Ratings based on 977 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alameda, ca

Just what I expected

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of out 2-week Maui trip. It was a great, "giant resort" experience - great staff, comfy digs, kids LOVED the pool experience, mom loved the organic food shop, dad loved the poolside umbrella drinks. :) Spendy, but that's to be expected in a big ol' Maui resort, no?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Beautiful hotel and resort, not crowded and very family friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

New hotel, good view from balconies

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We had a good time, the pools could have been a bit larger, was hard to find a spot, good snorkeling at the beach
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Nice enough not good enough

Posted Apr 11, 2015
We stayed for a week and it was a daily struggle to get a sun lounge by the pool. People would put a towel on a chair and disappear for hours - the promised monitoring system wasn't very efficient. The beach location is lovely but very windy here. The fold out bed was terribly uncomfortable - we complained after 4 nights of trying - putting mattress on the floor didn't even help. They brought us roll out singles - better but still pretty poor. Dukes was great for lunch and breaky but dinner was disappointing. Only one restaurant to choose from is disappointing for a complex of this size. vicinity to local shops handy and undercover parking great. Rooms kept clean and kitchen was great though providing basics like salt, pepper, tea, sugar would be more useful than martini glasses. On the flip side very well stocked with washing detergents. .. odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Fantastic place.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Pools are awesome so is the beach. It's nice to have options
Cons: Construction site next door at times was loud. We often had to wait for drinks so more waitstaff in pool area would be nice.
Location: Ziplining and whale watching are close by. Golf course just minutes away. Good restaurants in Lahaina
There is something for all ages. Clean, spacious rooms with huge glass doors leading to patio. The grounds are maintained well. Staff was friendly. It is nice to have grills available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect resort for families!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
The pools were perfect for my two boys (age 5 and 8). The poolside servers were efficient and friendly. The bbq's were clean and in great locations. Overall, we had a terrific stay at the Honua Kai!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, alberta

Very nice and sleek condo complex by the beach.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Our family really enjoy it's stay at the resort. Architecture was perfect, spacious rooms and sleek furniture. Great beach for the family. Not sure when it was built, but it looked and fell new. Will definitely stay there if we come back Maui!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom zürich/switzerland

due to late arrival we did not get resort view.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: it is very nice and customer friendly
our flight was cancelled and we had to fly to Seattle and from there to Maui, we arrived nearly at midnight at the Hotel. we didn't get resort view, instead we got mountain view which was noisy from the street traffic. the room was the same as the garden view we've had the Year before, but we did not like the mountain view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Hotel Condition Deteriorating

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Dukes on site, fantastic snorkeling, and great location near grocery and other properties
Cons: Needs a new couch (stained and frayed) and a new handle on the washing machine (broken)
Location: Great location with excellent snorkeling, nice pools, and easy access to restaurants and grocery
We have stayed here before and have loved this hotel. This year it was clear that the property is wearing down and needs reinvestment. Examples include a ton of tile missing in the pools and I the room the couch cushions were both stained and had large holes forming on the seams. Don't get me wrong, the location is fantastic and the property is still beautiful, but we will think twice next time as the reinvestment next door at the Westin is clearly outpacing the Honua Kai presently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, B.C.

Beautiful View & hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The doors to the lanai opened the length of the room. Can't get closer to Kaanapali beach.
Cons: Change of sheets every 4 days but in 10 days we received it once - not a big deal though.
We have a boy -13 and girl 10. We all loved this place. To the left of the hotel while facing the beach there is a great spot for swimming without pebbles, snorkeling on the reefs - swam with turtles, and boogie boarding. We booked with Expedia and this hotel has VIP member including free upgrades. Not sure if that's why we got it but we received a beautiful 1 bedroom almost ocean front upgrade from studio partial ocean. We could watch the sunset and whales from our lanai! Top of the line appliances including blender! Loved everything! Our kids didn't use the pool much but they looked beautiful and the towel service was great! Food at Dukes was ok.