Ratings based on 649 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawai'i

Old School Vibe

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Although the "Ocean Inn" is a little building it is located on a resort. You can take advantage of that rather easily.
Cons: The whole place is aged. I'm sure at some point they will refresh.
Location: It's ocean front. It's located very close to Lahaina and some great beaches.
When you consider the price the star rating should go up. We had an oceanfront room. Yes, This facility is old and could use a few fresh updates. BUT, then the price would not be the same. We only stayed one night. The room was clean, the room was big, & we slept with the crashing waves in the background. For this price point an location you can't go wrong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

ジャグジー温水プールがよかった!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
3泊しました。 エントランスがあまりにきれいで、 違うホテルに着いたかと思いましたが、 お部屋は古い感じでした。 ベランダのドアをあけて寝ていましたが、 波の音がずっとして、素敵な滞在となりました。バスタブはなかったです。施設自体は古いですが、プールもあり、ビーチもすぐだし、値段とトータルで考えると、合格点です!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

eigenartig im ersten Moment , im Endeffekt OK

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Sehr nah am Strand, Zimmer schön groß,sehr freundliches Personal
Location: direkt am strand, zum Schnorcheln aber etwas zu laufen.
Wir waren 6 Nächte in diesem Hotel. es gehört zu einem riesigen Komplex mehrerer Hotels, Läden usw. . Der ganze Bereich ist etwas abgegrenzt mit "Türsteher" usw. das Ocean inn selbst hat keine Rezeption im Haus , das musste 200m weiter in einem anderen Gebäude erledigt werden. sonst alles sehr gut.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Close to beach and ocean. Inexpensive (compared to other hotels near this location).
Cons: Updates to building (new carpets). Fitted mattress covers. Microwaves. Clean and warm pools. Hot tub near beach side pools. Better WIFI reception.
Location: Close to shopping and Lahiana. Close to great beaches for swimming, surfing, snorkeling. Close to hiking and walking trails.
The room was comfortable enough. The mattress cover didn't stay in place, making sleeping uncomfortable. The building is definitely older and it shows. There were some things left in the room from previous users, so house cleaning could have been more thorough. That said, we didn't want to spend much money and the room served it's purpose well. 2 beds, a mini fridge (would have liked a microwave though) The AC worked fine, the Luau music in the early evenings was nice. Easy and close access to the beach....very nice. If you like to play tennis, this is the place for you! (we don't) The swimming pool water- in all 3 pools- was cold (and dirty), so that was disappointing...especially since it was pretty windy when we were there and playing in the ocean in front of the hotel wasn't an option. It's right on a nice boardwalk trail that goes along the ocean in both directions, making for a nice walk. Wifi was available, but didn't work in our room. Hot tub was very small and up by tennis courts and 3rd pool, rather than near beach and the other two pools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Sharks

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Beach front
Cons: Parking is on overload while they have Luau's. After 5p wait till after 8p for parking if your late.
Location: Everything about Maui is here.
Arriving on Maui is always exciting. Every time the weather is different. This time it rained on the Kaanapali side more than any time we have had in the past. Rain brings Sharks to this side of the island, more than if it hadn't rained. A man was bit the day before we arrived. We watched all morning as the beaches were closed from Black rock to the corner of Kaanapali while 3 helicopters and a plane along with 3 police on wave runners sweeped the beaches of swimmers and looked for Sharks. At around 2p they reopened the water to swim. No notices were posted, nor did our hotel or any other for that matter post anything about the Sharks attacking or killing even when we checked in or after. We talked to many other visitors and locals on the beach and everyone said the same thing. No notice given. If it rains, don't go in or find another location to swim and enjoy. Have fun but be safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Definitely not the best looking suites we saw in Hawaii. This hotel hosts one of the popular Luaos. The less than perfect room was improved by a balcony view of the Luao. It saved us the $80 admission fee and we got to experience all the wonderful dancing and entertainment right from our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Great value

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Older hotel and showing and the room was very basic. That said it was clean and everything worked. Great value!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

大人ののんびり滞在にぴったり

Posted Nov 19, 2014
オーシャンビューの部屋にしましたが、海が目の前、と言うよりは間にあるヤシの木を隔てての海の景色でした。でも、ベランダからの海の景色は程よく、波の音をバックにした読書はなかなか良言うものでした。ビーチまでもすぐです。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach but lacking customer service

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Based on the price and other reviews we weren't expecting anything spectacular. The hotel is in a great location near the beach, but that's about it. The room was in decent shape but the AC and WiFi did not work well. The most disappointing part of our stay was the customer service. No attempt was made to resolve a problem when we brought it to their attention (i.e. we were given two double beds instead of the king/queen we reserved, there were no towels at the pool, etc). Instead the response was a shoulder shrug and "sorry, nothing we can do" "sorry, you'll have to wait (20 mins) for towels". With so many other options, we would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Davenport, FL.

OK hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
The 1st & 2nd hotel room were not very good in the old hotel building, but in the newer hotel the room was very nice & close to the beach. Front desk manager (Steve) sew to up grading our room for free !!!