Ratings based on 940 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waikoloa Hawaii

Family friendly

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Excellent friendly staff members, car rental across, restaurant close by, nice ocean view and lots of activities. I recommend this to all those who really needs to relax. We loved it & will go Honua Kai again♥♥♥
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great time with young kids

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The suite was awesome. View from Lanai was amazing. The location was great - next to the beach. It is 10 min drive to Front street.
Cons: Lower the rental prices for snorkel masks, beach umbrella etc. It is a minor annoyance when you are spending so much on the hotel itself.
Location: It is close to Front street (less than 10 min drive) where we took the atlantis submarine tour. Front street is where the famous luaus are.
We have young kids all 6 and under. They all had great time visiting various pools. 6 yr old also enjoyed the water slide. The beach was right next to the pool. Beach right next to the resort is a bit rocky under the water, but you do get to see fish. We didn't go further but we heard that you could also see turtles too. I would recommend wearing shoes to avoid getting injured if you plan to walk deeper in the water. Our kids didn't go deeper so it was not an issue for them. We were in 2 bed suite with ocean view. It was partial view, but we loved it as we got the view of the pool too. We loved the suite. We could see whales from the lanai every morning. Rooms were spacious and the furniture looked clean and new. The appliances were all Bosh and seemed new too. We were a bit concerned about their cleaning service as it offered every other day only. But it worked out pretty well. We did grocery shopping from whole foods which is right next to OGG airport. Whole foods offered to wrap frozen things in ice packs for free. The Bell service at the hotel had containers to carry groceries. Apparently, everybody does this so the whole system is setup to make this easy. We also hired a nanny from the nanny connection and got a really good nanny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City

Luxury hotel next to the beach

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: We had the partial ocean view 2 bedroom suite. The balcony was great and we ate outside most of the time and the sight to the ocean was good.
Very clean and large rooms, but expensive. But you pay for what you get. Loved the washer and dryer within the suite with complimentary detergent. The only thing I was disappointed in was asking for a two hour extension in checking out of the hotel since our flight was later that evening. They were going to charge $175 just for those two hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Nice property

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Lots of kids running around. Hotel rooms are great with nice appliances. Stayed in a one bedroom 6th floor on the backside essentially overlooking the freeway. If you went out on the lani there was lots of freeway noise. Workout room was nice but there was not enough treadmills. it's a four star. Therefore, expensive. If you can afford it get an ocean view room go for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Canada

Vacation in Paradise

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Room, beachwalk, location on Kaanapali beach
Cons: a longer stay!!! lol
Location: best beaches, incredible beach walk , whale watching, walking distance to a quaint neighborhood,
This was our 4th year in a row. It's fabulous! The nana doors open to a beautiful private lanai with a view of the mountains and sunrise. Peaceful friendly resort.. and having the Aina market in the lobby makes for a great morning coffee. The convenience of having a TIMES grocery store within walking distance is very convenient. The beachwalk!! is a definite MUST SEE and experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hoboken, NJ

Very Nice Stay

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: cleanliness, room size, location
Location: Leoda's restaurant in Olowalu, and Front Street Lahaina.
My wife and I stayed here for four nights in January. We thought the rooms and location were excellent. The grounds are awesome, and the number of pools and landscaping were awesome. I would recommend this stay to anyone looking for time on the west side of Maui. Loved it. Be sure to visit Leoda's in Olowalu for the best breakfast and pies in Maui!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Nice hotel, close to the beach, a little expensive

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: The full kitchen
Cons: Prices (ex. Condo fee on top of room fee)
Location: Close to the beach but only one restaurant in walking distance
Great experience, wish there was more within walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Fantastic Experience!

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is about a 30 minute drive from the Kahalui Airport, but all Kaanapali Beach accomodations are. The sea town of Lahaina is about a 5 minute drive.
We had a two bedroom condo. It was like new! We needed two bedrooms, and compared to renting two hotel rooms, it was a great value. We wouldn't have had a living area and kitchen with two hotel rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is located right on the beach. We saw whales and sea turtles right from the premises. The on-site restaurant-"Dukes" -has a good menu and the prices are comparable to other restaurants in the area. There are numerous pools and hot tubs to choose from. We loved that they didn't ration towels in the pool and beach areas-they always asked how many we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton, canada

Nice comfortable rooms.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Great week stay. Kids loved pools and hot tubs and proximity to beach. Big rooms. Comfortable. Dukes wasn't that great and food was expensive. Little coffee/gourmet shop was also very expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom usa

What a difference a year makes!

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The pool staff, bell hop, restaurant staff, all very friendly. The beach is great, pools are great. Concierge was helpful. walking distance to store.
Cons: Be clear that the second floor shares a lanai before you get up to the room, especially if you are with children. Better detail what resort view means
Location: Close to store, beach walk, snorkeling, water slide that is great for kids and adults.
If I were writing this review this time last year I wouldn't have had a negative thing to say, which is why I chose the Honua Kai for our family again this year, unfortunately things weren't so great this time. My heart sank the moment we walked in to our "resort view" room, I booked a resort view room last year through a different web site and we had a view of the resort, the pool, grass, a little bit of ocean, this time we got the maintenance parking lot, public parking lot, the highway and the valet. As the bell hop unloaded our bags he informed us that the entire second floor shares a lanai, not what I wanted to hear while traveling with my small child. Immediately brought this up with the staff, I was offered another room with the same view on the third floor, which was unacceptable at the rate we were paying per night, a ground floor unit which was unacceptable to me for safety reasons. Finally we were offered a true "resort view" room which they called "ocean view", I suppose if you walked to the very end of the lanai and stood on your tip toes and looked over the palm trees, yeah sure. I had booked a king bed and two single beds but after the stress from check in we didn't bother asking for the beds to be split, so my mother and mother in law had to spend a week in the same bed. Any encounter we had with the front desk was unpleasant, every question was answered roughly, even simple questions. We stay at a lot of hotels and have never experienced this.