Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Saskatchewan

Perfect accommodations for our requirement

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Location, amenities
Cons: The receptionist was not very helpful nor friendly.
We loved the view of the ocean and harbor, making some of our own meals, walking on the beach and hearing the waves through the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by La Verne from California

Anniversary Vacation in Maui

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The view and location.
Location: Maalaea was away from the hustle and bustle of Lahaina but close enough to visit for their nighttime shows and entertainment. Perfectly located.
Our stay at Island Sands was perfect. The view of Maalaea Bay in February was spectacular. Humpback whales could be seen with binoculars from our 6th floor balcony in every direction. Everything we needed was available, from beach towels to a small beverage cooler for our exploration of the island. We would highly recommend this condo to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Vancouver Island

Nice quiet area of Maui to stay

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: It is quiet, the grounds, pool and bar b ques are all very well kept with daily efforts noticeable.
Cons: The bed risers are not necessary and one collapsed I am pretty sure on the folks before us so we removed them 15 minutes into our stay.
Location: Nice walk to a few good eateries, corner store, marina and the aquarium.
The private lanai, the view, the parking all added to a great time there. The unit was clean and fresh with all that we needed and more. The unit is situated and designed so nicely with good quality screen doors such we could enjoy the natural cooling of the trade winds rather than needing to use the air conditioning (which was there). The lanai was very large and also well equipped. We were only two but 6 would be very comfortable out there. The close drying line on the lanai was a nice touch as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from Edmonton, Canada

Great affordable stay

Posted Nov 30, 2013
We felt that the island sands was an excellent choice for our budget. The condo was ground floor level and the balcony opened up to the ocean; just a rocky shoreline but a beautiful view. The unit was stocked with most of what we needed (minus toiletries) and that includes appliances. The bathroom was a bit older and could use some upgrades, and the decor was retro early 90's but we didn't even spend much time there except for morning and evenings. Some issues with the sign in code, but helpful staff got it figured out.
2 out of 5
by Craig from Seattle

Island Sands Review

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: The only positive was a new king size bed that was very comfortable.
Location: The area around the facility was very quiet and they have a wonderful beach near by that is great for walking and swimming.
Very disappointed with our room. The staff was very nice but the facility was old and not in very good shape. The entry door was hard to open and close. The light in the shower was hanging loose from the ceiling with exposed wiring showing. The toilet was not mounted securely to the floor. Shower floor was dirty. Living area furniture was worn and uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Location. View from room. Clean.
Lovely quiet location. Central, less than 15 minute drives to the 3 main areas of Maui. Beautiful ocean views. 2 minute walk to a small choice of restaurant and shops and right on a beach that goes on forever.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but spendy through Expedia

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Nice but no staff on premise to deal with any actual concerns. All contacts were via telephone.
Location: In the local area there are a few restaurants and shops, a service station and a Carl's Jr. One needs to drive to get to a grocery store or to a good
The room rate on Expedia was attractive at $116 a night the additional add ons of $100+ a night were not. I think this timeshare was very deceptive in its advertising when the total charges came to over $400 for 2 nights. Our other 2 weeks of time share did not have charges even close to this for the 7 days spend at each - one was a total of $167 for 7 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by monica and juan

Honey moon in paradise!!! ; )

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Every minute to every second was amazing!!!!! Our room was the best part of our vaca! Nothing but comfort feeling like you were at home. No set time to wake up or be interrupted by room service. Very private!!! Amazing view, full amenities. Free parking and Ron the middle of everything between lahaina and kihei. I highly recommend staying in Maalea, Maui. Clean and friendly environment. ; ) thanks for making it a beautiful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Honeymoon

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Our experience was amazing, great view, nice condos, fully furnished and had all the things we needed to have the best honeymoon! I would recommend the Island Sands to anyone! The location was also good as ours was in Maalaea and it wasnt loud. A little windy but thats it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Dover, DE

Very Nice Condo on Water. Condo met our every desi

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Availability of Kitchen ans laundry We were able to use the laini extensively.
Cons: Put docomentation in the room showing where everything is located, Place a current TV guide in rom
Location: Very Good We had a wonderful Honeymoon.
We had a wonderful experience We were able to eat breakfast and lunch on the Laini watching the surfers and a family of birds. the adminities were excellent. The supplies in the Condo were great. The agents at the unit were very helpful Carol recommend excellent diners and events. We recommend this unit to every traveler to Maui. We really enjoyed our stay.