Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms but staff lack communication

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Staff could be more honest and communicate more effectively to guests.
We arrived early and asked to check in early as the hotel has a 4 pm check in time. The front desk told us that they would call us when our room was ready. We noticed a lot of other groups checked in prior to us and receiving calls around 2:30. By 3:30 we asked the front desk about our status and to our surprise it was ready a while for some time. We had to call later in the day regarding the lack of hot water. The front desk informed us that they would send an engineer. We waited for an hour before checking the hot water and we got hot water. I suspect that there was no engineer and we just had to wait for an hour. I would be okay with that and could have gone about our day, but the staff did not communicate anything to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Million Dollar View

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Staff attitude
The hotel is at the end of the road along the shore. There is a fantastic view of the harbor and lighthouse from the large, comfortable front porch. The negative on the location is that is a bit far of a walk from the main business area of Edgartown. The pool is great, and the surrounding gardens and lawn were beautifully maintained. The on-site restaurants were very good, with excellent service. Our room was in an annex building by the pool - typical double room was fine for a family of 4. The one relative negative was the staff - they were somewhat haughty and condescending. Many had difficulty with English, making communication a challenge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent in every way.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: It is not a cookie cutter commercial hotel: totally unique, making the most of the old-fashioned summer hotel and modernizing the amenities tastefull
There was a mix up in the reservation for three nights, and we were told we had to move to another room for the second and third night. The very kind night manager went to work and found us the same room for all three nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Best location in Edgartown.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: It's tucked away from hustle and bustle of downtown yet close enough to access it all.
Cons: Water bottle dispenser would be of help.
Much needed downtime was had at the Harbor View Hotel. The short walk to downtown was along a beautifully manicured neighborhood. Could not feel safer. A short stroll to the light house made it seemed as though it was part of the hotel. Heated outdoor pool and towels and wet bar was very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Probably the best view hotel in Edgartown.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: As advertised this hotel has a great view of the harbor and lighthouse. Great room. Very comfortable bed and very quiet.
Cons: We had the buffet breakfast on a Sunday morning and it was nothing to write home about. The combination of hot/cold breakfast is over-priced.
Location: Lots of shopping, walking and nice restaurants nearby. Lighthouse is neat. Edgartown is far and away the best town on the island.
Booked last minute for a weekend getaway. Didn't know exactly what I was getting but turned out to be one of the best properties on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The staff was excellent. Rooms were nice.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the stay. Staff from restaurant for breakfast to lobby to the daily planner lady- she was great. Good job on training these people!
Cons: Did not know that refrigerator was in closet.
Location: Location was great. Very nice place but very expensive too.
Great time at the hotel- no problems. The outdoors were well manicured and even the outside laborers were all very friendly and courteous. I couldn't have asked for more. I am very thankful to all of you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jane's 50th

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Great experience. Four couples all loved the entire experience. Breakfast could have been a little less costly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Iowa

Amazing place

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was wonderful, very helpful. The view from the hotel was amazing. Location was very convenient to dining and shopping. We dined at both venues in the hotel and both were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very picturesque!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: I woke up and was able to look right out on to the water with Chappaquiddick in the background.
I was only there for an evening; however, the hotel was perfect. Great location and close to town. I didn't have time to go to the beach so I am not sure how convenient that would have been.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com