Ratings based on 766 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Fabulous resort, excellent customer service!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Excellent and prompt customer service, huge room and overall excellent customer experience. The rooms were like small apartments and very comfortable
Cons: I can't think of anything to improve.
Location: Excellent snorkeling off of the beach, close to other public beaches and smaller strip malls for anything you may need during your trip.
Excellent resort, friendly staff and great customer service. The location has amazing snorkeling right off of the hotel's waterfront beach and the restaurant had excellent food. I thought this resort was well worth the price and everything about our stay was great, I would stay here again. The spa was also fabulous. Also be sure to take advantage of the concierge services, they had great ideas and were happy to plan our days out with fun things to do that we otherwise would not have experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds, england

Fabulous time

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The complex is right on the beech but it also had a great pool area and other facilities. The apartments have everything you could want to cater for yourself and the BBQ areas outside are a nice touch. We found that the location was excellent for access to many things. For those that don't want to cook, dukes provided really nice good and cocktails and there were loads of restaurants a short drive or walk away. That said, the real star of the show is Maui itself. What a magical place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great resort for families

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Amenities, maid service, cleaniness.
Cons: None
Location: Snorkeling, Whaler's Village, golf, Lahaina, walking/jogging path
We stayed 9 nights at Honua Kai and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were roomy, modern, clean and full of amenities, including a full kitchen. The huge balcony is great to enjoy a family meal. We cooked several meals at the community grills but some units have private grills on the balcony. How cool is that? Room also comes with washer/dryer which is a must for families. The pools are geared towards kids and features a small water slide. The jacuzies are nice. The small market offers coffee drinks and bake goods which is convenient in the morning. Maid service is provided every other day which is great. The beach offers very good snorkeling even though its a ways north of Black Rock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

Perfect Vacation Spot

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location, oceanview, well appointed condos.
Cons: Fitness center needs some TLC.
Location: Close to Lahaina. If you like water sports and activities, you can't beat this place.
This is a wonderful vacation spot. The condos were well appointed, clean and spacious. We had a 2 room suite with an ocean view. It was paradise every day. My kids loved the 3 pools and direct access to the beach. Duke's Restaurant is on the property, so it was super easy to grab a bite or a drink while lounging poolside. I used the spa, which was lovely, and the fitness center. If I had a complaint, it was the fitness center. Some of the machines were broken (which means waiting around) and the room was really hot and stuffy since it had no AC. Overall, this was the best vacation we ever had, and I'd go back tomorrow if I could!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second time to this nice hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Great location, big clean rooms, nice pool area
Cons: response to complaints and service around the pool
Overall this is a good hotel with spacious rooms and located on a nice property near the beach and and short drive to Lahaina and Whalers Village. Our only concern was that booking as an Expedia VIP member we were expecting a better located room not one over looking a parking lot. Expedia and the hotel did take action but we expected a flawless performance. In addition an important value is high speed internet in the room as I have too keep in touch with my office. We complained numerous times to the hotel that the internet was unworkable in our room. No action was taken throughout the 7 days and we finally discovered that the WiFi unit on the ceiling was broken, we also reported this but again no action. So bottom line we were disappointed with these two issues despite the hotel overall being good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suisun City, Ca

Want to come back again!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: We want to come back...and we loved having a beach access right there, Duke's restaruant...and kitchen/washer/dryer. very comfortable room
Cons: housekeeping could be every day instead of every other day..pool area people were a little agressive on selling products
Location: Wonderful location! Great beaches...not far from Lahaina town...has a grocery store nearby...
This is our 3rd time on Maui and we would love to come back to this hotel again. Very comfortable room, bed was awesome and even the sofa bed for our son was good. Loved full kitchen so we could cook and store all our drinks in a big fridge...the fridge even makes ice! That is a plus in my book. Also loved the washer/dryer in our unit so we could dry our swimsuits w/o worry. Loved the patio...we ate on the patio a few nights and loved it! The pools were awesome and best pools in any hotel we've ever stayed at...even my husband who is temp. sensitive went in. Our son loved the slide and lazy river pool. Beautiful beach for just sitting , swimming and great snorkeling spot right there at the hotel! (note: rent from boss frog's ..not the stand at pool..they are overpriced and try to sell you products you may not want to buy) We loved having breakfast at Duke's right there at hotel: a little pricey..but about the same as other places around there...it was delicious and we loved seeing the ocean as we ate. They also have the best hamburgers, nachos and calamari!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Very nice resort on the beach.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: It had all the amentities with beautiful pools and landscaping. It was located right on the beach with beautiful sunsets.
Cons: I wish they had chairs and umbrellas on the beach.
Location: It was a very close to everything, grocery store, restaurants, shopping and the beach.
We reviewed this resort for a couple of years before we actually decided to book our trip and the resort was even better then we expected. We will definitely stay at Honua Kai again if we return to Maui. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Gorgeous Resort

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms, pools, beach access
Cons: The lanai area can get very windy, but that could just be the area weather.
Location: Road to Hana, paddle boards, jet skis, snorkeling
Beautiful pools, great service, awesome new rooms complete with: washer/dryer, granite counters, and all kitchen necessities. The BBQ was awesome and a store was located very close to help provide food and drinks for the trip (we are a family of 5). We really enjoyed the beach walk and having Dukes located on site for a meal or poolside drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel close to beach!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Big room,big balcony, big bathroom,and with full kitchen. The suite with 2 plate screen TV are differently in the living room and the bed room.
Cons: Need some salt and sugar in the kitchen.
Location: Several different beach parks and golf fields, shopping centers. A famous Japanese restaurant is within 10 miles.
Awesome! Our family three people with 6 nights staying, we were all happy and felt comfortable. Open and spacious lobby bring us fresh breath from the sea. it is just several steps going to beach from hotel. Long´╝îwide and clean beach is clearly by marine blue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Hotel with great room accommodations

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: It provides everything you need as you're at home
Cons: Fitness center should be set up in both buildings.
Location: Lahaina front street is not too far away and you can find lots of interesting things there. Definitely try the shave ice and visit the Banyan Tree
We stayed in Honua Kai for our last two nights at Maui. We previously stayed in Wailea area and we loved the beach there. The reason we switched to Honua Kai is that we wanted to see the west side of Maui. Honua Kai's room is really nice! We booked a basic room with mountain view which provides a great view of beautiful mountains. We compared the ocean view with what we had at Wailea and we believed we made the right choice because the ocean view wasn't that impressive. The room has full kitchen, silverware, fridge, dishwasher, oven, washer/dryer, etc. Basically everything you need at home is provided properly. We went to local grocery store and got pizza, fruit, drinks, sushi, etc, which saved us lots of money. We also went to nearby famous local restaurants to enjoy real Hawaiian food so we didn't miss anything. The hotel has two big buildings but they share the same beach and fitness center. There's no connection path so you'll have to walk out of the building to go to the other which makes it difficult to go exercise in the evening. We didn't have a great experience with the check-in staff. We arrived at 3PM but were told the room wasn't ready. The staff told us the room is guaranteed to be ready by 4 and if anytime sooner she's going to call me. We waited until 4 but there was no update at all. Finally we went to the counter again and they immediately said the room is ready. It just showed that the staff didn't really care and we had to fight for our own rights.