Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by reece from Oahu, Hawaii

Lovely gem in Kihei

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The entire property was well maintained. The pool area was spacious with plenty of pool side loungers. The condo was comfortable and clean.
Cons: Ha! The ONLY complaint we had were the bed pillows. They were like sleeping on a brick. We didn't let it ruin the trip. We bought cheap pillows!
Location: There are restaurants and shopping within walking distance. A great beach is directly across the street. Perfect for watching a Maui sunset.
When we pulled onto the property we were immediately pleased with the grounds and knew we had made the right decision to enjoy our Maui vacation at Kamaole Sands. The condo was better than the web site advertised. It had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We will definitely be returning and recommend to our friends and family for future visits.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Will not return

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Worn down rooms matching expectations of a budget facility. Staff very un-interested, seems to want to leave themself. After two weeks on Hawaii islands, ranking the value/money, this hotel was last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, close to,restaurant, stores, and beach.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
It was very relaxing. Surroundings are beautiful. Great for kids to run around and great bbq's. Love the fact it is close to the beach, stores, and restaurants. There are a few things that need attention. Not sure how old the queen size bed was but it felt like I was sleeping on a trampoline. Always woke up early from a sore back because we could feel the springs. The sheets were way to small for a queen size. The wicker furniture needs major dusting. Dust lay in between all the layers. I sneezed every time we sat in them. However, We love Kamaole Sands and will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from Upland, CA

A little disappointing.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Great location and very nice grounds.
Cons: Axcess to pool towels, bring the spa temperture down to a reasonable level.
Our room was clean but kind of threadbare, I know these units are generally privately owned but this unit seemed old and not in the best repair, cabinets in kitchen and bathrooms were excessively worn and only minimally equipped. The spa was kept at 105 degrees every time I wanted to use it, I believe this temperature to be excessive, I brought this to the attention of the attendent who reduced it but when I returned the next day it was back at 105 degrees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything we wanted

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Right across the street from excellent snorkelling - we swam with turtles.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place. But deceptive marketing on room.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Convenient to the beach
Location: Plenty of shopping and the beach is right across the street
We booked this room through Expedia. (Which I would never do again). The pictures of the room on Expedia showed a beautiful, clean, carpeted room with a spiral staircase up to a loft. It was marketed as a "1br, 2 ba" condo. When we arrived, we were given something completely different. A 2 bd, 2ba that looked tired and dated. When we said that this wasn't the condo that we booked, the front desk was no help and said that they had "upgraded" us. And that all the units with the spiral staircases were on a different floor, and none were available. And that we would have to take it up with Expedia. They said that Expredia had the wrong information because those units were all 2br, 2ba. Not 1br, 2ba like we had booked. We contacted Expedia who said that the information that they had gotten from the condo was wrong. They offered us a $50 gift certificate for a future booking with them....Fat chance. I would never book with Expedia again. We aren't sure if the info from Kamaole Sands was given incorrectly to Expedia, or if Expedia posted the wrong picture of the condo available..... but this was for my 50th birthday, and extrememly disappointing that neither Kamaole Sands nor Expedia stepped up to make it right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant experience!

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, clientele, size of condo and common areas.
Location: We enjoyed several nearby restaurants.
Good rate, nice location, clean and quiet condo, and more than expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mamaleguas from Canada

Hit and MISS quality

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: close to the beach
Cons: upkeep of our unit
Location: very close to the beach
The resort is actually not all that bad if you can LUCK out and get a good unit. Ours however was very run down and badly in need of a FULL renovation. The sofabed was badly warped and my kids cut their legs on it. The kitchen only had 1 pot that was barely large enough to make 1 can of soup. The DVD player didn't work. The ceiling fans wobbled and hummed (AC didn't reach to the bedroom at all). There were bugs in the master bathroom. Others in our extended party had better luck and their units were better. The location is the best part of the resort. Being minutes away on foot from a great family friendly beach made it worth while. If we go again, we will definitely deal directly with condo owners to ensure we get an updated, clean, and functional unit.
3 out of 5
by Ed from WA State

Great location with good beach access.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Cons: An increase in frequency of housekeeping. A better equipped unit (kitchen equipment and beach equipment w/ beach towels).
With increases in price we have decreases in service. Cleaning once every 5 days is Spartan given the dust in the air. Furnishings were sparse with no beach equipment or towels. Cleaning staff and grounds staff were pleasant but restricted to minimal services by management. Great location with the potential to be an outstanding economy resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by san from san francisco

Excellent location. Across from beach.

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Overall nice complex. Perfect location. Condo assigned to us was dated. We heard from others in the complex that their condo had been remodeled. So it depends which condo you end up with. But overall this is a perfect location and complex has excellent aminities. Love the Kiehe location.