, and no where to store clothes, other than one cupboard for which they had only provided three hangers (for two people!). No drawers whatsoever. Now it may be possible that they put Expedia customers in the smallest rooms, but who knows - but certainly for a four star I felt the room was only three star. Having said that the cleaners ought to be commended - we returned every day to a fresh room kept in good condition. The view from the room was great as well, and the location of the hotel, being near the underground, and the old port with all the tourist attractions is brilliant. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, but next time I might bring some hangers with me!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Location, Location, Location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Room decorations
Location: Perfect location for sightseeing, transport links and the restaurants and cafes.
Stayed here for one night only for the Rugby so I did not use any of the facilities of this hotel. I should point out however that this place is perfectly located to explore marseille close to the harbourfront and the restaurants in the local area. It is also very convenient for sightseeing. The staff were helpful. The rooms were showing their age, however the hotel was going through a renovation so I suspect future travellers will see the benefit of the refurbishments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amsterdam

Prima plek | Beetje gedateerde kamer

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: De ligging, de badkamer, ruime kamer
Cons: Nieuwe vloerbedekking, normale prijs ontbijt
Location: Ideale locatie, aan de oude haven
Ruime kamer, prima plek, heerlijke badkamer, kamer wat gedateerd. Uitzicht op een piepkleine binnenplaats/grijze muur. Heerlijk rustig.Hotel wordt gerenoveerd. Prijs was prima. Onbijt te kostbaar, buiten de deur genoeg leuke tentjes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carcassonne

Great location in Vieu Port

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Rooms were very nicely soundproofed which was necessary as we were looking out over the fish market. Breakfast buffet was excellent.
Location: Location right on Vieu Port with easy access to all the historic sites. Close to cruise port and airport and within walking distance of train station.
We walked to the hotel from the train station and the hotel was quite easy to locate. The desk staff were very helpful but when we arrived and when we checked out they stored our luggage and arranged transportation for us to our ship. Very nice hotel run in the traditional manner. Didn't feel like a chain hotel at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Great waterfront Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Big room, gorgeous bathroom with real tub and shower. Outstanding breakfast (bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage) from a room overlooking the old port.
Cons: Room needs a new carpet, soon.
Location: Museums in several different directions easily walked to.
The old world experience in the most atmospheric part of Marseille-the old port! Great strolling in all directions. Walk to and from train station, walk to museums, stroll the waterfront at night. Right next to metro stop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pessac

Extraordinaire emplacement de l'hôtel

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Merveilleuse découverte du "Vieux Port " depuis cet endroit magique où la vie marseillaise est à vos pieds : les "pointus" qui déchargent leur poisson suivis par les gabians, les vendeurs qui deballent, le "Ferry-boat qui traverse, le tout dans le silence feutré de l'hôtel,comme un tableau vivant, c'est prodigieux !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Old school historic French Hotel but beautiful.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Very comfy bed
Location: Right in the centre of the old port so many things to do from here
Fabulous staff and you must eat here at least once. The best food we had in 4 days by a distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I strongly recommend this Hotel.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Nice hotel, very good room in a strategic position close to the heart of Marseille. I strongly recommend this Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roma

Albergo in posizione strategica

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: La colazione
Cons: I bagni e le pareti potrebbero essere ritinteggiate
Location: Posizione eccellente, vicino a tutto: l'ideale per visitare la città
Situato in posizione centrale, vicino alla metropolitana, sul Porto Vecchio è la sede ideale per una visita della città di Marsiglia. Ottima la colazione, molto gentile il personale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com