Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newport Beach, CA

One of the best options in the area.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
I loved staying at the Decker House. After too many bad experiences staying in hotels in the Mason City/Clear Lake area I decided to try something different while visiting my family. This place was beautifully decorated for the holiday season and was well maintained. I really liked the homey feeling of this old house (yes, it creaked a little and there were some drafts, but I expected that). The bed was so comfortable and I was plenty warm despite being in the "coldest room". The bathroom was clean, and the shower was hot! The very best part of staying here was the friendliness of the staff, especially Sally. Thank you for a great stay. I will be booking again when I go back next to visit my family in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic mansion, meticulous renovation.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Sally is a great chef and host! Definitely would go back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was friendly. Bed was very uncomfortable. Other guests were very loud when they came in and also slammed first floor bathroom door multiple times late in evening. Staff should be telling guests to be courteous of other guests. Unfortunately could not stay for breakfast so cant rate that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chadfrom Fontanelle

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast Experience

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautifully restored older home with unique and comfortable rooms. There is also great common areas and the breakfast was fantastic. Sally is incredibly nice and made sure I had everything I needed and more. Also was great about accommodating my earlier schedule each morning and had breakfast ready for me so I could make it to work on time each day. Would love to bring my wife here for a getaway at some point. It is also in walking distance of the mall and several other nice attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Historic Bed and Breakfase House

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Accommodating, friendly hosts, nice bedding and towels. Cool bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sharonfrom Anoka

comfortable, cozy, excellent service, ina word sup

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our host Sally was friendly & accommodating, yet professional & resoectful. The breakfast was delicious. We slept well in the bed. Accommodations were the best. Atmosphere is peaceful. We will return again just for fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Decker House

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: It was like being at home>
Great place to stay! Clean rooms and friendly staff and excellent food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen

This is an excellent place to stay.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Sally is awesome and the breakfasts are delicious. Would highly recommend this fine bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terry

Beautiful, convenient, and comfortable.

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: A few trees to screen the west side from the Music Man Square's gravel lot would add to the ambience.
Location: See above.
The rooms are lovely, with quality linens and very sharp-looking bathrooms. I loved the very pretty sink/vanity in the bedroom. Our room also had a balcony outside. Sally was very warm and hospitable, and breakfast (belgian waffle with blueberry sauce) was delicious. The house is walkable to all sorts of points-of-interest--half a block from the MacNider Art Museum, the public library, the mall; maybe two blocks from the Meredith Willson Footbridge and the Frank Lloyd Wright Hotel. I highly recommend staying here over a cookie-cutter hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jillfrom Kansas City

Loved the Victorian feel!!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: The rooms were very nice and clean. Our hostess called me earlier in the day, so she was available to greet us upon arrival. I really appreciated that
Cons: It was great!
Location: Frank Lloyd Wright House, Music Man Museum, home, and Square
We had to leave early the first morning. We advised our hostess that we would miss breakfast. She said she would put something out for us, but I think she forgot. That was absolutely the only complaint I would have!