Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Short walk to beach and nearby restaurants/shops

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We stayed in building C room 107. Room itself was very clean and spacious. Enjoyed the walkout patio doors to the open grass/garden area. Room had everything that we needed. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Only downfalls about the room was that there was no wifi, the light fixture above the dining room table continuously blinked in a strobe like fashion which was not so noticeable during the day but at night was a little irritating. We could not figure out how to turn it off altogether as when the switch was turned off it still continued. Also the fan in the bedroom made a continuous clicking sound all night which we noticed for the first couple of nights but were able to tune it out after that. Our only other issue was the check in process. As we had a late check in we were told to call a number when we got to the hotel which we did but upon 4 or 5 phone calls with no answer and a full voice mail we were lucky to be able to get a hold of the security guard on duty who stayed with us and eventually got us access into our suite. At 9:30 at night and with two little ones I thought that this was quite poorly handled and I'm not sure what we would have done if the security guard was not on site. We eventually did get in about half hour later.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Nice condo building across from great beach

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We have stayed here many times and where never disappointed. Great condos, great beach across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Good Accomodations at a great location.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The unit was well-equipped. The kitchen had everything in it that we needed. The unit also provided beach chairs, an umbrella, and a boogie board.
Cons: An instruction in that particular unit (C-107) as to how to divert the water from the tub to the shower head which was a spring-loaded ring on the tap
Location: Several restaurants and a health food market about 1/3 mile north of the complex. Lots of snorkel-rental places which also arrange trips and luaus.
Akahi is well-located directly across the street from Kamaole beac, where we saw several large sea turtles both in the water near the shore and on the rocks. The complex has two swimming pools with barbacue grills that are often in use. The grounds are beautifully maintained. We had a ground floor unit with the lanai at the garden level ( which meant that the unit was slightly larger than the upper floors. There is no view of the ocean unless you are on one of the upper floors, 5th or 6th. Many people show up on the beach 10 to 15 minutes before sunset to watch the sun go down. There are several good restaurants in Kihei - Fred's & Moose McGillicudy are a 5 minute, or less, walk from the condos. Rita's is about two miles north of the condos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful stay in Kihei

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Stayed in C501 which is a studio suite for one week. We checked in late and it was easy to call the number posted to get the code for the lockbox to get our checkin information. There is security on duty at night to assist as well. Room C501 had ocean views and view of tennis court and pool. Pool is small and adequate with an area for BBQ and a fridge. Room was the usual Hawaiian themed decor. A/C worked fine. Kitchen area was small with no dishwasher. WiFi was a miss in most areas of the room and it seemed like other people had issues with it too... Was told by front desk to call Condiminium rentals about that... Didn't do that, instead went to the pool area to use the spotty WiFi. Only downfall to condo is there is no daily housekeeping... Questionable with the four housekeepers that showed up at the end with just a bucket and a bottle of Windex how clean the housekeeping is. Washer and dryer was convenient for daily laundry. Overall, staff on property are very friendly. For the price, would stay again. Fred's Mexican Cafe and Moose's is next door. 808 Deli is delicious for a sandwich.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Great condo, right across the beach!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
I loved staying at Kihei Akahi. It is truly a condo, not a hotel, which is why I rented it. I rented a studio, and it had everything I needed plus more! There was a washer & dryer inside the unit, which came in very handy. The kitchen was fully equipped and they provided all the essentials, not just for the kitchen but also through the rest of the apartment. The lanai (balcony) was awesome. The location of this condo is perfect, right across the street from the beach and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. They even provided beach chairs, mats and towels. The only bummer was that the wifi didn't always work, not a big deal though.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nova Scotia

Great Location, Terrible Condo

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Clean-ish but with bad layout and ridiculously uncomfortable bed. We considered moving after the first night as the bed was so soft/worn that we were tossing and turning most of the night. Pullout couch was not any better - mattress cover was stained and mattress itself was very worn. Condo was very dark, damp, sketchy wifi access, bad drainage (we used a toilet plunger to get the bathtub to empty). Kitchen was nice and adequately stocked with equipment. Laundry worked well. Very nice grounds and friendly neighbours. The location just up from the beach was amazing. We arrived after hours and the check-in process was smooth. Overall I would say the agency running this place (CRH) is doing a good job, but the condo itself and the furniture needs some attention ASAP. You never know what you will get though, as it is the owners who furnish the units, not the agency.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location to the beach, harbor and restaurants

Posted Mar 3, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Very convenient hotel that has great access to several sightseeing spot, like aquarium and harbor. Very nice beach we watched whales playing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Extremely Noisy

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Deal with noise issues !! Serious stuff, people go there for climate and peace and quiet.
As indicated above the hotel was respectable and clean, but extremely noisy, you could hear people talking as if they were standing 10 ft away from you, hear them snaring..... never got one good nights rest on the entire vacation, Never again for me !! Yours Sincerely Ed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Great location.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Love the location of this condo. Each unit is individually owned, so they will vary. FANTASTIC beach directly across the street with FABULOUS snorkelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com