Ratings based on 660 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, Or

Great location, beautiful view.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Ocean Inn is the poor step child to Royal Lahaina and the staff let's you feel that way. Building is run down. Outrageous charge for facility, but demand allows ripoffs. Parking is limited, plus $10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Cottage feeling.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Only complaint was a Luau was held every night just outside our room, except on Saturdays. It was loud and lasted until 8 pm so you have to blast the TV volume during that time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Started with a room overlooking the Luau area.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Positives: near ocean, cheap- but you get what you pay for.
Cons: Tear it down and start over
Location: Near ocean. Whalers Shopping center near by. Lovely drive on the north coast of West Maui
By the Luau every night. Very worn. Shabby looking. Hard beds. Drawers would not open. No view. Old faucets that worked poorly and 2 of 3 dripped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom bogota

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Next to the beach, access to pools, near Lahaina.
Some parts of the first floor was in bad condition, it needs some renovation but our room (2nd floor) for the price and location was perfect for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Wonderful staff and great location, my kids love to come back for their next vacation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas In Maui

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Right on the beach.......and the rest of the property is fantastic.
Cons: Tear down this old three story building and put up something similar. Keep the old Hawaii theme going. Somehow separate the luau from the hotel.
We knew about the bad reviews for this hotel going but if you have ever tried to get a room on Maui during the week between Christmas and New Years you know they are hard to get. We figured we would tough it out because you really never spend too much time in the room. But when we got to the room we realized it was more run down than we had expected.....rotting trim, carpet swelling up in the hallways from something I don't want to know about, and the whole first floor looked as though it was going to just rot away. In other words the hotel is not ready for a remodel, it looks like it's ready to get torn down. We thought we would at least get good service because it is part of the Royal Lahina and we have always had great service there....but the maid service was spotty at best. One day they only left one fresh towel.......three of us ended up using hand towels to dry off after a shower. Great trip even though the room was a little rough........just don't expect much and if your the demanding type don't even think about staying here. I do think they need to tear the building down and replace it with a completely new building but keep that old Hawaii look.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We used this facility to stay after flying in and condo for week started next day. Staff and check in/out perfect. Older property that needs to be updated. Right on Kaanapali beach so hard to complain about anything! This place worked for what we needed it for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC, Canada

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Daily housekeeping, resort facilities are nice, proximity to the beach and whalers village, shuttle to Lahaina, staff was excellent
Cons: Rooms/building needs updating, laundry facilities would be nice
Resort facilities were good, rooms could use some updating, but other than that, it was a good fit. We were in Maui to enjoy the beach and Kaanapali Ocean Inn provided us with access to 3 miles of the best beach front in Maui.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawai'i

Old School Vibe

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Although the "Ocean Inn" is a little building it is located on a resort. You can take advantage of that rather easily.
Cons: The whole place is aged. I'm sure at some point they will refresh.
Location: It's ocean front. It's located very close to Lahaina and some great beaches.
When you consider the price the star rating should go up. We had an oceanfront room. Yes, This facility is old and could use a few fresh updates. BUT, then the price would not be the same. We only stayed one night. The room was clean, the room was big, & we slept with the crashing waves in the background. For this price point an location you can't go wrong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

ジャグジー温水プールがよかった!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
3泊しました。 エントランスがあまりにきれいで、 違うホテルに着いたかと思いましたが、 お部屋は古い感じでした。 ベランダのドアをあけて寝ていましたが、 波の音がずっとして、素敵な滞在となりました。バスタブはなかったです。施設自体は古いですが、プールもあり、ビーチもすぐだし、値段とトータルで考えると、合格点です!