Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Decker House

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: It was like being at home>
Great place to stay! Clean rooms and friendly staff and excellent food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen

This is an excellent place to stay.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Sally is awesome and the breakfasts are delicious. Would highly recommend this fine bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, convenient, and comfortable.

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: A few trees to screen the west side from the Music Man Square's gravel lot would add to the ambience.
Location: See above.
The rooms are lovely, with quality linens and very sharp-looking bathrooms. I loved the very pretty sink/vanity in the bedroom. Our room also had a balcony outside. Sally was very warm and hospitable, and breakfast (belgian waffle with blueberry sauce) was delicious. The house is walkable to all sorts of points-of-interest--half a block from the MacNider Art Museum, the public library, the mall; maybe two blocks from the Meredith Willson Footbridge and the Frank Lloyd Wright Hotel. I highly recommend staying here over a cookie-cutter hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jill from Kansas City

Loved the Victorian feel!!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The rooms were very nice and clean. Our hostess called me earlier in the day, so she was available to greet us upon arrival. I really appreciated that
Cons: It was great!
Location: Frank Lloyd Wright House, Music Man Museum, home, and Square
We had to leave early the first morning. We advised our hostess that we would miss breakfast. She said she would put something out for us, but I think she forgot. That was absolutely the only complaint I would have!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Safety Harbor, FL

A taste of small town Iowa

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Just felt so open and accommodating. Very relaxing.
Cons: Cold water on hot days,
Location: Fun to walk to Music Man Foot Bridge.
Here on business one night. Very comfy, great break from business hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Impeccable, stately, historic B & B $1 mill. reno.

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Wonderful appointments, antiques, historical building in excellent condition, furnished bar, excellent, friendly hostess, terrific breakfast.
Cons: Location, while bordering on beautiful neighborhoods, is also next to gravel parking lot, shopping mall and across street from Midas muffler shop.
Location: (see above) adjoining neighborhood of beautiful, architecturally significant homes, other buildings, within walking distance of restaurants, park.
Beautiful, immaculately cared for B & B which has undergone a million dollar renovation via Iowa Historic Foundation funding. Manager is terrific and very knowledgeable about both the home and the wonderful architecture of Mason City. She even loaned us her book of historic and architecturally significant homes. Even has a completely furnished bar available to guests at all times on the first floor.
2 out of 5
by Thorin from Milwaukee, WI, USA

Don't expect any breakfast before 9:00 AM

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: I played in this house as a child; long before its current incarnation.
Cons: Staff is there 24 * 7. On a Monday breakfast should be available on business hours
This is billed as a bed and breakfast. But breakfast was offered for 9:00 AM on a MONDAY. I was gone and busy working by 7:00 AM. Per night cost is $30.00 higher than the Country Inn and Suites which includes a hot breakfast starting at 6:00 AM on Mondays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karleen from Omaha, NE, USA

Awesome B&B

Posted Apr 19, 2013
This bed and breakfast is in a great location and was in amazing perfect condition. They even have a self serve bar downstairs. Highly recommend. Wish it was Closer than 6 hours away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful house

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
A little disappointed in breakfast being at 9 am but I am to blame for not researching that prior to my reservation. The house if beautiful and service was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dianne from Nebraska

Great place

Posted Jul 5, 2012
It was so nice to be close to historic areas, and the B&B was quiet and comfortable - we enjoyed it very much