Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redondo Beach, Ca

Hotel is Heaven

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The expanse of everything -the room, the grounds, the building. Very liberating as there were no crowds
Cons: We only at breakfast there and it was just so, so., Not fresh squeezed oj, which one would expect for this money,
Location: Hike and hang by the pool
We only stayed one night after spending the rest of our trip at Kaanapali. After the hustle and crowds of Kaanapali, this was so relaxing. The staff, the room, the grounds were all fantastic. Breakfast was so so, and everything is hyper expensive (were those dollars or pesos?). But you get what you pay for, We will go back again. It could get boring, though if we wanted night life or excitement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Great access to the beach!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
My husband and I came for our honeymoon and were so happy we chose the grand wailea! There was plenty of fun/ entertainment and it also had the best beach access. The hotel lobby also had great live music. We'll definitely be returning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

One night stay

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The staff members we encountered were all very helpful, friendly and accommodating.
We stayed overnight for one night as a treat until our condo was ready the next day. We were given a renovated room which was clean and large with a king-sized bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Beautiful grounds

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Pools beach and staff
Cons: An
Location: Great hotel beach and pools. Fun activities for kids. Great restaurants close by including spaggo!
Excellent hotel. Great pool for our 7 year old. Excellent clean beach... Saw whales each day from the beach. Great walking in the morning. Top notch restaurants in hotel and close by... Great staff. We had an excellent vacation...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aberta

I've travel the world

Posted Dec 29, 2014
The Grand Wailea. What a super place to hang for Christmas My kids loved the pools and the location The view is unreal and the staff was super helpful. Thank you Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Beautiful hotel on Maui

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds. Fabulous beach. Amazing pool system.
Cons: Older rooms need to be refurbished.
My family had a wonderful stay at the Grand Wailea over Christmas. However, we were not told about some pool closures during the first half (7 days) of our stay (14 nights). I believe that Expedia or the hotel should have informed me of this before I spent a lot of money for our vacation. We also were put into the old wing (probably because we booked through Expedia and not directly through the hotel), where the rooms are in serious need of refurbishment. However, many of the rooms throughout the hotel have been refurbished, so I am sure it is just a matter of time that all rooms will be refurbished. Overall, it was a wonderful hotel to stay at. So much for the kids to do. (Mine are 6 and 12.) And the beach at the hotel is unbelievable. We definitely created a lot of family memories.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose CA

Awesome family filled fun resort

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Great time, beautiful beach, awesome fun pools with slides and a water elevator. Walking distance to an outdoor shopping mall. Definitely recommended for families and kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Outstanding Service

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: The level of upkeep for such a big facility was amazing.
Cons: Since it is such a large facility, a better map might be helpful showing all the elevators and where they take you, the outside paths, etc.
I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and to go out of their way to be helpful. It made relaxing that much more possible. They treated you like you were family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Fun hotel for kids. Great water slides and pools and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy bonito hotel con una excelente ubicación.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Las áreas comunes del hotel son muy bonitas, las albercas están geniales; lo único q desentona son las habitaciones q se ven algo viejas pero las camas son bastante comodas. El restaurante insignia Humuhumu... no tiene nada de sobresaliente solo es caro y punto.