Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted May 30, 2014
Great location and surprised by how nice it was. Very friendly owners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from australia

Friendly staff!

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Hotel St Ferreol is in a good location to explore Vieux Port. The staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was great, and the room was comfortable. The one issue I had was it was soooo noisy at night. It was located on one of the main shopping streets, which I guess is a main thoroughfare even when shops are closed. Saying that, we had ear plugs, so I recommend you come prepared! Apart from that I would recommend this hotel to people visiting Marseille.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

beware ...breakfast not included in room fee.

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I got a surprise when I got a bill for breakfast when I was checking out. I never saw anything in my booking about breakfast not included. so watch out. another thing is my friends sandals went missing on the last day. Hotel porter had to ring cleaning ladies to ask about them. they said they picked them up wrapped in towels and they were in the dirty laundry room but couldn't figure out who owned them. So then why didn't they leave them down in reception? or give notice to those in charge that they picked up the sandals by mistake?...very fishy behaviour. We got the sandals back in the end though.Other than those two issues, I couldn't really knock the hotel. great location. cheap,clean interior. breakfast was very average. Its hard to do better at that price for a hotel this central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location, friendly service

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel in a great location, quite small rooms and a little untidy but overall the service was excellent and the hotel convienient for us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Wellington, New Zealand

Friendly hotel in the heart of Marseille.

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Clean, friendly and comfortable.
Cons: It is in a pedestrianised area, so there was a short walk to find a taxi.
Location: It's just off the main street.
Very pleasant hotel in the centre of Marseille; the things to see start just outside the front door. The Old Port is no more than a hundred metres away. The breakfast was great too.
2 out of 5
by Doug and Pat from Charlotte, NC, USA

Not a great selection.

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: The room facilities were adequate, not great.
Cons: Location; necessity to climb steps with luggage.
Location: See above.
Hotel was old. To access it, one has to climb a flight of stairs with luggage and all; the elevator doesn't extend to the ground floor. Then two people plus luggage won't fit in the elevator from the lobby floor to the rooms. While the hotel is rated three stars, it is another example of "star creep;" we have had better two star hotels on this trip. When I asked about a coin laundry in the neighborhood, the clerk responded categorically that there were no coin laundries in Marseille, and we would have to use a "pressing," at hotel laundry prices. Finding that incredible, I checked with the local tourist office, and got the address of two within easy walking distance of the hotel. The larger problem is that Marseille is not a tourist-friendly city. If I had the trip to plan again, I would stay in Arles, or Aix-en-Provence, or Avignon, any of which would have been better than Marseille. The hotel is theoretically located in a pedestrian-only zone. That is true, however, only between about 9:00 AM and about 7:00 PM. The rest of the time, cars, trucks and motorscooters zip around without regard to pedestrians, who are prevented from using the sidewalks because they are full of parked cars. Marseille rolls up its streets about 6:00 PM; it is hard to find a decent bar or restaurant open in the port district after that time. In consequence, the streets empty out early, which gave us concern for personal security.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, but rooms could use a renovation

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Super location right on the pedestrian mall. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room size was average, and the room was clean, but it felt old and in need of renovation (e.g., new sheets, blankets, and pillows, new carpets--even the in-room safe felt like a really old model).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, great staff

Posted May 6, 2013
Tis is good value for money, especially given its location close to the Old Port and the Opera. As a single female traveler I wouldn't walk around the small alleyways late at night, but I never felt uncomfortable coming back to the hotel after dinner. The rooms are small (this is Europe!) but clean and the front desk staff were particularly nice and helpful. (They can tell you the nearest laundries!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels.com