Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right off the ocean!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The condo didn't disappoint! Right off the ocean. Great central location on Maui, activates are within 30 min! I would go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carie from Anacortes, WA

Lovely condo and perfect beach!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Very clean and up to date condo that includes a well-stocked kitchen that had every thing we needed for cooking for our family for 9 days, comfy bed and sofa bed, nice clean little pool, and a perfect beach right out front. Also easy access to downtown shopping for groceries or anything else you might need. Perfect location - we will stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heather from Raleigh, NC

Convenient location and fantastic views

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed here for six nights in Unit 207. The location in Kihei was great. It is within walking distance to a supermarket and a few restaurants, and it's very close to the main highway. It's convenient to Lahaina, Haleakala, Iao Valley, the airport, etc. The unit itself was pretty standard beach condo style. The bed was comfy and everything was clean. The view outside was amazing! We ate breakfast on the balcony almost every morning, and it was great to just be steps away from the beach. That being said, we did have a couple problems checking in and out. When we arrived, it was after the rental company's normal hours, so the sign said we were supposed to use the courtesy phone to call them. My husband called and the guy couldn't find our reservation (we booked through Hotels.com), then he gave us the combination to the key box, but the envelope in there wasn't for us. He told us to call another number. We did, but they were also closed and didn't have an operator. We called the original guy back again and this time he found our reservation. Evidently our key was in a lockbox outside the unit itself. Now, why could he not figure that out the first time? We had similar issues turning in the key when we left, but it was all sorted out quickly, if annoyingly, enough. Other than the check-in/out issues, our stay was great and we would consider staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Miriam from Los Angeles

Hale Kai O Kihei Room 318 review

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was hot, no central AC, just a window AC in the living room. we did not sleep in the bedroom but used the sofa bed instead. No extra bedsheets and the bathroom vent was super loud, so annoying. The only plus is the access to the beach and the location being in Kehei.
3 out of 5
by Tommy from W

Need better operation

Posted May 30, 2014
In chek in and out, we experience difficulties. Nobody was there and picked my phone call up. I have to wait outside of the condo. In addition, we had to return our room key to the real estate company's office that takes 20 mins by car. But there is no explanation in terms of how to check out. This is impossible to do that without a car, but many web cites including Japanese ones told us that we do not have to rent a car when staying at the condo. Also, there are many homeless around the condo and they were chilling out in the condo's garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dylan from Boulder, CO

Great, Affordable Condo right on the beach

Posted May 14, 2014
Young couple in mid-20s spent their vacation getaway in this condo for 5 nights. Full service kitchen, nice large bed and the unit was stocked with not only baseline amenities, (e.g. deck furniture, couch, pots, pans, TV, DVD, etc), there were also beach chairs, beach umbrella, cooler, iron and laundry basket. Maybe that's just baseline out here!! Very quiet, which allowed us to have a very relaxing time. The condo is a bit away from the 'more' busy Kihei. Maui is a new personal favorite. Staff was extremely friendly and allowed us to checkout late even though we requested it late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient. Right on the beach.

Posted May 2, 2014
This was our 2nd time at Hale Kai O Kihei and we will be back for sure. All units are oceanfront and only a few feet from the ocean, so the view is gorgeous - beautiful sunsets. It is also very quiet as it is not on the main street; however, still very convenient to shops and great for walking to the Friday Town Party at Azeka Mall. Our unit had updated air-conditioning units and had all the necessities of home.They even had beach chairs, mats, cooler, beach towels, snorkeling equipment and hats. The location is absolutely great; however, the units are all individually owned, so some may not be as updated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hale Kai O Kihei

Posted Jan 23, 2014
The condo was dated, but acceptable, in terms of its decor and cleanliness. The view is outstanding and it is located close to stores, restaurants, etc. The only negative was the proximity of homeless people. They tended to hang out on the beach in front of the condo and several loud verbal exchanges that we found a discomforting
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Keith, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed the beachfront location and close proximity to Times Super Market, restaurants, and shops. I am sorry that you saw some homeless people. There is a church nearby that will host "feed the homeless" events which may explain your encounter. We hope to see you at the Hale Kai O Kihei again! Mahalo Condominium Rentals Hawaii
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Vancouver, BC

If you want to be oceanfront, nothing better

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent location, directly next to main Kihei shops but still very quiet. 100ft from salty ocean water and directly ocean view. Older building with no elevator and all rooms privately owned by separate owners, so it can be a gamble if you don't know which room is best. That said, the property is immaculately maintained and our suite had it all, all the appliances and cutlery, pots and pans, boogie board, beach towels, tatami mats, etc. We rented 212 and would recommend it. There's a direct line phone next to the communal laundry mat, which can make check in a cinch if you arrive after reg business hours. Spent a lot of time worrying about check in and check out for nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2014 by Condominium Rentals Hawai, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed the stay! You should have nothing to worry about for late check-ins as we have a lock box located right on site that will have your keys and arrival packet in it. You simply call our phone number once you arrive (or even the day before you arrive) and our 24-hour phone receptionist will give you the code to the box. See you at the Hale Kai O Kihei next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patty from Alaska

Will be staying there again

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved the location, right by a little grocery store. and the sunsets right in front of you. we really enjoyed our stay.