Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous ocean front view!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This room was a great deal. My only complaint was that the AC didn't work very well. F kept our room comfortable but we would have enjoyed a couple degrees colder. My kids had non ocean view room and with 4 people in there room the AC had a hard time keeping them cool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Good value for money

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: beach resort (amanities...coffee shop/ restaurant great
Cons: lift wifi coffee
Location: fantastic location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The location is great, right on the beach, but the property is in terrible condition. I've stayed in youth hostels with much better facilities and in much better condition. Unless you're looking to spend the least amount possible, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Worst rooms in best resort

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The ocean inn is connected to the Royal Lahaina resort. As a guest you have full access to all the resort facilities but you're in the cheap seats. The rooms are run down and mouldy (and missing tv remotes and water pressure in the shower) but are perfectly livable for short stays if you're on a budget. It's close to the beautiful beach and the Royal Lahaina staff are lovely. We had full view (and sound) from the nightly luaus from our balcony which had pros and cons. Basically if you want resort luxury but don't want to pay resort rates for a room it's a good option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from so california

Right on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: It could use some upgrades, but then the price would go up.
Location: It is right on the ocean & there is a luau right next door, so you can listen to the Hawaian music all evening.
This hotel is old & a bit rundown, but the price is good! The location is awesome! You can't beat Kaanapali Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Armi Strickland from Brentwood, CA

Ocean front Hotel - Needs major update

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very old hotel probably built in the 50's. The exterior could use a major renovation. Aesthetically, it looks horrible, not at all inviting. Entrance is dark and no elevators. The interior room is clean but it has a stale smell to it because it's old. The fixtures are old. Everything about it is very old. The good thing going for it, is at least it's clean and close to the beach. This old hotel need some major reno because it can be great due to it's location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for your money!

Posted May 28, 2014
We wanted to find a hotel in the kaanapali area that was reasonably priced. We are booked in a different hotel but had to adjust our schedule. I wouldn't have minded staying there. Staff were friendly, especially the Filipino servers. No discrimination of guests between Royal Lahaina and the Inn. You'll have access to all facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by tyler from canada

Hotel rooms were not as good as expected

Posted May 21, 2014
This was our third hotel out of four that we stayed at on our trip to maui, it was the oldest most run down and the first room we got to there were many bugs running around so asked for a different room, staff was awesome and gave us a better room in same building, still bugs but fewer and didnt feel like complaining again so just made do.
3 out of 5
by Nic from Australia

Nice, but very outdated

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Nice resort right on the beach, the Ocean Inn is the dodgy building out the back, but you still have access to the resort facilities.
Cons: The rooms were old and shabby, they could do with a refurnish and paint.
Location: It's a long walk to anywhere through a golf course - best hire a car!
Hotel was ok, located right on the beach but a long walk from anything else. It's a good idea to hire a car if you choose to stay here, but beware the hotel will charge you an extra $10 per night for parking. Rooms were clean and had a little balcony, but haven't been renovated or retouched in about 50 years (or so it seemed). Was a little disappointed with the room, but no major complaints.