Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Elk Grove, CA

Great beach front Condo/Hotel!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Amenities and location. Right on Kaanapali Beach but not too crowded.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The location is excellent. Close enough to the Whale Villages but don't have the big crowd. Love the fact that farmer market is 5 minutes away.
It is our first time here at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas and we loved it! We travel to all the Hawaii islands (mostly Maui) annually but agreed that we have found our new home away from home :) We tried the studio garden view condo and was very happy with everything. The unit is tastfully upgraded with granite counters, stainless steel appliance, flat screen TV, King size bed, etc. The services were excellent. We love the pool and spent lots of time on the beautiful beach. The nice touch is the Cast Away Cafe which provides great food, great services and of course the beautiful view of the ocean. We already planned to come back next year :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kristin from Seattle, WA

Beautiful resort right on the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Wonderful location, friendly staff, clean and updated rooms, safe and secure.
Cons: The only thing we didn't like was the average dinner at the Castaway Cafe. Breakfast was awesome, but I would go somewhere else for other meals.
Location: Lots of fun things to do near by like dinner and whale watching cruises, ziplining, luaus. Just about 50 minutes to the airport for helicopter tours.
My husband and I stayed here for our wedding/honeymoon. We loved staying at the Maui Kaanapali Villas!. I'm a return customer, and I will be returning in the future. Our room was very nice and very clean. All of the staff was welcoming and friendly. All of the rooms here are nice, but we felt very grateful to be upgraded to a larger suite with a kitchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was right on a beautiful beach. Family friendly

Posted Apr 5, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms were great! Our family had a great time enjoying the beautiful beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Laid back, friendly, exactly what we needed.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: friendly owners, laid back, clean, functional. Good beach. Coffee in the lobby each morning is a lovely touch. Took it to beach and watched whales.
Cons: Quality of cooking knives etc. there were a lot of things to use, but most were cheap. I would prefer less stuff, but more functional.
Location: Market across the road most days. Organic store nearby. Need car for grocery shopping.
Third visit. Wonderful experience each time. We travel as a large family with young children. Studios are basic, totally functional, and comfortable. Did not need ritzy. Restaurant reasonably priced, good variety and unpretentious. Wayne makes the best Mai Tais on the island. Good BBQ pits for guest use too. Pool area nice and beach even better. Never seemed crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Massachusetts

Nice place to relax and unwind.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Cons: I have back/neck issues and found that the beds could be improved but I could say that about most hotels I've stayed at.
Location: The beach walk was great and we went snorkeling at black rock - within walking distance.
We stayed at this hotel for a week and found the grounds to be beautiful and the hotel staff to be very friendly and accommodating. This is not a big high rise hotel which is one of the reasons we chose it. We enjoyed the small restaurant on site "The Castaway" very much - good food, great service, and exceptional value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S.E from Toronto

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Pool, location on the beach, great rooms
Cons: Complete renovating the rooms
Location: Excellent part of the beach. Easy to get to Lahania
Great Place to Stay. Big but not too big. Nice pool and great spot on the beaches. The renovated rooms are great. Great value for the money
1 out of 5
by Karrie from Oregon

Would not go back

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Staff professionalism, friendliness. Cleanliness.
When we arrived, someone else was in the room, housekeeping let them in. Once it was confirmed that the other people were in the wrong room, the water was shut off. The room was nice, but very dirty, you did not want to walk on the floor in your bare feet, sand and filth was everywhere. The staff was not willing to accommodate in any way, at all, and made us feel like we were putting them out by asking why we had no water. The lanai to the ocean view room could only fit a small chair sideways, so you would be facing each other, not the Ocean. Fortunately, this was the last day of our vacation, which we spent most of our stay at another hotel, and only stayed one evening here. We are regular visitors to Maui and will not go back to this hotel, EVER!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent time

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Very quiet. Rooms were accessible to the beach with short or no walk.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Whalers village. Lahaina Beaches up north for surfing Snorking is nearly
This is the third time that we have stayed at this hotel. Excellent as always. The location is perfect for the coast. The staff is warm and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The price is right. I recommend it for people who want a quiet and restful stay in Hawaii.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Oregon

Large rooms and beach access

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Location: The location is great, the beach is beautiful. Shopping, dining, sight-seeing even the Sugar Cane Train stop was nearby.
Our room was large and very light, with two sliding doors that accessed a walk-around balcony on our second floor room. The shower was a walk in type open shower, a very nice surprise. There are many nice amenities that are available at this hotel. However there are a couple of things that weren't so great; for example it didn't feel clean, there were stains around the toilet, someone's old used bag of ice left in the freezer, and it smelled of mildew. There were spiders hanging in EVERY tree, everywhere you looked, and many tiny flying bugs around the room at all times. The rooms need a serious upgrade the furniture tired and marred, and the phone was old and dirty. The worst let down was the lack of an elevator, carrying heavy bags up and down the stairs was a bummer. Be sure to hang the privacy sign when you leave your room, because if you don't they will come in and move your things around without your knowledge. A very creepy and violated feeling. Our room was the farthest from the beach, right on the highway with LOTS of machinery and traffic noises. Not exactly peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie from Phoenix, AZ

My Son's Maui Wedding.

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Great location, great room, great people, fabulous surrounding. Proximity to several other hotels. An on site general store. Hawaiian charm!!!
Cons: Maybe one more restaurant. Don't get me wrong, the little diner there is great. Perhaps a small lounge added to the mix? But, I'm nitpicking here!
Location: God out did Himself! That is a fair statement.
My first Hawaiian vacation was centered around my son's wedding. I had seriously thought about travelling to the Islands many times, however, circumstances would not allow the event to occur. After my son and his new bride chose Maui for their wedding location, I was pretty much forced to comply- not that arm twisting was really necessary to inspire my trip. Once there, my own eyes showed me exactly how beautiful and awe inspiring Maui truly is. The entire Ka'anapali coast is a picture postcard and all of the hotel properties are exquisite. Yes, exquisite! To make a long story short, the wedding and reception was the best I've personally attended-ever! I would be lying if I said that the unmatched beauty of the surroundings had nothing to do with my opinion. If you are a person who is thinking about going- GO! I was able to have the joy of watching my son and his beautiful new bride married; watched the Humpback Whale migration in full display during Maui's "Whale Soup" season up close; I swam with giant Sea Turtles in the Maui coves and partied like a Pirate to boot. It was very hard to say: Aloha! I fully understand how some people have gone to Hawaii, then went home and sold their property and went back to stay. Living on Maui time would not be a hard habit to fall in to. Mahalo!