Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff excellent

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent
Cons: Welcome pack, decoratation needs to be updated and cleanliness needs to improve
Location: Crichton tramway, walking
Some improvements need to be made, a welcome pack, decoration in room needs to be updated as well as the bathroom. Bed very comfortable, breakfast excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom northanptonshire

Bad night sleep

Posted Nov 17, 2014
For the £80 will paid we expected a good nights sleep and parking. Unfortunately there was a function being held in the room below us . The noise continued to about one am so was impossible to get any sleep before then. Also disappointed to not being able to park in there car park so had to pay in a car park. The breakfast was fine but left hotel very tired and unfortunately won't be staying again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Visiting Derbyshire

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were very nice with nice little extra details such as fresh coffee instead of instant with the tea making facilities, array of fresh towels and cosy beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Centre of Market Town Hotel/Pub

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Clean linen; comfortable bed and welcoming staff.
Cons: Decor.
Location: Location is excellent for the market town which has lovely antique shops and lots of cafes. Also an excellent 36 seater cinema.
Whilst the hotel staff were welcoming and pleasant; the bedding clean and bed comfortable, the hotel was tired, in need redecoration and brightening up. We noted that the property is for sale and perhaps new owners would do this work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jonnowfrom Kettering, Northants

As you like it

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very annoyed to find that the website misled us into thinking that the hotel is in Matlock.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lincolnshire

Quirky hotel, lovely staff, food excellent

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: En suite and wifi
Location: Lovely walks
Stayed overnight, no wifi but lovely and very helpful staff, small ensuite, bed really comfortable. Pretty village , would stay again .
1 out of 5
by dissatisfiedfrom n

Very misleading

Posted May 29, 2014
When I booked this I expected it to be in matlock as per the address, we got a train to matlock to find the hotel was in wirksworth which we then had to get a taxi. The hotel was nothing like it was described, the room very shoddy and noisy, the shower was terrible, boiling hot then icy cold water. This was a treat for my cousin who was over here from the USA and it was embarrassing after I had told her how nice it had seemed. The breakfast was terrible. At £100 for the one night it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and should never be called a hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Georgefrom London

Lovely staff, great setting, poor room

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very disappointed with our room. It was clean enough but the décor was very old fashioned and tired. Great setting though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Frequent Travellerfrom South Wales

OK for a quick stop

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Its your typical 'in the middle of no-where' pub with a few rooms upstairs. It's dated and cold but the staff are great and if it's just a quick one night stop you're looking for it does just fine. Food and drink are excellent.