Ratings based on 926 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton, canada

Nice comfortable rooms.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Great week stay. Kids loved pools and hot tubs and proximity to beach. Big rooms. Comfortable. Dukes wasn't that great and food was expensive. Little coffee/gourmet shop was also very expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom usa

What a difference a year makes!

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The pool staff, bell hop, restaurant staff, all very friendly. The beach is great, pools are great. Concierge was helpful. walking distance to store.
Cons: Be clear that the second floor shares a lanai before you get up to the room, especially if you are with children. Better detail what resort view means
Location: Close to store, beach walk, snorkeling, water slide that is great for kids and adults.
If I were writing this review this time last year I wouldn't have had a negative thing to say, which is why I chose the Honua Kai for our family again this year, unfortunately things weren't so great this time. My heart sank the moment we walked in to our "resort view" room, I booked a resort view room last year through a different web site and we had a view of the resort, the pool, grass, a little bit of ocean, this time we got the maintenance parking lot, public parking lot, the highway and the valet. As the bell hop unloaded our bags he informed us that the entire second floor shares a lanai, not what I wanted to hear while traveling with my small child. Immediately brought this up with the staff, I was offered another room with the same view on the third floor, which was unacceptable at the rate we were paying per night, a ground floor unit which was unacceptable to me for safety reasons. Finally we were offered a true "resort view" room which they called "ocean view", I suppose if you walked to the very end of the lanai and stood on your tip toes and looked over the palm trees, yeah sure. I had booked a king bed and two single beds but after the stress from check in we didn't bother asking for the beds to be split, so my mother and mother in law had to spend a week in the same bed. Any encounter we had with the front desk was unpleasant, every question was answered roughly, even simple questions. We stay at a lot of hotels and have never experienced this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Awesome

Posted Jan 28, 2015
I love this place, calm, resort feeling all around. Service is great. My 5year old had a blast at the swimming pools. We were sporting whales close to the beach every day. I want to go back, some day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Family friendly, close to beach, beautiful view!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Everything! Especially the great towel service! We exchanged wet towels for dry ones when ever needed!
Location: Road to Hana, many beaches to watch surfers, whales, turtles swimming, shopping, golf
Enjoyed the beach, ocean, whales, pools, Dukes Restaurant, all within a few minutes walk! Great place to stay! Spacious three-bedroom, three-bathroom, beautiful living and dining space. Complete kitchen with everything you need!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Excellent choice.....especially for families

Posted Jan 25, 2015
This resort is perfect for families! Overall resort would rate B. Suites actually condos.....nice layouts, nice bathroom layout and amenities, great kitchen, walker/dryer for emergencies...in room, beds just ok...a bit on hard side (definitely not MARRIOTT mattress, but all other room amenities spot on...including good cable channel selections and blue ray machines....topped off with great large balcony areas perfect for rest, relaxation or bbq. Nice pool areas, but over run with families with small children. One beach front restaurant for all resort....I would suggest passing unless just a tide you over snack or cocktail. Excellent concierge service (thank you Sara), excellent coffee & snack...quick grab shop. Good location for whalers village (4 min), Front st (20 min), great eateries, grocery store behind resort or Safeway (15 min), beach areas...right there...golf (next door). Don't forget to a calculate resort fee in your cost calculation. Added 500 to check out tab. Cheers
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom k

Ok hotel, very nice pool and small rooms.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
We stayed at this hotel from Jan 10 to 23, 2015. We have stayed at numerous other properties in Maui and we have to say this was the worst one to date. Some of the reasons for this negative review include the extremely small rooms especially the bathroom which had a terrible shower and absolutely no counter space. The quality of housekeeping was terrible. They only came every other day and did not actually clean or replenish supplies. For over $500 per night I would have expected much more. Some of the more positive features were the little grocery store that had great staff and really good food and coffee. The prices were not cheap but the quality was very good. The pool was also top notch. This will be our last time booking here and will likely return to the Westin Villas for our visit later this year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saudia Arabia

Relaxing trip with family

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Enjoyable trip and the hotel's location save your time where the supermarket is close from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MT

Beautiful resort, great views of the ocean

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Beautiful views of the ocean and mountains. Dukes was awesome! Great service. Nice rooms Only downfall is they don't tell you there are extra fees that need paid at checkout, unpleasant surprise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful condo

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Honua Kai is a large, modern, 2 building complex located on North Kanapaali beach. The condos are luxurious and large. The grounds, pools, etc. are very nice. Dukes restaurant is located on the grounds near the beach. This is one of the nicest places we've stayed anywhere in the world. We had a partial ocean view on the 3rd floor and we could see the water fine from our balcony.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

パーシャルオーシャンビューなのに???

Posted Jan 20, 2015
POVなのに、通された部屋は、1階の薄暗いビルに囲まれた部屋でした 今まで、3回利用させていただきましたが、今回は、最悪でした ハウスキーピングも、4日間の滞在中、1回しか入らず、快適とは言えない状況でした もう、リピートは、無いかな 残念