Ratings based on 639 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Had a wonderful time there! Beautiful hotel and great views of the ocean. The staff were lovely and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegad

Beautiful hotel right on the beach and the ocean

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We had a great time , grocery store in walking distance , restaurants on the beach one property away , very quiet and well maintained our room was amazing ! The beach and ocean view couldn't have been better !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Excellent location with spectacular ocean views.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: It is very well maintained.
Cons: The room where the Expedia presentation is made could be open at other times so guests could have access to the library selections.
Location: The Times grocery store is just across the street. Whaler's Village and Lahaina are within five to ten miles of the hotel.
The update condos are beautifully furnished and sparkling clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is ideal for a quiet retreat yet close enough to all the Maui hotspots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It is near the beach.
The place is near the beach. The staff are friendly. Small pool though. The room is a perfect fit for a family of 4.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donny from Guelph

Perfect Vacation Spot

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location - it's a quieter area of the Kaanapali beach area, but only a quick walk away from anything interesting.
Cons: Very little - a couple light switches didn't work very well, but that's really reaching for something.
Location: Everything you need is walkable. Bars, restaurants, shopping districts. The beach directly out front isn't as nice, but a nice one is 10 feet away.
The moment we walked into the room at the Mahana, we knew that that made the right choice. It isn't the usual hotel, but nearly everything that's fantastic about the place makes up for the lack of typical "resort amenities." The Mahana is a vacation property where the units are owned by vacationers, and is managed like a hotel by Aston. As a result, the rooms are all unique to the tastes of those that own them. Make no mistake, this isn't an Airbnb place. If not for a couple of locked cabinets, this feels like any other hotel - except one with better furnishings, a full stainless steel and marble kitchen, and an exceptional view of the beach. There are a couple of key points to touch on: The Location, and The Room. The Room: For a week, we woke up with fresh brewed Hawaiian coffee on a large patio that overlooked the beach. To save some money, we were able to make breakfast in the room, and eat that on the same patio. Wrapped around the bathroom were two modern bathrooms, an open concept kitchen/living space, and a separate large bedroom. The Location: Right. On. The. Beach. None of the resorts on the west side of Maui are this close to the beach. Missing amenities aren't an issue. There are restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance, and a longer walk (40 mins) will take you all the way down the beach to the classy shopping district of Whaler's Village. You can stay here without the need for a car if you like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Wonderful place for everyone

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, accommodations, facility, and staff.
Cons: A newer computer and printer to print out the boarding passes might be helpful.
Location: Several beautiful beaches, water sports, luau (Old Lahaina Luau), shopping and foods along Front Street, farmer market on Wednesday.
My husband and I took his parents to Maui for the first time. We booked a vacation package through Expedia but eventually contacted Aston for an upgrade due to my in-laws' needs. We were accommodated by Aston's staff, particularly the Manager Karen who was extremely helpful and friendly from the time I contacted Aston to the duration of our stay. We got a free upgrade to a beautiful premium unit where we watched the sunset everyday. We loved the location of this condo building as our parents can watch the sunset and walk on the beach just few steps down from the hotel, while we could snorkel near by. Aston is also close to one of the beautiful beaches, Kapalua, and the fun downtown of Lahaina. The hotel is very clean and the staff is fantastic! We all enjoyed our time in Aston at Mahana and would highly recommend it to everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston

Average hotel.....above average price.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly and onsite Expedia person was hepful for planning excursions. Access to numerous grills on the property in order to grill food.
Cons: Reduce the price.
Location: Grocery store was nearby. Easy acces to the beach and snorkeling. Close to restaurants and shopping.
The hotel was pretty average and I felt a bit over priced. There was an additional daily charge of $18.00 which as explained to me, "was to cover room cleaning and coffee" (this is the first time I have ever been charged an incremental fee for room cleaning.....I assumend this would have been included in my rate). We upgraded to a two bedroom when we arrived for an incremental fee of $75.00 per night which bumped up our nightly rate to $443.00 (we stayed during the first two weeks of June). I felt like value for this property should be between $300.00 and $350.00 per night. Additionally, we were in room 109 and we could clearly hear people right above us at all hours moving chairs and walking. Clearly not enough insulation between floors. The pool was small and I think my next door neighbor's is bigger. The property was fairly close to shopping and easy access to the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. Again, nothing wrong with the property. Just slightly over priced for my perception of value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PAUL from UPSTATE NEW YORK

NICE AND ROOMY CONDO ON THE BEACH WITH VIEWS

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: AT 845 SQUARE FEET - NICE SIZE! GOOD LOCATION!
Cons: INTERIOR DECORATING
Location: LIKE HOW IT'S CLOSE TO EVERYTHING THE COMPLEX HAS TO OFFER BUT YET REMOVED FROM MOST OF THE OTHER RESORTS/RIGHT ON THE BEACH FOR SIGHTSEEING WILDLIFE.
GOOD STAFF/SMALL POOL/VERY CONVENIENT LOCATION/LANAI COULD HAVE BEEN BIGGER BUT NO COMPLAINTS/ROOMY LIVING AREA/QUIET LOCATION/COULD BE EASIER TO FIND BUT NOT A MAJOR PROBLEM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clintwood, Va.

We will go back.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean, especially the public areas and pool. The staff was helpful, and we loved that the hotel was just yards from the ocean.
Cons: Take the carpet out of the rooms and install tile, decorations were dated.
Location: . Groceries and dining within walking distance from the property. Nice beaches everywhere and easily accessible.
Loved the location right on the ocean, we saw whales and sea turtles from our balcony. We were able to listen to the ocean from our room and view beautiful sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach. Great location.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
We watched turtles from our room. The pool is small but who needs a pool when the ocean is right out the door. A lot of sea life right out in front of the hotel to snorkel. The hotel has coupons for snorkel gear that is a great deal.