Ratings based on 1,435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by krishna from ca

Decent resort about 45 min west of airport

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: close to nice beaches and friendly staff
Cons: Improve the doors, add water fountain.
Location: black rock and other beaches, hana and pacific water adventures
Wish there were better doors or rather request rooms further away from the elevators that are in the middle, a lot of people would wake up early in the morning, some at 2:00 AM to drive to HANA or 5:00 AM for something else, and someone like me who is sensitive will not be able to sleep. Wish there were water fountains, had to buy so many plastic bottles or larger water bottles and sad to see no recycling option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by amyclo from Canada

Excellent condo right on the beach!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
We were very pleased when we walked into our condo at the Aston Kaanapali Shores. It was big, bright, well furnished, and the kitchen was equipped with just about everything we needed for the week... It even had a dishwasher! I only had 2 minor issues. We booked a condo with a "Partial Ocean View". I upgraded while booking our room, paid extra, only to be disappointed when our view was of the parking lot. I suppose if you leaned your body way over the lanai to the point where you almost fell off, you might be able to catch a glimpse of where the ocean is, but I have to say it was no partial view at all. I felt a little tricked and we would have been better staying in a standard room and saving the extra money. The other issue I had was requesting a late check out. Check out time is at 12pm and our flight didn't leave until 9pm, so on check in I requested a late checkout. The front desk attendant told me I would have to wait until the night before to request that, and that it's not always possible. I went down to request again the night before we left, only to be told that unfortunately there was someone checking in the next day, but we were welcome to stow our luggage and use a hospitality room for 1 hour, based on availability. That was frustrating, and it still doesn't make sense to me why we couldn't pre book a late checkout, especially when we were willing to pay. Overall it was a great hotel and I would return. It was in a prime location and well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lauren from Orange County, CA

Maui Family Vacation

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The space in the rooms. Loved having a kitchen, washer, dryer, etc.
Cons: Needs major updating in the rooms.
Location: We loved being close to Whaler's Village and the beaches over there. The beach at Aston Kaanapali Shores is very small.
We had a wonderful time in Maui. We really liked the Aston Kaanapali Shores but the rooms are definitely in need of major updating. My husband and I stayed at Aston Kaanapali Shores in 1999 and the rooms are the same as they were back then! When we first arrived at the hotel, they had our reservation wrong. We booked an ocean view room and they had us down for a garden view. The woman at the front desk was a bit rude when we told her they had us down for the wrong type of room. The tone she used with us was not very professional. She said something like "I'm not giving up the room without proof". Thankfully I had my confirmation on my e-mail and I was able to prove our booking of the ocean view room by showing her the e-mail on my phone. I had even called a few weeks prior to confirm our reservation. It just could have been handled better. Although the rooms are "cleaned" every day, they don't do a thorough job. One of the bathrooms had sand on top of the soap dish and on the sink for 3 days straight. The don't wipe everything down each day. The space in the room was great! We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit. It was great to have the kitchen, washer, dryer, etc. Overall we had a nice time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Sacramento CA

Great hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We chose this resort because of the price. Beautiful and we'll maintained grounds and hotel lobby. Loved the staff! Very helpful and kind. Small rocky beach and very small and crowded pool. If you are looking for a hotel/resort with a beautiful beach this isn't it. You will pay less here than if you stayed at Sheraton or Mariott for example where the beach is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ron from Denver

On the Beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: Accross from a strip shopping mall with groceries, restaurants, snorkel rental, gifts. A few minutes away from Black Rock with excellent snorkeling
Nice location on Kanapalli beach, but it is not the MAIN Kanapalli beach. This beach is very shallow and steep and the breakers are bigger and make it tough for little kids to swim. It is right across the street from a grocery store and a Subway, so it made for inexpensive meals. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a bit dated and our 1 bedroom was pretty crowded with 5 people. The grounds are immaculate and there is a jungle right in the center of the courtyard!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CanadaEh from Western Canada

5 days at Kaanapali Shores, 1 bedroom March 2014

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The size of rooms and grounds. Front desk manager was very helpful. Proximity to supermarket
Cons: Internet service.
Location: Located on a sliver of kaanapali beach. Sand/rocky entrance to ocean. Would need to walk to Westin ocean villas to get a more sandy entrance.
Booked 1 br garden and hotel upgraded to oceanview without asking. Room 747 Pros: Easy to find, Times supermarket is across the street. On site restaurant is ok for a basic meal with a great view of the ocean and musical entertainment in the evenings.Grounds are very nice. Condos are large and good value for the $. Front desk manager is very helpful and willing to go out of his way. If you can get into building 5 on the 4th floor, those units are huge. Cons: No Starbucks nearby. Rooms face the inner courtyard so the back of the hotel is very motel looking when you drive up. Lack of ovenware. No bbqs on-site. Beach in front is rocky, need water shoes. Parking and resort fee=$27 and internet access is very sketchy. No elevator by condo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Apr 4, 2014
The rooms were dated, but spacious. I'll take the extra space anytime. The staff was very accomodating. The pool was great for us. Nothing too fancy, but there were always chairs available. The proximity to the grocery store and snorkel rentals (across the street) was great. We'd definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Smith from Utah

Perfect...except the leaky bath ceiling

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, great pool.
Cons: Maintenance communication
Location: Snorkel at black rock, Turtles every day. Stay clear of the fish market one block away, mean people and crappy food!!
Super nice Hotel, staff, & grounds. We really enjoyed the location, and setting. Room was showing wear, but was clean. Our bathroom ceiling started leaking on day one. Maintenance came and "worked" on the problem each day. We looked up into an open ceiling most of the week, as maintenance never put the tile back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E.D from Alberta

Nice place, on the beach, full kitchen

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Our hotel room was good. It was awesome to have a full kitchen and very handy to have a grocery store right across the road. Kids loved the pool and the beach front access was great. My only complaint was that our bedroom backed onto the walkway to the rooms and people talking would wake us up at night and early morning. I think a room with the inside hallways would have been quieter. Over all. We loved our stay and would defiantly recommend staying here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craig from Minnesota

An Great place to stay!!!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: It felt like we were at home. Everybody was so friendly, especially the staff. We had everything we needed and plenty of room for the family.
Cons: Our only complaints are the pullout bed mattress needs to be replaced, and we wished we had sand in the water to swim, and not rocks. Bring beach shoe
Location: It was very easy to get to everything we did. We only used one tank of gas for the whole time we were there.
We had a wonderful experience. This hotel is for all!!!! The old, the young, and for families. Expedia brought us here, but also helped us on our journey around Maui. We definitely want to come back again.