Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent location; good price for the location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location and access to the ammenities of the more expensive adjacent resorts.
Cons: The rooms are a bit worn, the hallways quite so. No elevator to the second or third floor (OK to walk, but a pain with luggage).
Location: Royal Lahaina Luau on the site; book thru "open table" for premium seating. Strolling along the ocean next to Lahaina shops and restaurants a plus !!
Kannapali Ocean Inn is on the grounds of the Royal Lahaina Resort; so all of those ammenities are available (two pools, ocean-side bar, exquisite restaurant on the terrace looking over the ocean. Royal Lahaina Luau right on the resort as well as two (three?) golf courses. Resort is about a 10 minute ride from Lahaina for tourist strolling, lots of shops and restaurantes sea-side. So, perfect location. The hotel is on the beach with 1/2 the rooms right on the beach, the other half around the corner to the beach; a few swaying palm trees in the grass to allow some shade while enjoying the beach (the main resort doesn't have these). The Kanapali itself is the older section of the resort; so the rooms and hallways a bit worn, no elevator if you happen to be on the third floor (as we were). The rooms are large and confortable. Most important the cost is 1/2 what the resorts next door are charging. So this hotel is recommended for location and price as well as ammenities of the adjoining resorts. If you want luxury in the room go to the Hyatt next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel on beach!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
It was a nice hotel and you could see the beach from the balcony! The room was clean and you definitely couldn't beat it for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous ocean front view!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This room was a great deal. My only complaint was that the AC didn't work very well. F kept our room comfortable but we would have enjoyed a couple degrees colder. My kids had non ocean view room and with 4 people in there room the AC had a hard time keeping them cool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Good value for money

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: beach resort (amanities...coffee shop/ restaurant great
Cons: lift wifi coffee
Location: fantastic location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The location is great, right on the beach, but the property is in terrible condition. I've stayed in youth hostels with much better facilities and in much better condition. Unless you're looking to spend the least amount possible, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Melina from Louisiana

great location

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very old but has a wonderful location and is very affordable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Worst rooms in best resort

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The ocean inn is connected to the Royal Lahaina resort. As a guest you have full access to all the resort facilities but you're in the cheap seats. The rooms are run down and mouldy (and missing tv remotes and water pressure in the shower) but are perfectly livable for short stays if you're on a budget. It's close to the beautiful beach and the Royal Lahaina staff are lovely. We had full view (and sound) from the nightly luaus from our balcony which had pros and cons. Basically if you want resort luxury but don't want to pay resort rates for a room it's a good option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sheri from Kihei

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed staying in Kaanapali
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from so california

Right on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: It could use some upgrades, but then the price would go up.
Location: It is right on the ocean & there is a luau right next door, so you can listen to the Hawaian music all evening.
This hotel is old & a bit rundown, but the price is good! The location is awesome! You can't beat Kaanapali Beach.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carol from Fort Wayne,In

Okay but needs updates

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff at the main hotel was helpful. The rooms were clean, but in need of upgrades. Paint was peeling off especially in the bathroom area. It was okay for overnight stay, but expected it to be a little nicer for the price. The beds were comfortable and there was coffee, tea and a coffee maker in the room, which was decent.