Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable very reasonably priced hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It's open aspect, value for money, comfort and very helpful friendly staff.
Cons: A better link to Matosinhos and the city of Porto. This was minor as it can be reached by car easily and quickly. Only if you do not have transport.
Location: Good beach walks. Two supermarkets. A few eateries and some nice restaurants opposite sea shore.
Booked for one night and stayed for eight! Very comfortable hotel with tea and coffee making facilities in the room . Wi-fi worked perfectly from the entrance to the room. We noticed a constant through put of airport and business meeting during the week with a noticeable change to family visitors at the weekend when it was exceptionally busy at breakfast. Outside Swimming pool was cleaned daily and nicely situated with a terrace and adjoining gardens. The standards of housekeeping and maintenance appeared to be high during our stay. Most importantly the friendly professional and helpful staff attuned to our needs very politely and positively. We would recommend and return to this hotel even though initially this was not our intended location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with only a 15 min walk to beach.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
This hotel was very clean and slightly modern. The room is comfortable and quite clean. It was close to the beach and other amenities and had a nice pool as well. I did notice one day after having the sign up for do not disturb for the day ( we didnt want to put all our stuff away) that when we came back it looked as if someone had searched through our things and then the window was left open. Wasn't impressed with that. Other than that hotel is great for a family stay or a couple nights. Also if you are expecting to use wifi it doesn't work in the room, we had to sit by the elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Roberto from Avignon

Very usefull hotel...

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location If you have to stay close to the aeroport. The srrounding is industrial. Hotel is very good, clean with good WiFi connection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by paola from canada

great stay for early morning flight

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for an overnight to catch an early morning flight. While the hotel is some distance from the city - if you don't mind the bus this would be a great place to stay - especially if you have kids. We upgraded to a suite and noted they had bunk beds a la murphy bed style - which we did not use as were only 2 but thought it was a good idea. The area does not have much by way of restaurants but we could be mistaken given our limited stay... \It is not far from a lovely beach as well. overall highly recommended..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not too far from City centre and airport

Posted Oct 25, 2013
caught local bus to city centre it was only a one night stay but hotel ideal for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kten from Niagara region

Excellent room, no airport shuttle

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Room
Cons: TV stations
Location: drab location!
Excellent quiet room, comfortable beds, very good free internet, nice functional bathroom, and good climate control. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Easy walking to shopping at MARS with a very good array of eating choices - nothing else close by. Apart from a single news station - CNN - no English TV. Good 20 minute walk to the waterfront, but well worth it. Sadly there is no airport transfer as stated in the Expedia writeup. It is 17-18 euros for a cab. When you can take the underground from the airport for minimal cost into downtown Porto it makes the price somewhat less appealing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by my atc from New Zealand

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Faultless service..great meals and lovely large rooms. Close to a large shopping mall. A bit far away from central Porto...but otherwise one of my favorite Hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and reasonably priced.

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Cons: More staff at pool bar.
Small but very comfortable rooms. Out of porto town but good bus service to city. Walking distance to beach and 500 meters from lidl to get your essentials if like us you were flying with Ryanair!!!!! Free shuttle service back to airport. A lot of negative reviews on location but we wanted pool which is difficult to get in city centre for our budget. I found location excellent and very relaxing hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benjamin from London

Great place to stay just outside Porto city centre

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed for 1 week at Tryp Expo Hotel. The location is about 20mins by bus to the city centre and we found it no problem at all to get in and out. About 1mile from Matoshinos beach and on the way are some good value supermarkets. The hotel staff were very helpful and the room, although quite small, was fine. Clean and just what you need to recharge. Loved the breakfast, lots of pastries, fruit, juices and cooked food too. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sempere from France

Good value but location won't suit everyone

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Tryp is really a businessman or woman's hotel, so is clean, efficient with comfortable, well-sized rooms. They provide a free shuttle taxi to and from the airport. The breakfast buffet is good but the evening buffet is expensive for food that can be cold and over cooked. Get a bus to Montesinhos instead (5 mins away) and enjoy wonderful fresh fish cooked on a street barbecue at any of the numerous restaurants near the beach. The hotel is very near the airport so is convenient, with no noise problems and you can get a local bus 200 m down the road for a 20 min ride into central Porto. The area around the hotel is unattractive - it's located right by a big shopping centre (Ikea, Decathlon, Zara, Auchan/Jumbo hypermarket) which we found useful but it's not pretty.