Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

We LOVED the Carriage House!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The owners are wonderful! Provided great historical background on their home & the area. Were always available for suggestions & practical help.
Cons: It was a perfect weekend!
Location: Charles Town is charming. We enjoyed exploring nearby Harper's Ferry & the Antietam battlefields.
This was our first experience in a B & B. We had a fantastic time & plan to return soon! It was way beyond expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful countryside and quaint towns

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The Carriage B & B is located in a wonderful area for pursuing small town shops, history, and good food. Breakfast at the B & B was excellent. A very light quiche was served with fruit and muffin. Our hosts were also very pleasant and friendly. It was a wonderful stay. We had dinner about 10-15 minutes away in a German Inn. The bed was most comfortable and had beautiful quilts on it. There were two stuffed chairs for reading and relaxing. We would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

This is an excellent bed and breakfast.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Excellent place to stay. Really made us feel at home. Great home cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Idaho

Rave Review

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Location is great--right on the edge of the Shenandoah Valley--near Harpers Ferry--gorgeous countryside. Even the other guests we met were nice!
Cons: Hm, well, the tv was small--that's about it--but who cares?
Location: I'm a history nut, especially the Civil War, so the location was ideal.
We've been to quite a number of B&B's all over the US in the past 10 years, and if this one isn't #1, it's darned close to it. Wonderful breakfasts (we stayed 3 nights), great advice on local restaurants for dinner, very comfortable room--delightful people--ad all of this in an historic home where generals Grant & Sheridan once met. Even the tissue & toilet paper were first-class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MAZ from Maryland

A must for Civil War History Buffs

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a wonderful B&B! The owners, Donn and Marie, were most gracious and took lots of time to explain the home's history! The rooms were period appropriate and beautiful; our every need was addressed. Breakfast was delicious and served elegantly. Their location is wonderful and it all made for a wonderful mini retreat while on our trip to Antietam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aaron from NYC

Lovely People and Place

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners are absolutely lovely people in that they took good care of me while there. They were gracious and helpful at all times. The food (breakfast was outstanding. The locations is next to 4 National Parks... With the extra nickel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan Lawruk from Middletown, PA

Great innkeepers, location, food & history in one

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I enjoyed the warmth of the innkeepers and the good location. Was fun to learn that US Grant had visited this house during the Civil War and it was used as a headquarters. Enjoyed the breakfast and the welcome cookies immensely. Sitting on the porch and walking around the historic town added to the experience. Would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nathan from Washington DC

Great bed and breakfast :)

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely bed and breakfast with the nicest innkeepers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindsay from Washington, DC

Quiet Weekend

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I came the the Carriage Inn on my own for a weekend away from everything. Donn and Marie and perfect hosts. I stayed in the Shenandoah Suite which had a gas fireplace in the bedroom and an electric stove in the sitting area; perfect for the chilly winter evenings. The Inn is a short walk from the small downtown where there are several nice restaurants. The breakfasts are incredible and the scone in the afternoon was warm out of the oven. I would definitely recommend a stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by R&L from Haddonfield, NJ

Charm, History, and Location

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charming B&B. The owners, Donn & Marie, were very friendly with great customer service (without being too intrusive). They gave us a nice history of the house and the homemade breakfast was wonderful. Nicely decorated! We were there just after Christmas - tastefuly done with period details (not at all the 'overdone victorian-esque style' like other b&bs I've been to). We loved the proximity to Charlestown Racetrack for our night watching the ponies! We are already thinking of when we can go back! Recommend heartily!