Ratings based on 1,205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by anne from Grass Valley

Right on the beach- beautiful grounds

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Great beach, friendly staff, overall Hawaiian feel to the place. No high end stores, people trying to get you to go on all day tours.
Cons: Free WIFI provided provided either in the rooms (or better yet) somewhere on the grounds.
Location: Snorkeling at Black Rock. Walking on the trail in front of hotel. Going down to Lahaina.
The room was very comfortable (beds, pillows, etc). The In-room fridge was great for keeping nibbles and the views from the balconies can't be beat. Overall the place could use a few upgrades -the screen door didn't work right; and the bathroom fixtures fixture were a little rusty - but this isn't the Ritz Carlton. Plus, as soon as we mentioned the screen door they immediately sent someone up to fix it. My biggest recommendation is that they set up up a free WIFI area if they can't put it in the rooms. Charging for it is not cool in this day and age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, CA

First time I shed a tear...

Posted Apr 13, 2014
...leaving a hotel. This is the place to be if you desire the warmth and genuine spirit of Hawaii. Besides the gorgeous beach location, it was the lovely staff who share their love of the islands and their culture that made my visit so special. My "ok" mark is for the condition of the hotel; the facilities would rate an "excellent". This laid back hotel was showing it's age in some spots, but all the positives of this resort make up for it - including the price, which is far below it's neighboring hotels. I will most definitely return (with my farewell kukui nut lei to commemorate my return by having another nut added) :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Missouri

Great Location and views

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Staff was friendly and good about tips on local dining areas. Almost all water activities picked you up on beach.
Cons: Rooms need updating but are still clean and comfy
Location: Great beach. Black Rock is just outside your door for great snorkeling and swimming. Other way down the beach is Whaler's Mall for shopping and food.
Second time to stay at this hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Location is wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cy from Seattle

Not bad!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The bed and pillows
Location: It is walking distance from all activities on Kaanapali Beach
The hotel is located in a good location in Kaanapali, it is clean and most of the staff were friendly but the bed and the pillows were not comfortable at all as if they were extremely old and worn out. I guess it is up to you to decide which is more important. Price or sleep!
3 out of 5
by headache from Edinburgh

Disappointing hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The location is fantastic
Cons: The hotel needs a revamp and a general update
This hotel is showing its age. Great location but old facilities. Buffet breakfast quality was varied and staff were not that helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

very nice hotel with great night entertainment

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: the staff was very hospitable, loved the open-air bar and entertainment, and the beach there was super!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The night's entertainment was great and the beach was amazing. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014
I come here often because I liked the relaxed Hawaiian style of this hotel. Not to mention it's right on the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Seattle

Great Value on Kaanapali vs. Others

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Great value, room size, beach location, food and staff.
Cons: Nothing...keep it like it is..to offer a great alternative to the more expensive hotels..for all of us who appreciate a good value.
Location: Whalers village 100 yards away, beach out front is awesome..close enough to black rack to go over and snorkel easily and easy walk to everything.
I just stayed here...and stayed 2 years ago at the Sheraton Black Rock next door. Kaanapali Beach Hotel (KBH) is a great value plus you get more room to spread out on the grounds. I would definitely stay here again...and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates value over name brand. We can afford to stay at the luxury hotels like Sheraton. Comparatively: cleanliness the same, beach location the same, food value on site better, parking cost better, size of room better, "updated room feel" Sheraton felt newer, but our room at KBH was clean, well cared for and huge. 4 rating only compared "newness" vs Sheraton. Our connecting ground floor pool view rooms were awesome, huge and clean and my wife who typically doesn't like ground floor felt 100% at ease the whole time. I would definitely recommend these rooms. On the grounds, you don't have to fight over lounge chairs in prime sunning locations at KBH like you do at Sheraton. We have teens, so the more minimal pool was fine for them vs. the fancier Sheraton pool..as they weren't using it for swimming either way. I also didn't like the Sheraton ID bracelets you had to wear to show you were a guest..KBH was much more laid back. Note: I don't write reviews..but felt compelled to in this case as I was so pleasantly surprised. If you are inclined towards super high end...KBH may not be for you...but for everyone else...in my experience, your money is better spent here by a long shot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good location. Facilities need upgrade

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location and welcome breakfast.
Cons: Upgrade wifi.
We booked an ocean view room during spring break 2014. It was a wonderful trip. The room was nice and clean, especially the view. We can see the ocean, beautiful garden and even sunset in the room and at lanai. But some facilities of the hotel need upgrade, especially wifi. It's really inconvenient without wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place I would recommend

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: right on the beach 10 min from downtown
Cons: Seems to be slightly aged
Location: Whale village a 5 minute walk. Downtown only a 10 minute drive.
I had no issues with this hotel. Great food and a helpful staff. The grounds a manicured perfectly.