Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not too far from City centre and airport

Posted Oct 25, 2013
caught local bus to city centre it was only a one night stay but hotel ideal for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kten from Niagara region

Excellent room, no airport shuttle

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Room
Cons: TV stations
Location: drab location!
Excellent quiet room, comfortable beds, very good free internet, nice functional bathroom, and good climate control. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Easy walking to shopping at MARS with a very good array of eating choices - nothing else close by. Apart from a single news station - CNN - no English TV. Good 20 minute walk to the waterfront, but well worth it. Sadly there is no airport transfer as stated in the Expedia writeup. It is 17-18 euros for a cab. When you can take the underground from the airport for minimal cost into downtown Porto it makes the price somewhat less appealing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by my atc from New Zealand

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Faultless service..great meals and lovely large rooms. Close to a large shopping mall. A bit far away from central Porto...but otherwise one of my favorite Hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and reasonably priced.

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Cons: More staff at pool bar.
Small but very comfortable rooms. Out of porto town but good bus service to city. Walking distance to beach and 500 meters from lidl to get your essentials if like us you were flying with Ryanair!!!!! Free shuttle service back to airport. A lot of negative reviews on location but we wanted pool which is difficult to get in city centre for our budget. I found location excellent and very relaxing hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benjamin from London

Great place to stay just outside Porto city centre

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed for 1 week at Tryp Expo Hotel. The location is about 20mins by bus to the city centre and we found it no problem at all to get in and out. About 1mile from Matoshinos beach and on the way are some good value supermarkets. The hotel staff were very helpful and the room, although quite small, was fine. Clean and just what you need to recharge. Loved the breakfast, lots of pastries, fruit, juices and cooked food too. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sempere from France

Good value but location won't suit everyone

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Tryp is really a businessman or woman's hotel, so is clean, efficient with comfortable, well-sized rooms. They provide a free shuttle taxi to and from the airport. The breakfast buffet is good but the evening buffet is expensive for food that can be cold and over cooked. Get a bus to Montesinhos instead (5 mins away) and enjoy wonderful fresh fish cooked on a street barbecue at any of the numerous restaurants near the beach. The hotel is very near the airport so is convenient, with no noise problems and you can get a local bus 200 m down the road for a 20 min ride into central Porto. The area around the hotel is unattractive - it's located right by a big shopping centre (Ikea, Decathlon, Zara, Auchan/Jumbo hypermarket) which we found useful but it's not pretty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamila from Canada

Very clean and close to airport

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great - very clean, very comfortable, and I would definitely stay here again. The hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport (located about 10 minutes away), and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There seemed to be a lot of business folks there. There is a huge mall nearby within walking distance. The city centre is a 30 minute bus ride away, and the scheduling is not very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Exmouth, Devon

Trip to Tryp

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central for most things
Extremely convenient for Airport and Downtown Porto and very close to Motorway access without the associated noises! Friendly helpful staff and good food and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Toronto

Nice looking lobby! that's about it.

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: Lobby, and bar
Cons: Beds, wifi in rooms
Was ok, beds not that comfy! And the wifi sucks in the room, unless your sitting up against your. Door. Lol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by mathansundar

very nice and a quite hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
what you need in a hotel everthing there