Ratings based on 1,618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Beautiful, crowded and expensive

Posted Aug 17, 2014
If you like large, crowded and expensive resorts then this is your place. The grounds were beautiful. The pool was amazing. But if you want a chair...good luck. We were spoiled by the views and vastness of the Wailea Marriott. This place was ok. They definitely attract the masses. Restaurants are pricey even the pool side one and the food was not great. Japango in SD is way better. Hotel is not worth the price in my opinion for those who can and can't afford it. They should have a rating of "is it worth the price". My rating would be much lower!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nice helpful staff
Helpful reception and concierge staff Limited affordable places to eat within hotel If the front desk didn’t give us a 2 for 1 voucher for the breakfast buffet ( only place to eat breakfast other than coffee /snack cafe in lobby) , we would be paying $54.00 dollars for some eggs, fruit and toast. Not sure how large families do it. Pretty expensive for fancier drinks too- $14.00. Encourages clients to buy outside of hotel. Very happy that atheletic facility and classes were included in our room ammenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca.

The grounds are great. The hotel is in disrepair.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The landscaping is lovely.
Cons: The physical plant desperately needs remodeling. The expectations for service should be much higher. We visited the Andaz in Wailea - what a contrast
Location: Lahaina is convenient for restaurants and shopping. Roy's
We were last in Maui in 1985 when the Hyatt was the upscale place to be. We stayed at the stunning Kauai Grand Hyatt last month. Our Maui experience was disappointing: service was pleasant but haphazard; the pool area was noisy and crowded; for us, poolside food service was non-existent - the waitress never asked if we wanted food/drink for the 90 minutes we were there -UNBELIEVABLE; our room was adjacent to the service elevators so there was a constant low level roar; and the room itself was clean but woefully dated - like the hotel itself
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Comfortable hotel with great food options

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We stayed in this hotel for 10 days which had incredible views, excellent staff, spacious rooms, wonderful water pressure and nice amenities. Valet parking was compromised by construction and self parking was expensive considering a resort fee was applied to the bill. We will revisit this property on future stays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by GuestRelationsAssociate, Hotel Management
Michael, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your past stay! I hope that you will come back and visit when you return to Maui. Thanks for your review. Safe travels, Paul R. - Guest Relations Associate
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Construction

Posted Jul 30, 2014
If we new our room was gonna be facing construction we would have stayed at a different hotel !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

Great Resort for a couple of days, but very noisy

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: great pool area. very friendly and knowledgeable concierge service
Cons: Resort staff working in Food & Beverage clearly could use some refresh training in customer service
Location: location is ideal on beach, walking to Black Rock for snorkeling. Major construction going on on resort area (expansion)
Well, not easy to rate such a large resort. Some things were great, others rather not to our expectations. I would say rooms and facilities are ok, pool is great, location is great. Food & Beverage were not meeting our expectations. Jalapeno Restaurant much too expensive and poor service, Bfst super expensive, Steak House under average. Best restaurant and bar was the one on pool area. Costs of food were ok, very friendly staff there. But overall, for sure a place we would go back to for 3 to 5 days max.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Fight for a seat at the pool

Posted Jul 27, 2014
If you enjoy having to fight your fellow guests for a seat at the pool, then this hotel is for you. There are too many people,not enough chairs. If you put your towel on the chair at 7 am, expect a nasty note from the manager. Expect breakfast to take an hour. You should look into the Westin instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

2nd stay here; love the breakfast

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Breakfasts. Location. Pool. Hotel Room.
Cons: The restaurant down by the pool seems to have changed their menu and I didn't feel the food was nearly as good from when we visited 4 yrs ago.
Location: Kaanapali beach. Lahaina. Enough said.
The breakfasts are fantastic - they even had gluten free muffins, but it's definitely worth it to try and get a 2 for 1 deal if you can b/c it can be expensive. The hotel is great, we really enjoy it and it's our favorite hotel to stay out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by GuestRelationsAssociate, Hotel Management
Greetings! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review about your amazing experiences at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. So thrilled you wanted to come back after your first visit and we really enjoy your loyalty to the Hyatt brand. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay! Safe Travels, Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Va

Awesome short visit!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
We were only in Maui for one night and are so happy we chose the Hyatt. The hotel itself is beautiful. The room was spacious for the 4 of us, and the beds were comfy. Although out room was on the side of the hotel closest to the construction next door, we didn't hear a thing. The penguins were too cute and the pool was lots of fun. Getting a chair was a bit of a problem , but we were in the water most of the time, so chairs didn't really matter. The hotel location can't be beat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by GuestRelationsAssociate, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback and kind words! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the penguins. They are adorable! Come back to visit us again very soon! Thanks, Danny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great hotel with a fantastic view.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The pool, with the covered grotto, swim-up bar and waterslide was nice. We probably used to pool as much or more than the beach.
Cons: A hot tub in the pool area would have been nice.
We stayed at the Hyatt Regency last week and loved it! We had a deluxe ocean front view and I must say the view was spectacular. I really enjoyed getting up early, sitting out on the balcony, drinking coffee and watching the surf. The room included breakfast which was a pretty nice buffet. We wouldn't have paid for it - way too expensive - but it was nice since it was included. The room was nice, beds were comfortable and plenty of space for the 3 of us. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by GuestRelationsAssociate, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback on your Hyatt Regency Maui stay. It is fantastic that you were able to enjoy the Deluxe Ocean Front room; it is wonderful to be able to wake up and relax on the balcony overlooking the beautiful blue water. I’m also happy to hear that you felt your room accommodated three people comfortably, and that you were still able to kick back and relax with little effort. I am excited to hear you also had the chance to try out our delicious breakfast buffet, and I’m thrilled you enjoyed it. Thank you for all of your kind words regarding your stay, and I very much hope will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to the Maui area. Best Regards, Allie H. – A Guest Relations Associate