Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from denver

Worth the stay!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: View, rooms are great, and food at Dukes!
Cons: Housekeeping with trash, coffee more frequent.
Location: Excellent location. Cars are easy to use at location. walk on the boardwalk is great. right on the beach! Pool is excellent. family friendly!
At first, we didn't like our room, but Kyle (MOD) was very very helpful and upgraded us to a 2bd, 2b suite with ocean view. This made the Trip! We would never have spent as much time at the facility or at Duke's (restaurant) if we didn't have a better room location. This made the difference for an excellent stay. Food at Duke's is very good and reasonable expense. We ate there 5 of the 7 nights and had lunches and snacks too. Conceirge was informative. We took a glass bottom boat ride and deep sea fishing charter (no fish for 6 hrs though :( The only negative, and i know this is nickpicking, is the over zealousness of the staff trying to put a wristband on you. I'm not sure how prealent it is for other people not staying at the hotel to use the pool (which is amazing!), but it was a tad of a nuisance. Overall, you will be happy with your stay, service, and condition of this hotel. Mahalo. scott & suzanne, Denver
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend my friend

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Facility
Cons: Customer service level, concierge team
Horrible customer service , they parked my car in the valet and returned it completely damaged. Rude enough they did not assume responsibility. I would expect more from 500$ hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville,tn

Very nice suite

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Nice mtn view,roomy lanai,state of art kitchen. Too soft pillows. Wonderful,responsive staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay barely

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: beach
Cons: Prices of room was to much pool was in poor shape with tiles missing on bottom (scraped my tow) room maintenance (2of 4 bulbs out in bathroom)
Location: beach was the best part with good snorkeling
We did not like the hotel front desk was just okay promises of keeping families in same tower was not ready at check in took some time and then room was not what we had expected. Pool needs tile repair i scraped my toe still healing 7 days later. Late check out was to pricey. dukes was too expensive Staff seemed helpful and responsive but not the best we have seen. Will not return and not recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prevost, Quebec

Very nice condo close to a fantastic beach

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Very nice apartment, well maintained and clean
Cons: Shortcut to the parking lot!
Location: Walk on the beach, bicycle, golf, snorkeling, surfing. There's a very large Times food store you can walk to in just a few minutes.
We just loved the Honua Kai Resort. Nice apartment, very clean, great facilities, nice pools, gardens. The beach is great, you can walk for hours either on the walk path or straight on the beach. It's simply paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Fabulous Hotel Great Sandy Beach

Posted Sep 10, 2014
We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Villa. It was neat and clean. We loved the Lanai and the full window doors that opened all the way, so you can enjoy a full view. We snorkeled right off the beach. The pools were great. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel and location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Good quality of facilities and room
Location: Lahaini nearby offering good shops and restaurants
Good quality accommodation and resort. Beach nice too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from medford oregon

Nice place to stay

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Location was ideal very central to many activities. We enjoyed the outdoor BBQs for grilling with friends. Will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Great condo-style resort near the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Perfect for families.
Cons: Really, my only complaint is that the kitchen could have been better stocked with dishware/cookware (and basic condiments like salt/pepper).
Location: Right on the beach. About 15 minutes from downtown Lahaina.
Honua Kai is a perfect Maui spot for families. The location can't be beat. The beach is gorgeous with good snorkeling and good waves for body surfing/boogie boarding -- enough waves to be fun, not too rough to be intimidating to the kids. We had a one-bedroom suite, with a master bedroom and bathroom which had a big tub, separate shower, and two sinks. There was a pullout sofa bed in the living room. The kitchen is great -- nice up-to-date appliances. As for dishware and cookware, it wasn't stocked as well as we would have liked, but it was adequate. Our lanai was spacious and the accordion doors allow you to take full advantage of the view. All of the staff were friendly, especially the guys at the bell desk (one of them gave my kids two boogie boards that another family had left behind). The pools, including waterslide and waterfalls, were also terrific. We would definitely stay there again if we went back to Maui.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice, but not as good as our first visit.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
This was our second stay, and this place is showing some wear as in stains on the carpet and furniture. Our worst complaint was we were told a hour before that we'd have to leave our room for the day because they were coming in to spray for termites. I was so mad about that because I had no choice but to do it. I hate chemicals and have a daughter with lots of chemical sensitivities. We should have been given something for this, but nothing.