Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

A nice hotel/ condominium right on the ocean.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The staff is super polite, friendly and helpful. The housekeeping is courteous and did a great job everyday.
Cons: Nothing to be improved upon. This place is quiet, peaceful luxury.
Location: Within easy driving distance of other resorts, Whalers Village and Lahaina. Local restaurants, shops and groceries nearby. True Islander experience.
Can't beat the place for value. Great location, gorgeous views, mornings on the lanai with coffee as the sun comes up writing postcards, watching sailboats, paddle boarders and surfers in the distance. Sunsets are spectacular and the Mahana provides a front row seat to all of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ocean front for sure!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: the views of the ocean could not have been better anywhere. They were spectacular.
Cons: The lounge chairs down by the pool were looking in pretty sad shape and maybe have a fire pit or two for at night.
We loved our room. The views were amazing. Do not go for ocean view. It must say ocean front. We had views from all angles of our room. The room was beautiful, too. We literally walked down to the pool and out a few steps onto the beach. The only thing that did disappoint us was that you couldn't swim right in front of the hotel. We had to go down the beach a ways to actually swim. Otherwise, I would say it was a nice place. We stayed 10 nights. We did book all of our activities downstairs through expedia so that was nice to just have it all done in one package. Although, I think it would have been nice to offer some type of discount when booking over so many activities. We booked over $3,500 worth of activities and we did see several of those offered at lower prices when we were walking around so that would have been nice. There were five of us and plenty of room. Two full baths and two bedrooms with two full beds and one king bed and a queen pullout in living room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Whitehorse, Yukon

Our trip was for our honeymoon.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The little burger coffee outlet was nice; the cleanliness of the rooms and the building; the ability to book entertainment packages; friendly staff.
Cons: One recommendation is to have a map for directions to get to the hotel. When we arrived it was late and dark, we searched for a couple of hours and fi
Location: Snorkeling; In Lahaina: shopping, theatre, sailing, the Road to Hannah experience, food.
We enjoyed waking up to the sound of the ocean and being able to snorkel almost every day. We enjoyed having our breakfast on the patio; we also enjoyed the pool on a couple of evenings. We liked the fact that there was a washer and dryer and that the bathrooms were cleaned each day. One recommendation is to have a map for directions to get to the hotel. When we arrived it was late and dark, we searched for a couple of hours and finally stopped at another hotel to get directions. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Good location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The hotel was okay. It's being remodeled on the outside. But the rooms are actual condos owend by different people so they all differ on how they are furnished. The room we stayed in was a studio on the ground floor. It was not remodeled, the furniture and everything else was very old. It had tile on the floor which was chipped in a lot of places. We asked to be moved to a different room but there wasn't any available unless we upgraded and paid $30 more per night which we didn't want to do.Overall it has a good location, right on the beach, the only good thing about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

We enjoyed a wonderful anniversary get away.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location!
Location: Beach walk, snorkeling, hiking
Our room was great (so awesome having a full kitchen) and the hotel met our expectations. We liked the value of the hotel but especially enjoyed its location. It was such an easy walk to the beach walk, where you can walk to other beaches, resorts, or restaurants.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach, FL

Construction noise was unbearable.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: Front desk personal need to take more ownership of the construction. They kept telling me that they don't have any control over the contractors.
This was our second stay at the Aston Mahana our first was Aug 2011. Before I booked it stated onlne that they were doing exterior remodeling and that every consideration would be made to put you in a room away from the construction. We were on the second floor and the construction was happening about 3 rooms down. They would start at 8:30 am and the noise was palpable. We were there for four nights and every day they would move down one room closer to ours. The noise and vibrations were unbearable the last day. On day 2 I spoke with the front desk and they were very flippant about the situation. The lady at the front desk told me that most people are up by then and go to the beach and try to get away from the noise. My wife and I were actually in Maui for interviews and could not simply get away to the beach as we would use the mornings to prepare for our afternoon interviews. They then told us they don't have the contractors schedule and know exactly where they will be on a given day. I'm not sure how you can advertise on your website that you will make every consideration to keep your guests away from the construction if you don't even know their schedule. They did not offer to move us until our last day because there were not any rooms available. As far as the actual room it was great. The unit was updated with a nice kitchen, bathroom and very comfortable bed. Long story short wait until the construction is over before you stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel with amazing view

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: - great view - decent room and kitchen Cons: - Not as much facilities as in other properties
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The closest to the waves

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pool shuts down at 10. Has a quiet policy from 8:00 am to 10 pm. Should be able to use pool & spa if quiet in my opinion. 10 is really early
Location: All kinds of things to do. Not enough time to do all activities & relax too !! Many excellent restaurants & shopping nearby. The locals are very nice
Had a wonderful time. Could hear the waves breaking constantly. Staff was nice. Condo was well appointed & big. Staff cleaned BBQ pits every morning. Immaculate. Have already recommended to several people. Beach is the best in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Had a wonderful time there! Beautiful hotel and great views of the ocean. The staff were lovely and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegad

Beautiful hotel right on the beach and the ocean

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We had a great time , grocery store in walking distance , restaurants on the beach one property away , very quiet and well maintained our room was amazing ! The beach and ocean view couldn't have been better !