Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harpswell, Maine

Pets are not welcome in most rooms; only in two suites that we found out about at last minute.

Posted Oct 26, 2011
The room was too dark and it looked out onto a roof with a few of nothing. The room had a handicapped bathroom with no counter space, a shower that was impossible to use and a mirror that was so low I had to set in a chair to use it. The room had no comfortable chair to sit in or counter/desk space. The room was directly accross from the ice machine with constant noise; other then that everything was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ma

very cozy

Posted Sep 16, 2010
the hotel location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wh ct

impressed

Posted Jun 10, 2010
stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Colonial Inn

Posted Jun 28, 2006
It was under construction while I was there, but it was still a nice experience. Probably the most affordable hotel on the island. Good parking, great location, nice staff and a great restaraunt. You can walk out the door and get on the Chappaquidick ferry, or just walk around downtown Edgartown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Glens Falls, NY

Small rooms, but nice

Posted Jul 20, 2005
The Colonial Inn was right in the heart of the action, which was very nice. Everyone was really nice and helpful at the front desk. The rooms were a little small for the price, but very clean and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston

great staff

Posted Jul 13, 2005
We arrived early in the morning to the Colonial and were greeted by a very friendly staff. Just hoping to leave our bags until check-in, we were told that since the hotel wasn't full, we were being upgraded to an ocean view room and could check in then- at 1030am. All of this without even asking! Previous reviews I read said the rooms were small and I guess they are by comparison to chain hotels, but no smaller than some inns I've stayed at. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but the room was nice and extremely clean. The location is great and the tea and breakfast that was included were better than some "continental" breakfasts I've encountered. One last note- a review I read said the decks that the inn boasts about are "hot, rickety, and have uncomfortable seating" I found none of the above to be true and I've stayed at some nice places. For the price, we would definitely return!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York City

Best for the money

Posted May 4, 2005
After learning about Martha's Vineyard, mainly online, we settled on Edgartown and the Colonial Inn. What an amazing stay! The reviews were right and I'm glad I made the choice to stay in Edgartown. We did the bus tour and saw other beautiful spots, but I quickly realized Edgartown and The Colonial Inn was the best choice for us. Extremely well kept, quaint, clean, and for this time of year, April, the prices online were exceptional. We will visit again and stay at the Colonial Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Cozy Edgartown Inn

Posted Apr 27, 2005
Very helpful staff in a clean, restored Inn. Conveniently located close to shops and the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Colonial Inn of Martha's Vineyard

Posted Nov 22, 2004
The Inn was great and the staff was even better. We were late arriving and the lady at the desk greeted us by name as we opened the door. The room was very comfortable with a view of the water. Becasuse we went in the off season, the staff had plenty of time to spend with us and they went out of their way to help us. The Inn is in waking distance of many shops and the waterfront. We would recommend The Colonial Inn to anyone wanting to stay at Martha's Vineyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mendon, MA

Colonial Inn (Edgartown)

Posted Nov 12, 2004
This hotel was excellent. Very friendly staff. The Colonial Inn was close to all of the restaurants and stores. Walking around Edgartown was no problem since the hotel was close to everything. Free continental breakfast offered a nice variety of food. Room was clean and nice. This hotel offered a nice view of the town and water. We arrived early and could check right in. Our room was upgraded without asking or expecting it. We were very, very, very, pleased.