Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Definitely not the best looking suites we saw in Hawaii. This hotel hosts one of the popular Luaos. The less than perfect room was improved by a balcony view of the Luao. It saved us the $80 admission fee and we got to experience all the wonderful dancing and entertainment right from our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Great value

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Older hotel and showing and the room was very basic. That said it was clean and everything worked. Great value!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach but lacking customer service

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Based on the price and other reviews we weren't expecting anything spectacular. The hotel is in a great location near the beach, but that's about it. The room was in decent shape but the AC and WiFi did not work well. The most disappointing part of our stay was the customer service. No attempt was made to resolve a problem when we brought it to their attention (i.e. we were given two double beds instead of the king/queen we reserved, there were no towels at the pool, etc). Instead the response was a shoulder shrug and "sorry, nothing we can do" "sorry, you'll have to wait (20 mins) for towels". With so many other options, we would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Davenport, FL.

OK hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The 1st & 2nd hotel room were not very good in the old hotel building, but in the newer hotel the room was very nice & close to the beach. Front desk manager (Steve) sew to up grading our room for free !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Great value for the price

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Excellent location close to the beach and boardwalk older building but kept clean by friendly helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent location; good price for the location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location and access to the ammenities of the more expensive adjacent resorts.
Cons: The rooms are a bit worn, the hallways quite so. No elevator to the second or third floor (OK to walk, but a pain with luggage).
Location: Royal Lahaina Luau on the site; book thru "open table" for premium seating. Strolling along the ocean next to Lahaina shops and restaurants a plus !!
Kannapali Ocean Inn is on the grounds of the Royal Lahaina Resort; so all of those ammenities are available (two pools, ocean-side bar, exquisite restaurant on the terrace looking over the ocean. Royal Lahaina Luau right on the resort as well as two (three?) golf courses. Resort is about a 10 minute ride from Lahaina for tourist strolling, lots of shops and restaurantes sea-side. So, perfect location. The hotel is on the beach with 1/2 the rooms right on the beach, the other half around the corner to the beach; a few swaying palm trees in the grass to allow some shade while enjoying the beach (the main resort doesn't have these). The Kanapali itself is the older section of the resort; so the rooms and hallways a bit worn, no elevator if you happen to be on the third floor (as we were). The rooms are large and confortable. Most important the cost is 1/2 what the resorts next door are charging. So this hotel is recommended for location and price as well as ammenities of the adjoining resorts. If you want luxury in the room go to the Hyatt next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice hotel on beach!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
It was a nice hotel and you could see the beach from the balcony! The room was clean and you definitely couldn't beat it for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous ocean front view!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This room was a great deal. My only complaint was that the AC didn't work very well. F kept our room comfortable but we would have enjoyed a couple degrees colder. My kids had non ocean view room and with 4 people in there room the AC had a hard time keeping them cool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New zealand

Good value for money

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: beach resort (amanities...coffee shop/ restaurant great
Cons: lift wifi coffee
Location: fantastic location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The location is great, right on the beach, but the property is in terrible condition. I've stayed in youth hostels with much better facilities and in much better condition. Unless you're looking to spend the least amount possible, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody.