Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Good location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The hotel was okay. It's being remodeled on the outside. But the rooms are actual condos owend by different people so they all differ on how they are furnished. The room we stayed in was a studio on the ground floor. It was not remodeled, the furniture and everything else was very old. It had tile on the floor which was chipped in a lot of places. We asked to be moved to a different room but there wasn't any available unless we upgraded and paid $30 more per night which we didn't want to do.Overall it has a good location, right on the beach, the only good thing about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

We enjoyed a wonderful anniversary get away.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location!
Location: Beach walk, snorkeling, hiking
Our room was great (so awesome having a full kitchen) and the hotel met our expectations. We liked the value of the hotel but especially enjoyed its location. It was such an easy walk to the beach walk, where you can walk to other beaches, resorts, or restaurants.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach, FL

Construction noise was unbearable.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: Front desk personal need to take more ownership of the construction. They kept telling me that they don't have any control over the contractors.
This was our second stay at the Aston Mahana our first was Aug 2011. Before I booked it stated onlne that they were doing exterior remodeling and that every consideration would be made to put you in a room away from the construction. We were on the second floor and the construction was happening about 3 rooms down. They would start at 8:30 am and the noise was palpable. We were there for four nights and every day they would move down one room closer to ours. The noise and vibrations were unbearable the last day. On day 2 I spoke with the front desk and they were very flippant about the situation. The lady at the front desk told me that most people are up by then and go to the beach and try to get away from the noise. My wife and I were actually in Maui for interviews and could not simply get away to the beach as we would use the mornings to prepare for our afternoon interviews. They then told us they don't have the contractors schedule and know exactly where they will be on a given day. I'm not sure how you can advertise on your website that you will make every consideration to keep your guests away from the construction if you don't even know their schedule. They did not offer to move us until our last day because there were not any rooms available. As far as the actual room it was great. The unit was updated with a nice kitchen, bathroom and very comfortable bed. Long story short wait until the construction is over before you stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel with amazing view

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: - great view - decent room and kitchen Cons: - Not as much facilities as in other properties
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The closest to the waves

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pool shuts down at 10. Has a quiet policy from 8:00 am to 10 pm. Should be able to use pool & spa if quiet in my opinion. 10 is really early
Location: All kinds of things to do. Not enough time to do all activities & relax too !! Many excellent restaurants & shopping nearby. The locals are very nice
Had a wonderful time. Could hear the waves breaking constantly. Staff was nice. Condo was well appointed & big. Staff cleaned BBQ pits every morning. Immaculate. Have already recommended to several people. Beach is the best in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Had a wonderful time there! Beautiful hotel and great views of the ocean. The staff were lovely and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegad

Beautiful hotel right on the beach and the ocean

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We had a great time , grocery store in walking distance , restaurants on the beach one property away , very quiet and well maintained our room was amazing ! The beach and ocean view couldn't have been better !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Excellent location with spectacular ocean views.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: It is very well maintained.
Cons: The room where the Expedia presentation is made could be open at other times so guests could have access to the library selections.
Location: The Times grocery store is just across the street. Whaler's Village and Lahaina are within five to ten miles of the hotel.
The update condos are beautifully furnished and sparkling clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is ideal for a quiet retreat yet close enough to all the Maui hotspots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It is near the beach.
The place is near the beach. The staff are friendly. Small pool though. The room is a perfect fit for a family of 4.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donny from Guelph

Perfect Vacation Spot

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location - it's a quieter area of the Kaanapali beach area, but only a quick walk away from anything interesting.
Cons: Very little - a couple light switches didn't work very well, but that's really reaching for something.
Location: Everything you need is walkable. Bars, restaurants, shopping districts. The beach directly out front isn't as nice, but a nice one is 10 feet away.
The moment we walked into the room at the Mahana, we knew that that made the right choice. It isn't the usual hotel, but nearly everything that's fantastic about the place makes up for the lack of typical "resort amenities." The Mahana is a vacation property where the units are owned by vacationers, and is managed like a hotel by Aston. As a result, the rooms are all unique to the tastes of those that own them. Make no mistake, this isn't an Airbnb place. If not for a couple of locked cabinets, this feels like any other hotel - except one with better furnishings, a full stainless steel and marble kitchen, and an exceptional view of the beach. There are a couple of key points to touch on: The Location, and The Room. The Room: For a week, we woke up with fresh brewed Hawaiian coffee on a large patio that overlooked the beach. To save some money, we were able to make breakfast in the room, and eat that on the same patio. Wrapped around the bathroom were two modern bathrooms, an open concept kitchen/living space, and a separate large bedroom. The Location: Right. On. The. Beach. None of the resorts on the west side of Maui are this close to the beach. Missing amenities aren't an issue. There are restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance, and a longer walk (40 mins) will take you all the way down the beach to the classy shopping district of Whaler's Village. You can stay here without the need for a car if you like.