Ratings based on 1,073 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Excellent Facilities

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: They should consider renovating the pools during the off season.
Location: Maui is a pretty small island, so there are plenty of really god options close by.
We absolutely loved our stay at this hotel. We had a two room accommodation, which was basically at two room condo. It was huge and fit our family of 6 very well. The kitchen was superb and well stocked. The pools, accommodations, tours, restaurant were all top notch. We have stayed at a number of different resorts in Maui and this was our most comfortable by a long distance. I highly recommend this location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: amenities, cleanliness, space and location.
Cons: Customer service reps can be more friendly/welcoming especially to people who have questions about hotel service/activities rather than act impatient.
Location: About 10 minutes drive to Front Street, beach is a walk away and there's a restaurant on site.
Hotel is clean, comfortable and spacious. There's a living room area with t.v. and a separate sofa bed room with another t.v. and closet in addition to the master bedroom. Kitchen appliances and amenities were modern and clean and the washer/dryer were tucked in a hidden closet close to the entrance hallway so you don't have to hear both if it's on while you're sleeping. The bathroom is very clean and they use Aveda products! The beach is just a few feet away from the hotel and it's secluded and private. The Customer service reps particularly the concierge can be a bit more friendly but the hotel itself is comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, Ca

Great beach Resort

Posted Jul 30, 2015
The Honua Kai is situated on a gorgeous beach which has excellent snorkeling. We were able to see different species of fish, eel's, and took great video underwater with a turtle. Hotel was under renovation while we were there. My only negative was that the towels were not changed daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park, CA

Very Nice stay

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Liked the fact that you have everything you need in your room. Washer, refrigerator, etc, The open glass doors to the patio outside were Great.
Cons: Maybe one other restaurant.
Location: I like the grocery store that is close. I like the fact there isn't as much traffic at this hotel. Everything seemed 8-15 minutes away. Not too far
Good location, far enough away from people and close enough if you feel social. Rooms are good for long stays or with families. Beach not far away and swimming pools are kid friendly. We had a bottom floor room and it was nice to just walk out the back patio into the grass to the pool. Kids had fun running around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you want to relax by the pool go somewhere else

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Main pool shut down for months. No land to reopen. Expedia never told me this. It ruined the vacation. Asked for a late check out and was told no and hotel is at 60 percent occupancy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice place for families

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Honua Kai is great for families. The rooms are comfortable, having a full kitchen was great and best of all the washer and dryer! The pool gets very crowded early, so if your planning on a pool day, you should plan to be poolside by 9am. When booking your room, don't fall for the different views! I upgraded (or at least I thought I did) from a mountain view to a resort view, and totally had a mountain view! I didn't complain because I also had a nice view of the ocean from my balcony. Overall this was a pretty nice place and I would likely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Perfect for our family!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
It was close to the beach and the room was well appointed for our needs. No complaints from our experience. Would recommend to all!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Small bathroom

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Nice staff and close to beach...the bathroom counter was really small hardly room for putting items on the counter and we had to call to complain that the water out of the shower head was stinging us they sent someone to fix it but I don't know what they did it was still the same.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great if you are traveling with family

Posted Jul 18, 2015
...But my husband and I traveled alone. We don't typically run into snags, but had to switch rooms upon arrival due to being near the "trash" room, in which the chutes had backed up. The hotel itself is in a great location and has its own beach, but there are kids EVERYWHERE. Not a great place to be if you want some nice quiet time. Some of the staff were outstanding, and some were very rude. Several things about our room were also annoying - for example, the lighting in the bathroom was very poor. Your room also isn't cleaned but every other day, which we weren't aware of. Overall, it's a pretty nice facility, but there wasn't anything that really "wowed" us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from OH

Downside of Stay

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The large furnished balcony off each unit was a treat and the full kitchen, and washer/dryer in each unit was a plus.
Cons: Getting the adult pool up and running.
Location: Great location close to grocery stores, fine dining, shopping and golf courses.
We were not informed that the adult pool was closed indefinately! What this meant for us was attempting to find a spot to relax at one of the other pools filled with children/babies, water toys and lots of noise. We elected to pay for beach chairs and umbrella and relax at the beach. The downside to this was the staff takes down the umbrellas and removes the beach chairs daily around 4:30 PM which I feel is too early especially considering you don't have the luxury of the adult pool area.