Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The location is great, right on the beach, but the property is in terrible condition. I've stayed in youth hostels with much better facilities and in much better condition. Unless you're looking to spend the least amount possible, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Worst rooms in best resort

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The ocean inn is connected to the Royal Lahaina resort. As a guest you have full access to all the resort facilities but you're in the cheap seats. The rooms are run down and mouldy (and missing tv remotes and water pressure in the shower) but are perfectly livable for short stays if you're on a budget. It's close to the beautiful beach and the Royal Lahaina staff are lovely. We had full view (and sound) from the nightly luaus from our balcony which had pros and cons. Basically if you want resort luxury but don't want to pay resort rates for a room it's a good option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from so california

Right on the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: It could use some upgrades, but then the price would go up.
Location: It is right on the ocean & there is a luau right next door, so you can listen to the Hawaian music all evening.
This hotel is old & a bit rundown, but the price is good! The location is awesome! You can't beat Kaanapali Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for your money!

Posted May 28, 2014
We wanted to find a hotel in the kaanapali area that was reasonably priced. We are booked in a different hotel but had to adjust our schedule. I wouldn't have minded staying there. Staff were friendly, especially the Filipino servers. No discrimination of guests between Royal Lahaina and the Inn. You'll have access to all facilities.
2 out of 5
by tyler from canada

Hotel rooms were not as good as expected

Posted May 21, 2014
This was our third hotel out of four that we stayed at on our trip to maui, it was the oldest most run down and the first room we got to there were many bugs running around so asked for a different room, staff was awesome and gave us a better room in same building, still bugs but fewer and didnt feel like complaining again so just made do.
3 out of 5
by Nic from Australia

Nice, but very outdated

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Nice resort right on the beach, the Ocean Inn is the dodgy building out the back, but you still have access to the resort facilities.
Cons: The rooms were old and shabby, they could do with a refurnish and paint.
Location: It's a long walk to anywhere through a golf course - best hire a car!
Hotel was ok, located right on the beach but a long walk from anything else. It's a good idea to hire a car if you choose to stay here, but beware the hotel will charge you an extra $10 per night for parking. Rooms were clean and had a little balcony, but haven't been renovated or retouched in about 50 years (or so it seemed). Was a little disappointed with the room, but no major complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Washington State

Get the ocean front rooms. Avoid ocean view or std

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The awesome view from the ocean front room.
Cons: Fix the shower, get a new mirror.
Location: Swim, luau (right next door -- you can literally watch it from the stairs)
As other reviews comment, this is an older hotel with no elevators. It is part of The Royal Lahani Resort. Other reviews also noted a bad "moldy" smell. The smell was strong in the halls but not in our room. We booked an upgraded ocean front room (not to be confused with the ocean view room). For the price, this has got to be the best view room on the island. You're less than 100 feet from the ocean and facing directly into the ocean. The sound was soothing, ocean smell was wonderful and we had a perfect, unobstructed view of sunset. The bed was comfortable and the room was functional. The bathroom was disappointing, though. The mirror had lost much of its "silvering" and the shower hardware felt like it was about to fall off. It was clean, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by evian from SG

Close to beach

Posted May 18, 2014
Big room, comfortable and at a fraction of the price of other beachside resort, this hotel is a steal. Can peek at luau in the evenings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bruce from london,uk

Stay in the posh kaanapoli beach area and save!!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
This is a quaint little inn nestled right inside the royal lahaina resort. Is isn't as luxurious and white marble clad as the royal lahaina's rooms but it is comfortable clean and about half the price of royal lahaina's rooms. The great thing is that you enjoy all the same things as them including access to the tennis ranch, luaus every night, pool bar, towel rental, beach activities centre and all the pools and beach amenities. The only reservation was the slow wifi throughout the resort, however the only people complaining about it were united airlines staff staying there as a lay-by. The rest of us had a gorgeous beach to look at instead of a laptop screen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
We were upgraded to a little cabana type suite. Very nice. They have a great luau