Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Large, clean room. Excellent staff.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Large, clean rooms. Helpful staff. Great location on Kaanapali beach. Free parking. No resort fee.
Cons: Hotel does not have any bars or restaurants. Something modest near the pool would be great.
We stayed in a 2BR 2 bath 2nd floor condo with partial ocean view. Fully equipped kitchen (no food or spices, so bring your own). 4 seater table next to the kitchen with floor to ceiling windows. Large living area with large TV and sofa bed. All rooms have separate thermostats. Kaanapali beach: hotel grounds are right on the beach. This beach is large, clean and has consistent waves that are just large enough for kids to enjoy. There are a lot of other hotels along the beach, along with Whaler's Village (lots of shops and restaurants). Swimming pool: really small, but my guess is that most people come here to use the ocean instead of the pool. If your kids need a large pool, they'll be disappointed. Staff: very helpful and accommodating. Best staff of the hotels we've stayed at in Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Good size apartments ,close to beach

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Room size and beach view Staff Beach locality
Cons: Concierge could be abit more warm and engaging Price of zip n dip too expensive for what it was Explanation at checking what is in welcome pack
Location: Golf. Complimentary trolley around katana pail which was good for grandparent not able to walk far
We were family of 5 . Three bedroomed apartment perfect size, generous sized master bedroom (rm 474). Located. Close to beach, shops, golf course and restaurants. BBQ area well run by staff and friendly atmosphere for families to enjoy this facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Excellent location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Beautiful island, great resort, awesome beach, close to shops at Whalers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U

Great accommodations!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We absolutely loved this condo. We stayed in a one bedroom with a den. It had a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset and nice kitchen, dining rm and living room and 2 bathrooms. The best beach was steps away and the staff was friendly except for one concierge named Tracy. If you decide to rent their snorkel gear, check it out thoroughly. First day, one of our masks leaked and another the snorkel leaked so we lost 2 days of snorkeling as a family. Though one of the concierges promised to compensate us, she didn't and when we talked to Tracy about it she was rude. In the end she let us have our gear for a couple extra days, but doesn't make up for lost time. Missed having a restaurant or bar on site, but the Weston and Whaler's village is so close it's not really an issue. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kev from Australia

Maui Holiday

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Modern, well equipped, spacious rooms.
Location: Near beach, other resorts, eateries, bars, golf clubs and the Whalers Shopping Village.
What a great place to stay!! The Kaanapali Alii is a first rate resort in an excellent location. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Perfect beach getaway

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The spacious rooms, very clean inside and out...the property is well maintained and gives you a home away from home feeling.
Cons: The only thing I missed from the "resort" portion of the location was a bar...a poolside bar, in my opinion would add to the experience.
Location: It's located in the heart of Kaanapali Beach within walking distance to shopping, dinning and beach activities.
West Maui offers great beach activities with clean, clear ocean water and beautiful views. The Kaanapali Alii offers condo style rooms with the feeling and services of a resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ros from B

A wonderful place to stay!

Posted May 11, 2014
We booked an ocean view room. Could hardly believe that it actually looked exactly like the pics. Huge, comfy and modern with a truly spectacular view. Loved having our own laundry, two bathrooms and a kitchen with every imaginable appliance. It was great to be able to have a couple of lazy rest days just enjoying the space and the view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John F from High Wycombe, UK

Great Quality - not Hawaiian

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Condo was great - large, comfortable and very well equipped. We couldn't have asked for more. However the location of the block, whilst being perfectly nice, had no feel of being 'in Hawaii'. The whole area is a series of built up blocks along the beach, which could have been almost anywhere in the world where there's a beach - no Hawaiian atmosphere. And don't kid yourself about the wind - it blows a lot of the time !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good location in tourist area

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was issue with number of people in room, which I let them know ahead of time and they wanted to charge me more. We had five people and the room, advertised as a one bedroom for tax purposes had one bedroom with a king size bed, a second bedroom with two twin beds and a pull out queen size coach. When I brought it to the attention of the manager, he asked if the pull out coach was locked. I was kind of surprised a pull out coach would be locked and I said no. He said the old owners from Japan had sold it to new owners and there would be some changes. Not sure where he was going with this statement. I don't think I should be responsible for the extra $40/night for the extra person when it clearly was brought to their attention before I arrived and there was plenty of space. Disappointed for almost $600 night for this extra charge they wanted.....Have stayed here several times before and my family member has stayed here for the last 20 years........Disappointed........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Portland, OR

Excellent condo close to everything.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: We liked having extra space. There were two large bedrooms with bathrooms separated by the living room, kitchen and dining room.
Cons: The kids might have enjoyed a larger pool but they were enjoying everything so much it never came up.
Location: The beach is widest there and the waves are the highest as evidenced by the number of surfers. Whaler's village is close for restaurants and shopping
The Alii is right in the middle of Kaanapali beach and very close to Whaler's Village. There are no restaurants in the facility but the Westin is next door and you can charge meals to your room. They have an excellent breakfast buffet. Whaler's village is very close with shopping and several good restaurants. Lahaina is only a couple of miles away. Our unit was beautifully decorated and worked perfectly for our daughter's family and us. The in-unit washer and dryer was extremely appreciated. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our unit had a partial ocean view and it was worth the extra money. All and all we had a great week.