Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel on beach!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
It was a nice hotel and you could see the beach from the balcony! The room was clean and you definitely couldn't beat it for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous ocean front view!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This room was a great deal. My only complaint was that the AC didn't work very well. F kept our room comfortable but we would have enjoyed a couple degrees colder. My kids had non ocean view room and with 4 people in there room the AC had a hard time keeping them cool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Good value for money

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: beach resort (amanities...coffee shop/ restaurant great
Cons: lift wifi coffee
Location: fantastic location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The location is great, right on the beach, but the property is in terrible condition. I've stayed in youth hostels with much better facilities and in much better condition. Unless you're looking to spend the least amount possible, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Worst rooms in best resort

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The ocean inn is connected to the Royal Lahaina resort. As a guest you have full access to all the resort facilities but you're in the cheap seats. The rooms are run down and mouldy (and missing tv remotes and water pressure in the shower) but are perfectly livable for short stays if you're on a budget. It's close to the beautiful beach and the Royal Lahaina staff are lovely. We had full view (and sound) from the nightly luaus from our balcony which had pros and cons. Basically if you want resort luxury but don't want to pay resort rates for a room it's a good option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from so california

Right on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: It could use some upgrades, but then the price would go up.
Location: It is right on the ocean & there is a luau right next door, so you can listen to the Hawaian music all evening.
This hotel is old & a bit rundown, but the price is good! The location is awesome! You can't beat Kaanapali Beach.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carol from Fort Wayne,In

Okay but needs updates

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff at the main hotel was helpful. The rooms were clean, but in need of upgrades. Paint was peeling off especially in the bathroom area. It was okay for overnight stay, but expected it to be a little nicer for the price. The beds were comfortable and there was coffee, tea and a coffee maker in the room, which was decent.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by BJ from Wisconsin

Old and musty,bed comfy, and a large room

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great location, near to the beach and a view of the ocean from the balcony, but right outside our room was a luau that was held every evening, our room was so outdated and it looked like they hadn't fixed anything up in over 30years. The room smelled musty, the price wasn't bad, but in all my 60 years of going to motel rooms this one was the second worst room I ever stayed in. The shower was extremely old, and I wouldn't be surprised to hear that they take this motel down to make room for a new one. There was no ice machine or hair dryer, or microwave in the motel, and when going to the motel next to it that was suppose to help out in things like ice, you felt like a second rate citizen. The cleanliness of the room was pretty good, but often no new soap or shampoos. In going back to Maui, I would definitely look at other motels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The one affordable place on Kaapapali

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We are all spoiled with new amenities at hotels these days. Ocean Inn is not new, so that's always a bit of a disappointment, but it was the only place I could stay with my family where we could walk straight onto beach. The room was clean - staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. Glad they haven't replaced this place with a $300/night building typical of the area!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Armi Strickland from Brentwood, CA

Ocean front Hotel - Needs major update

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very old hotel probably built in the 50's. The exterior could use a major renovation. Aesthetically, it looks horrible, not at all inviting. Entrance is dark and no elevators. The interior room is clean but it has a stale smell to it because it's old. The fixtures are old. Everything about it is very old. The good thing going for it, is at least it's clean and close to the beach. This old hotel need some major reno because it can be great due to it's location.