Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

Great location to everything!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Condo was great for cooking breakfast and lunch as needed.
Location: Everything is within walking distance.....
Great week getaway....Location on Maui is the best, beach and everything right in front you.... Pool was great, staff was even better!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
All round great place to stay. Comfortable & clean room with everything you need. Excellent location walking distance to black rock, shopping, and good eats. The bbq area was a great asset for some dinners in with great views of the beach/sunset and was well maintained and clean. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns Qld Australia

Nice Condo on lev 2

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Our room on lev 2 had great views of the gardens, the beach and ocean. 1 bedroom with own bathroom, roomy lounge/ kitchen with second bathroom off lounge and a balcony across both rooms. Nice restaurants a short walking beach and Whaler shopping complex next door. Relaxing ambedience unlike Wakiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Paula, CA

Excellent Accommodations and Location

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Everything. Staff was awesome, rooms spotless, every amenity you needed.
Aston at The Whaler far exceeded our expectations and dreams for a great place to stay located near the beach, activities and golf. The Aston room was comfortable including a fully stocked kitchen, laundry facilities on each floor, great staff and located directly on the sandy beach and a step away from Whaler's Village which had wonderful shopping and restaurants. There are two Kaanapalli golf courses directly across the street although we found some more reasonably priced courses south of there. Black rock, which is within a 5 minute walk down the beach walkway was host to fabulous snorkeling including huge turtles which hung out right at shores edge. We could never have picked a nicer place. We visited some of the larger hotels along the walkway and they were packed with people where the Aston seemed much less crowded and peaceful. We highly recommend The Aston at the Whaler for the best experience in Maui vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Excellent facilities; great location, beach etc.
Location: Pretty much everything within walking distance!
Great place which we keep coming back to for location, close attractions, beach etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinez, CA

Nice condo, with lots of construction noise

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Good location, great beach out in front of the hotel. Grounds well manicured and cared for.
Cons: I guess we just got unlucky and stayed there during whatever construction work they had going on (9/18-9/25/14)
Location: Whaler's village has shopping and dining. You can parasail, go on a dinner or sunset cruise, snorkel, swim, etc. all at Kaanapali Beach...
We booked this vacation package and selected the Aston at the Whaler because of the location next to Whaler's Village on Kaanapali Beach and the good value. The property and room itself were nice, but there was a lot of construction activity going on right outside our room on the property. It was very loud and we also got some construction debris blown into our faces as we walked on the Beachwalk outside the hotel. That is the main reason for the "disappointing" rating. Also, one day the water was turned off with no warning. I still don't know what happened. I called the main desk and there was no answer. Then I called the maintenance desk and there was no answer there either. We left and went to the beach. Also, one day we decided to take a nap but the housekeeping staff hadn't been by yet, so we made sure to put the "do not disturb" sign on the door before laying down. Next thing we know we get a call on our room phone from - yep, the housekeeping staff. They wanted to make sure we really meant that we didn't want to be disturbed. I feel like I'm taking crazy pills - wouldn't a normal person who sees a "do not disturb" sign, you know, not disturb the room occupants? Also, there are a lot of families that stayed here. We tried to go after summer break (late Sept.), but we happened to hit the jackpot and get a room next to a screaming baby that kept us up all day and night. Not the hotel's fault, but just contributed to our bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nb

great stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: beachside and had full kitchen
Cons: our unit was very nice not sure what could be improved
Location: great location beachside next door to whaler's village and close to grocery store
very friendly staff, our unit was very clean ,had a good view of the ocean from our lanai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside Ca

First time in Maui great hotel great staff.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
From our arrival, the bellman was great. Took luggage and groceries to our room, even putting the refrigerator items away. Room service was great. Had a surprise on our second day of a sliced pineapple in the refrigerator with a note from hotel staff. Great location on the beach, close to other shops and dinning locations. Easy drive to local sites. Would recommend to others and would choose this hotel again. Great staff. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

The only good thing about this hotel is location.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Terrible experience. No greeting, no help with luggage, no one at front desk. Key cards never work, old carpets in the hallway, gap between entrance door and the wall. Ceiling makes crazy noise when you open any door. Fold up bed (!) with black buckle on top of white linens. Dust on the ceiling in the bathroom. NO BREAKFAST. Police was outside one day. Repairing tennis court, very noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness, location!
Cons: Not much....a little bit of water damage around the edges, but nothing noticeable or bothersome.
Location: Right smack in the middle of the action without overcrowding due to so many beachfront hotels and restaurants...not to mention a few steps to ocean.
We transferred from an Air bnb that was infested with bugs and unclean...what a refreshing change. Our two nights were as good as the previous two were bad. Loved the specific room on a low floor with a view of Black rock and ocean. So glad we lucked into this Whaler property and especially the room we were given. Wish we would have spent more time there.