Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rocklin

Very nice rooms, great location.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Loved the location, the full kitchen, washer and dryer, view, the grounds were very well maintained.
Cons: About the only thing I would improve would be adding a couple of refreshment kiosks. Our only options were he restaurant or the market.
Location: There is a grocery store in walking distance, although we drove to it. We probably had one of the farthest rooms from the beach and it was not far.
This was our first stay in Maui and picked the Honua Kai based on reviews. At first we were confused when we got in our room that we requested a "resort" view, it looked more like the "mountain" view side in the back. From our 6th floor room we actually had a mountain, resort (backside of the resort), and you could actually see the ocean a little bit, not the beach but the water. The backside also has a huge plus of watching the sunrise over the mountain, as well as being more private than the rooms facing inward towards the pools or the other rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chandler, AZ

Beachfront Oasis

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Proximity to 3 mile beachfront & ability to snorkel along the shoreline.
Location: Road to Hana didn't disappoint but we also really enjoyed the remote mountains & valleys if you head north from the hotel. Don't miss Iao Valley!
Everything you and your family need to enjoy a peaceful stay in Maui! The grounds are well maintained in beautiful & colorful tropical style - lush Hawaiian vegetation, green flowering ground cover, stretches of lawn landscape, Hibiscus plants bursting with red and yellow flowers. A boardwalk follows the beachfront across the property and continues throughout several resorts nearby. We didn't use the 3 (?) pools on the property (one was being remodeled while we we visiting) because we have a pool at home in Arizona and were looking for the ocean experience! However, the property pools looked lovely, with covered cabanas available, what appeared to be a small, winding lazy river and a couple of waterfalls. But did I mention the beachfront? It was the standout here - amazing & hard to beat! When you travel to Hawaii you could be on a lava rock-encrusted beachfront - lovely, but not swim friendly! At Honua Kai Resort we could merely wander out the lovely lobby to walk the 3 mile (or so) stretch of white sand each morning, find exotic fish (& perhaps view a few sea turtles) while snorkeling close to shore, do a bit of mild boogie boarding. Parents, there are no lifeguards. We frequented the friendly, full service coffee shop (special shout-out to Raquel) downstairs. The rooms are well furnished: speedy Internet, large TV's with excellent cable, thanks for providing dishwasher & laundry products so we didn't have to shop for those amenities! We'll definitely return!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Its amazing hotel, except the house keepinng are a bit lazy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Posted May 24, 2015
Great place for the price. Awesome pools and beach Is good and not crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great For Young Kids

Posted May 23, 2015
We had a great stay. The rooms are great, nice kitchens, spacious for a family. We faced the mountains and the view is nice, but the deck was windy. We didn't eat there or really spend time there because of the wind. This locations is great to explore this area, although the resort beach is steep so we would drive north and south to the nearby beaches. We loves our trip and thought we picked the right resort for our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
Friendly staff but one of the pools was under construction for an unknown period of time so was hard to find room by the other pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great place

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Pools, kitchen in rooms, right on the ocean
Location: Short drive from airport. Lots of food and stores near by.
Had a great experience. Nice amazing facility. Rooms had full kitchens and washer/dryer witch made a big difference. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Alberta

Research proves Honua Kai is the best!

Posted May 21, 2015
Last year after hours of research, we decided on the Honua Kai resort and we're very impressed. It was only myself and wife and we stayed around 6 days. We enjoyed it immensely. This year once again I did my extensive research to try to find a comparable to Honua kai experience in maui (just to mix it up) and it led me once again to the Honua Kai. We booked it once again,this time for 19 days and with the whole family. The vacation was unbelievable in every way. A tip is to make your trip more enjoyable is to use their amenities on site they are world class and I travel alot. There are many items and excursions you can book with the concierge from a luau to zip lining... we did them all...crazy fun.. One last funny note: While we were there at the resort I emailed a few people some pictures from the balcony in our room showing the resort with the pools and beautiful palm trees etc. When 2 of them replied they accused me of photo shopping the images from a magazine. I guess it is unbelievable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Great hotel, clean room, nice area

Posted May 21, 2015
Had a great time....will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anaheim, CA

Family of Four Vacation

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Modern look and clean. Beautiful view from balcony.
Cons: Kitchen tools could be better. Had to call for human size cereal bowls...had about 4 mixing bowls. Teflan pan for eggs scratched beyond desirable use.
Location: Super windy!! Was told by others that the tradewinds are unpredictable. However, further south seemed better.
The Honua Kai was a nice looking resort to stay at. First two days of our week trip was perfect. After that it was off-and-on with gusty gusty winds. It put a real damper on the trip to be in such a nice area and not be able to lay out, read a book and have a drink at your side...the winds just didn't make that possible. As well, the balcony glass doors open up completely, making almost the whole wall gone...really nice!! However, the winds didn't allow that either after the first two days. By contrast, in Lahaina the winds were almost non-existent. Also walking over to neighboring Westin (not too far away), the way of the layout somehow died the winds down to a very bearable minimum. Walked back to our place and we were in a whirlwind again. Besides that, it's a very nice looking place and 1 or 2 of the pools were slightly heated making the wind more tolerant. One of the biggest disappointments was the pool slide attendant. My son cannot swim and uses a round floatie. After the first two days of him having a blast on the slide, with me at the bottom ready to catch him (they will not allow two at a time), all days after that they turned him away, stating no floaties allowed on the slide. That was the peak of his fun there and it was taken away. What was the danger? Why did they allow me to go first, me stating very clearly that I would be waiting for him, and then tell him by himself, make him walk all the way back down to tell me he wasn't coming. Not cool.