Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel ,very close to the beach

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Beautiful like paradise hotel So much fun and we were so happy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Great resort for families with kids!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pools with lazy river, water slides, water elevator and rope swing were great. Our 5 yr old son had a blast, as did we. Beach was really close, clean, well kept and staff were all great. Pools were under-going some much needed maintenance so were only partially opened during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Great pool. Terrible food.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Great pool. Terrible pool hours. 10am-5pm. Which is super weak when you come from the mainland and the time is rolled back 3-6 hours. The food was not good and way overpriced. For my wife and 9year old daughter and I to eat lunch it was always at least $130. which wouldn't be bad if the food was good. It was average at best. Other than the pool I dont see why it was so highly rated.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

YOU DON'T GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
Be prepared to walk..A LOT especially if you don;t pony up the upgrade and are condemned to the Molokini Tower. Like other reviewers I feel like its more of a motel than a 5 star hotel up there. Nevertheless, the beds were comfortable but sheets were not changed daily. When you're at a beach, no matter how much you shower sand ends up in the bed. There were only 2 places to get breakfast, the cafe or the Grand Dining Room. The cafe offers $20 egg sandwich's and the Grand Dining room offers a buffet consisting of boxed cold cereal for $31.50. If they did an omelet bar for $31.50 I could on board with that. Many children stay here and you can practically smell the urine in the pool but the adults only pool was quite nice. The hotel staff were all friendly with the exception of the bartenders. The night club wasn't open during our entire stay and although we went in late September many activities in Lahaina were not available due to it being "out of season". For the money I spent, I wouldn't go back...for half of what I spent, I would probably return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Last stop on Honeymoon

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The Staff, the location and the BEACH!
Cons: We had ants in our room on the counter just outside the bathroom area. Hard to believe that staff didn't see them when they cleaned.
Location: Monkeypod Kitchen is a great restaurant nearby for everyone and the Shops at Wailea are just down the road. Easy access to the main roads to Lahaina
My husband and I spent five nights at the Grand Wailea in Maui for the tail end of our honeymoon and had an amazing time. Great location in Maui, beautiful beach at this resort, staff was helpful, friendly and accommodating and gave great advice. Bar staff at Botero Bar are super friendly and like to get to know you. Hotel is huge and a little confusing to make your way around at first but after that it's fairly simple. We ate at two restaurants at the hotel, Tropics Bar and Grill and Humuhumunukunukuapua'a. I preferred the latter...and still can't pronounce it. All in all, we loved Maui the most.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, QC

Expensive hotel, will overcharge everything.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Clean Pools are great Convention center
Cons: Wifi Prices Restaurants
I was there with a convention, extended my stay. The hotel is very big, clean, well maintained. The biggest problems is the constant overcharging. 30$ for valet parking overnight, 25$ resort taxes, 30$ room service breakfast. Internet connection is a hit of miss experience, full wifi and unable load anything, multiple devices had similar outcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Wonderful place to stay. The staff was unbelievably nice and the accommodations are top notch. Can't wait to return!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for honeymooners

Posted Sep 26, 2014
My husband and I stayed at the resort for our honeymoon. The staff is very friendly, the spa and the restaurants are incredible. I would highly recommend dining at Humuhumu for dinner and be sure to make your reservation for sunset time. The only annoyance was the super slow Wi-Fi and the long waits at the valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

Weekend getaway

Posted Sep 24, 2014
The grand Wailea is a beautiful property. The grounds are well kept, quiet, and good for couples or family time. We were granted a 2pm checkout no problem at checkin. The pool areas are the best! We aren't a really outdoorsy family, so we look for a resort where we can relax on property. I loved how they had an in pool bar, and you could swim around with your drink. The breakfast buffet was good, loved the bottomless mimosa. What would make this resort perfect would be if they fixed the service speed, and staffing levels. At valet it was always a long wait to get our car, when another quiet entrance of the hotel has lots of people standing around. Room service took over an hour, we ordered 3 things at 1030 p, not really dinner rush. At the bar in the pool it was so busy, and there was one bartender ALL day, not even a bar back. At breakfast, nobody checked on us, we had to get up and find a waiter. This irritated me to have to waste time waiting all weekend for everything I needed. Especially when it isn't cheap to stay there and food prices are very high. When we did get help, employees were kind and professional, but knowing how slow service is, don't know if I'll go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Beautiful hotel and HUGUE!!! Had the garden view at the lagoon area and it was great!!! LOVE the pools and slides, so many it never feels crowed. On the down side the food prices at the hotel are very high but they have the shops at grand Wailea at walking distance, 10 min walk with great places for food and shopping specially things to buy for your love ones. I definately recommend this hotel specially if you are with your loved one but us also great for families :)