Ratings based on 1,515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Nice condo with great ocean view rooms.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The property is beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms are large and nicely decorated.
Cons: It would be nice to reduce to cost of in house parking. I generally stay for two weeks so my parking fees due add up.
Location: Eat at Sansei in Kapalua, GREAT. Airport beach is just before Whalers village. Free parking and beautiful. A MUST. Buy food and gas at Costco save 30%
We travel to Maui a few times a year and always stay at the kaanapali Shores . It is a very well maintained ocean front property with a truly friendly staff. On our last two week visit we were upgraded to an ocean view room which made our stay even more pleasant. The condo concierge was very helpful in recommending fun activities and as an praticipating Expedia travel site we received discounted rates as well as Expedia points. Great experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Second visit to this property, treated to a free meal for second time guests, love this location and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Nov 17, 2014
We knew when we booked this hotel that it would likely have some flaws due to the economical rate. Surprisingly, we couldn't find any. We were upgraded to a king suite with a garden view and placed on the fifth floor, which gave us a very nice ocean view. The staff were all top notch, very friendly and accommodating. We loved it all. In fact, after two days in Hana, we are returning to Aston Kaanapali Shores today for five more days. Well done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puyallup, WA

Love Kaanapali Shores

Posted Nov 14, 2014
The grounds are beautifully maintained and staff are very friendly. The rooms are very comfortable even though they could use a little paint and polish. I love having the beach right outside my door. This was my 4th visit here and I would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Absolutely AWSOME, didn't want to leave . Will be back'
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Squamish, BC

On the Beach!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Location: I would suggest renting a car, the island is so beautiful with lots of beach spots off the highways. Other hotels, whalers village is nearby.
I have read a lot of reviews about this place. My daughter and I went for a week and it was really great for us. We were located right on the beach and there was a gorgeous turtle that hung around all week. I saw him everyday. Lots of kids there, which was great. we only ate at the restaurant a couple of times because we had a full kitchen which we used a lot. but the food was good and coming from BC, the prices were comparable. A huge grocery store is right across the street and again, I found the prices to be comparable to BC where we are prices for groceries are insane. Overall, we would stay again, it was definitely nice to have the full kitchen. They also had unlimited DVD rentals which I also took advantage of.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Whistler, BC

Nice Beach Disappointing rooms

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The beach, concierge (introductory orientation was excellent), very clean in common areas, great special events (craft market, Burning Love show etc)
Cons: Better Wifi connection in rooms. kitchen supplied with basic needs. cockroach traps free snorkelling gear
Location: Times grocery store close by. Fresh fish market close by. bus stop. on the boardwalk for long walks
Was not informed of the extra resort fees/taxes when booking. Bed was v. uncomfortable. In our 9 day stay, housekeeping missed cleaning twice. We were not in our room when they came to clean. Kitchen was not well supplied for cooking. was not informed of the renovations going on throughout the hotel. Wifi only received in lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
We had a really good time in this hotel. It's situated just near the ocean and this is the main advantage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

great hotel- beautiful beaches

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This time loved the room we stayed in, great location, friendly staff, grocery store walking distance, an open market 3 times a week. Close to a beautiful golf course. Can walk one way along the sandy beach 1-1 1/2 hours. Close to black rock, great snorkelling and great swimming!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, BC. Canada

35th wedding anniversary

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Location was great, we did not even need a car, shopping across the street and bus service is great
Cons: Internet would boot us off and could not get onto the internet on our phones, we were able to when we went to other hotspots
Location: great shopping across the street for groceries, Duke's beach house restaurant within walking distance
Our 35th wedding anniversary was made very special by all the staff... especially upon arrival when we were greeted by the staff. Our room was very nice but we decided to check to see about an upgrade. Liz was so helpful and found us a really nice one bedroom suite with full kitchen, in suite laundry and king size bed, when she found out we were celebrating our anniversary she had a bottle of wine sent up to our room. We spent 2 great weeks there and will definitely be returning. We also had a friend meet us there for 5 days and she also was very impressed with the property and her room. The only thing we would say that was negative was the internet connection, other than that we loved our vacation and all the staff that work there. Mahalo for an amazing vacation.