Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel/condo for the price

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Great location. Beach towels and chair provided. Full kitchen.
Cons: Provide shampoo and conditioner. Add a jacuzzi to the pool areas. More knowledgeable front desk staff. Need wireless internet.
Location: Across the street from a good beach. Walking distance to some restaurants. Short drive to many other restaurants and activities.
We stayed in the smallest room on the premises which was fine. It was nice having a place with a full kitchen (even though we didn't cook), washer and dryer in unit, separate sitting area, beach towels and chair for use, not to mention the great location across the street from the beach. Our biggest problem was that when we arrived the room only had one king bed while I specifically requested two beds. The only thing the front desk could do was dial the condo people on the phone. After speaking to them, we discovered that the bed was two twin beds pushed together. We had to separate them and remake the beds ourselves which was a bit annoying. Also note that while they provide laundry detergent, they don't provide shampoo and conditioner. There is also no wireless internet available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel with home-like amenities

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Felt like we were in a home, not a hotel
Besides the 6 hr black-out, (failed to read notice on door leading to stairs) the stay was nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron and Rose from Regina, SK, Canada

First trip to Maui!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Price, location, conveniences, no hidden fees.
Cons: New sofa and bedspread!
Location: Right across the street from Kamaole Beach Park 2. Condo is centrally located. But you need a rental car in Maui to get to the other locations.
This was our first time to Maui, and my wife and I chose the Akai Kihei condos from Expedia because of the price, and other ratings. Our unit was a studio unit, on the north end of the "D" block (out of A,B,C,D). We were on the fourth floor. As it was an end unit, we did not directly face the ocean, but still had a view of the ocean and West Maui mountain from our Lanai/balconcy, which was nice. Our end was very quiet, perhaps because it was an end unit. It appeared that our unit D401 had previously had some upgrades: tile flooring, new kitchen cabinets and bathroom cabinets. The loveseat was showing a few signs of wear, and bedspread looked a little dated. A new beadspread with a Hawaiin print would be nice! It was good having our own full size fridge, stove, and microwave and we used all of these. The Akai Kiheh condos have two pools. The pool areas have BBQ's, which we used on a couple of occasions to cook our steaks so that was convenient. The unit also had a self-contained washer/dryer. The only issue we had was that as we did the self-serve check-in at 6 PM (office closes at 5 PM), we were unsure of where to park. We parked in the 'vistor' stall and ended up with a 'ticket' from the local condo security, which the office cleared up the next day when they gave us the assigned stall number. This could have been avoided had the stall number been included in the self-check in information.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy Far from the Beach Too small for four adultt

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: not very much
Cons: less expensive ,lower rated (it was confusing)
Location: Not much, public beach only the other side of the street
We rented four previous days in Kaanapali Aston shor hotel and it was a lot better for about the same price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location reasonable price

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Friend
Cons: Cleaning everything is easily accessible
Great, but too short a visit,good time good time,rented a car drove road to Hana (not sure why everyone dopes this drive I preferred the road to lahania
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne from Prince George BC Canada

Very nice view, could see whales spouting.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Everything was clean and well looked after. The ground and cleaning staff keep this property in first class shape.
Well equipped, could use a larger coffee pot, but was workable. Did not use the kitchen but enough tools were there. The bed was very comfortable. We needed internet for work so bought a months worth ( $30.00) via the local provider, a little slow as you have to search each time you log on but no big deal. The condo is in very good local for dining and beaches. The birds are little noisy (5 am) but we enjoyed them as we were up early. 7 amsh. We rented scooters for two days, but next will rent a car. Our flight was delayed 3 hrs coming in (got in at 11:30 pm) so not many taxis available. We had made arrangements ahead of time ( Roberts) so had a ride. Over all we would definitely come back here.
2 out of 5
by quilter from Vancouver, BC

This site is close to beach, friendly guests

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: The location near the beach was nice,
Cons: Knowledgeable helpful office staff, and improved internet access
Location: The site is across the street from a lovely beach, resteraunts close by plus some shopping but Maui as a whole is car oriented.
room configuration requested was not provided, no advance notice. after hours phone number was not someone who could help. Unable to accommodate a change of rooms. I ended up sleeping on a roll a way in a room that cost almost $250 per night, unacceptable. Front desk was not even able to take a message or relay a concern to Conduminium Rental Hawaii. "free" internet was almost impossible to access, repeated resetting of modum was marginally helpful. Even on the 6th floor the knats and tiny flying bugs were so thick the door and windows were kept closed and the air conditioner was used constantly. Kitchen was good and well outfitted. in suite washer and dryer were helpful. Grounds were kept very well. No handicapped parking at most buildings, one at the office area. Although there were ramps and elevators and the halls were wide enough. Almost all parking was assigned so it was almost impossible to acomodate someone with handicapped access required. lower pool area was very nice as was the pool, lots of lounges and chairs. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff A from Las Vegas, NV

Great Stay - Great Location

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked this 4 night stay as a 'precursor' to our week-long stay we had planned in the 'nice' timeshare property my parents gave us as a gift. We didn't have high expectations for this, due to the fact that it was still available to book on fairly short notice. We had a family of 5 (me, wife, 3 teenagers). We were pleasantly surprised when we got there. The location was great -- just across the street from one of the main beaches and walking distance to some food and shopping locations. We were lucky enough to get a unit that was at the top of the back building with an ocean view. Amazing. We didn't use the pool or any other facilities -- it was just a space for us to hang out in between beach visits and excursions. Having the full kitchen was great, as it saved us from having to eat out all the time. Each unit is individually decorated by the owner, so I guess there is some level of 'risk' you take for getting a 'good' unit or not, but we had a great experience. Would definitely rebook if we were going to stay in this area again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2014 by Condominium Rentals Hawai, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Kihei Akahi. I am glad to hear your family enjoyed our condo. The location across the street from the beach is very convenient! We hope to see you again at the Kihei Akahi. Mahalo,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Anna from Columbus, OH

Just OK

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: washer/dryer units, stove, great location
Cons: free wireless Internet in all rooms
Location: Kihei is a great area because it is close to many great snorkel beaches.
This place has wired Internet access in the room that you have to pay for (about $10/day or $40/week). I find this unacceptable since I'm used to free wireless access at hotel stays. In order to download a large app on my phone, I had to go to the pool area where they provide free wireless Internet, but the signal is extremely weak. It took about an hour to download. The bed was uncomfortable, and one of the windows didn't close completely, which made it difficult for the AC to be effective. On the positive side, these condos are in a great location in Kihei. The washer/dryer units and stove were great to have in the room. It's across the street from a great beach, but we were in the unit farthest back from the street, so we still drove to the beach since we didn't want to carry all our gear from that distance (snorkel, towels, chairs, etc.). Overall, I would say this place was just okay. I think I got it at a fair price, but next time, I will look for a place with wireless Internet.