Ratings based on 1,067 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice place for families

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Honua Kai is great for families. The rooms are comfortable, having a full kitchen was great and best of all the washer and dryer! The pool gets very crowded early, so if your planning on a pool day, you should plan to be poolside by 9am. When booking your room, don't fall for the different views! I upgraded (or at least I thought I did) from a mountain view to a resort view, and totally had a mountain view! I didn't complain because I also had a nice view of the ocean from my balcony. Overall this was a pretty nice place and I would likely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Perfect for our family!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
It was close to the beach and the room was well appointed for our needs. No complaints from our experience. Would recommend to all!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Small bathroom

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Nice staff and close to beach...the bathroom counter was really small hardly room for putting items on the counter and we had to call to complain that the water out of the shower head was stinging us they sent someone to fix it but I don't know what they did it was still the same.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great if you are traveling with family

Posted Jul 18, 2015
...But my husband and I traveled alone. We don't typically run into snags, but had to switch rooms upon arrival due to being near the "trash" room, in which the chutes had backed up. The hotel itself is in a great location and has its own beach, but there are kids EVERYWHERE. Not a great place to be if you want some nice quiet time. Some of the staff were outstanding, and some were very rude. Several things about our room were also annoying - for example, the lighting in the bathroom was very poor. Your room also isn't cleaned but every other day, which we weren't aware of. Overall, it's a pretty nice facility, but there wasn't anything that really "wowed" us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from OH

Downside of Stay

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The large furnished balcony off each unit was a treat and the full kitchen, and washer/dryer in each unit was a plus.
Cons: Getting the adult pool up and running.
Location: Great location close to grocery stores, fine dining, shopping and golf courses.
We were not informed that the adult pool was closed indefinately! What this meant for us was attempting to find a spot to relax at one of the other pools filled with children/babies, water toys and lots of noise. We elected to pay for beach chairs and umbrella and relax at the beach. The downside to this was the staff takes down the umbrellas and removes the beach chairs daily around 4:30 PM which I feel is too early especially considering you don't have the luxury of the adult pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Nice properties, beach nearby, good clean pools. Hotel staff was very good an courteous. Lots of things to do in the close vicinity. Could of cons: poor internet service. Most of the time it was barely moving, very slow. We complained and the issue has bot been fixed. Also we experienced a bad smell for a day or so - from the processing plant nearby. Overall, very good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for Family Stay

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Stayed here for one week with our 2 year old and 7 year old. Great 1 bedroom suite with lots of room, full kitchen with oven and microwave. Also washer and dryer which were handy. Close to pool which has a waterslide and also to beach! Not overly busy resort compared to others that we walked by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Woodlands, TX

save your seats early -- says it all

Posted Jul 6, 2015
We are beach people seems how we have a pool at home in Texas. This is a good thing because the pool is way over crowded with people saving the better seats each morning at the crack of dawn. The bad news is there is no service on the beach period so you have to carry your towels. You have to carry the chairs that you pay to rent. You have to carry your beach bags and ocean toys. And you have to carry a cooler that you have to purchase so that you have water or cocktails in the 90 degree heat. Carrying all that stuff at a HUGE hotel gets really old really fast. This was too much work for "a feel of home on vacation". The washer and dryer are tiny and work for crap as well. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is well cared for and the 3 bedroom ocean front rooms is wonderful --- you just don't get enough of relaxation :-(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice property with 3 pools, 2 o which were closed

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: decor, location, staff
Cons: let incoming guests know of pool closings
Location: very scenic drives, town of Lahaina
Nice property with 3 pools, 2 of which were closed during our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brasília Brasil

Hotel/apart

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Excelente hotel para quem quer passar um tempo em maui. Tem todos os confortos de um hotel e ainda cozinha, máquina de lavar e secar. No fim das contas vale muito a pena. Especialmente se ficar muitos dias