Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kaz from avon

Excellent breakfast

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Very welcoming, bedroom very roomy and comfortable
Location: Plenty of walks and places of interest in and around surrounding area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DUSTY from ABERLOUR

I STAYED HERE WHILE WORKING AWAY FROM HOME

Posted Oct 20, 2013
IT WAS A RELAXING HOTEL ,GOOD FOR AFTER HARD WORKING HARD. THE FOOD GENEROUS PORTIONS AND EXCELLENT. CLEAN SHOWER WHICH IS A MUST AND THE BEDROOM ALSO VERY TIDY AND CLEAN. LOKING FORWARD TO MY NEXTVISIT WHILE WORKING IN THE AREA.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from North Yorkshire

Nice Hotel in lovely village location

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: It was clean and good value. The breakfast was very good too.
Cons: A toothbrush holder mounted on the bathroom wall.
Location: It is in a lovely village location with a few nice shops, a couple of restaurants and about 4 other pubs. It is not far from Matlock
We stayed for 2 nights and ate there both evenings as well. The room was clean and comfortable, the en suite was very small but it had everything you needed except somewhere to put your toothbrush. The bed was comfortable but I found the pillows were not to my liking but I do think that is a personal thing not the fault of the hotel. The food was good the menu was not very extensive but it was very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by russ from shoreham

Great pub and room

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Friendly staff couldn't be faulted. Great value and more than I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All good,

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Location: Perfect
Our first impressions were worrying as the place seemed dark and dreary but soon realised this was only the old age of the place, We had three double rooms . Two of which had very small bathrooms but the towels and bed linen were of excellent quality.There was everything that we needed with a fantastic breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jez237 from Lancashire

Nice hotel in a beautiful part of the UK

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great, nice old building, room was comfortable and en suite was good. The only drawback was the inability to get WiFi. Given that it is in the midst of the countryside 3G service was dodgy and I would have liked to have been able to access my internet. Apparently this is an ongoing problem and is being looked at so future visits won't have that problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: none
Location: Perfect
This is a lovely town centre hotel and I will highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Diana from Bristol

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a lovely stay at this hotel, a large comfy room. It was easy to find with plenty of parking, nice range of breakfasts. There was a wide enough range of reasonably priced pub meals for the evening with friendly staff. Only slight negative is that it can be a bit noisy if there is something happening in the function room but that only occurred one night and it was done by 10 pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OK overall but disappointing bathroom

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Cons: Bathroom very small
Room was clean, a good size and with new furniture. Comfortable bed. But, the bathroom was tiny and only the wide of the shower tray and about 5 foot long. The washbasin was tiny (no room for a proper sized one) and it needed decorating; wallpaper was hinging off the wall near the ceiling, exposing brickwork. The room was good, the bathroom very disappointing. Staff very friendly and the breakfast very good. The room had tea and fresh ground coffee which was nice.