Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom RI

Great get away

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: View to the lighthouse out front and dinner at Henry's
Cons: We were off season but some repair and upkeep on the common areas outside. Also the ear piercing alarm went off during maintenance.
Location: We drove all over and saw many nice spots - favorite was Black Dog Tavern for breakfast
Had a wonderful time. Really helpful staff and beautiful location. Dinner in the hotel was amazing! There was a youth hockey tournament in town and the kids got loud but otherwise a really enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location very nice hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walk on beaches, site seeing, walking Main Street, street shopping
Very good experience, would recommend it to anyone especially off season for the good rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: It was too hot in the room
We had a great time at the Harbor View Hotel. The hotel is very luxurious and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom The Netherlands

In need of repair & updating

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Staff, location & views
Cons: Rooms in "motel" area need overhauling-very dated & old building & furniture.
Location: 15-20 min walk into Edgartown. It's better to have a car to get around however without GPS getting to/from of hotel in car was quite complicated.
This hotel is in a lovely quiet residential area a bit of a walk out of Edgartown so be warned there's about a 15-20 min walk to get to stores & restaurants. The Victorian style building overlooks the harbor on nearly three sides & in the front, a lighthouse. The lobby & ground floor restaurant/bar/porch area were beautifully decorated & well maintained however, the rooms & hallways upstairs are in need of much repair & a good thorough clean. Be aware there is an old motel style part of the building out back along with some "cottages" & unless you're willing to pay big bucks, that's where you'll end up. The motel style building smelt musty & the rooms are in need of a serious overhaul-the furniture is old & chipped, the vents in the room were coated in dust & the view overlooking the car park & covered pool were less than ideal. Seemed a bit strange to be put there as there didn't seem to be many people at the hotel at the time but unless we were willing to pay an additional $50 upgrade fee, that's where you'll be. As it was a quick trip, we didn't think a view justified the nearly &175 price tag for one night. The staff were all very friendly & helpful & we enjoyed our stay on MV even if our room was less than ideal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peabody, MA

Plenty of character, yet modern

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Great place set right on the harbor.
Cons: PARKING
Location: Nice shops and restaurants.
Very hard to find parking at the hotel. A long walk to the facility from parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nicolefrom Los Angeles

MV hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel looks beautiful on the site, but our room was in the back and faced a street. It was raining and winter and there were only portable heaters, no central heat. The hotel seemed in need of updating. The neithborhood was beautiful with a beach, lighthouse and town within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Spot

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The view, location, and accommodations.
Location: It was near the beach. Shopping and dinning businesses.
This was a great experience. The hotel was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Excellent accommodations

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: staff, accommodations, dining
Friendly staff. Generous.. they gave us umbrella to use in rain even though we were not coming back to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We had a lovely room that was very inviting. The hotel services were exemplary. We had one particular bartender we knew by name who was an absolute star . Only minor issue we encountered was the food service in the bar area was a little erratic as though no one was in charge. Luckily we were not in any hurry and our star bartender stepped up and took care of us ! The views from the veranda were beautiful and a nice place for an after dinner drink. All together a lovely experience we will try to repeat in the future.