Ratings based on 672 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auburn, Ca

Loved our stay at Kanapali Ocean Inn

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms, decorated well, price was great, Royal Lahaina luau right next to hotel, amenaties of royal lahaina available, comfy bed, friendly staff,
Location: Black rock for snorkeling, Napili and Kapalua beaches great for snorkeling and swimming too, blow hole , hanalua bay, beach path for walking or runnin
We had a third story room on the left side and watched the Royal Lahaina luau from our balcony! Nice clean room with comfortable bed, slept great! Ocean right out the door of the hotel! Close walk to black rock and snorkeling and other resorts. Felt like you were at the Royal Lahaina but half the price! Definitely would go again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Hotel is a little worn. Good for the price. I would recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma, WA

Posted Feb 22, 2015
If you want an inexpensive hotel in a great location, this is it! The room was very clean, although kind of run down. The Royal Lahaina Resort, where the hotel is located isa wonderful spot on fantastiic Kaanapali beach. You won't do better for the price!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OHIO

OLD HOTEL

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: LOCATION AND BEACH WERE EXCELLANT
Cons: GOOD ROOM MAINTENANCE TO GET RID OF PROBLEMS
Location: ITS HAWAII WHAT ELSE NEEDS SAID
HOTEL ROOMS NEED A GOOD DOSE OF MAINTENANCE, OLD FAUCET HANDLES WITH DIRT IN THEM AND REVERSED HOT AND COLD WATER. DRY WALL IN BATH NEEDED REPLACED FROM MOISTURE DAMAGE. BED AND PILLOWS WERE GOOD. NO ICE IN BUILDING HAD TO GET FROM FRONT DESK AND THEY BRING IT TO ROOM. HAD TO PARK FAR FROM ROOM AS LUAU EVERY NIGHT TOOK PARKING PLACES AND PAID FOR THAT TOO BOOT
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver

old and tired ...needs sprucing up

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: not much ,there is no front desk it sits in a forgotten corner
Cons: put in a front desk
Location: kaanapali grounds are fine except for this forgotten corner
I expected more....I should have checked the reviews more carefully
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Spent a week here, hotel is located on a beautiful beach
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Great location.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: The rooms in the Kaanapai ocean inn should be renovated.
Great location on Kaanapali Beach. Ocean view from our room. Room looks like the 70's, needs renovation. The grounds are wonderful with beach access water activities and 2 swimming pools. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Great location for a budget friendly price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 night stay

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: It was inexpensive, close to the beach and easy to find.
Cons: The room was quite dated.
Location: Hard to find parking especially a luau night. Walk to the Fairway strip mall and there's a couple of restaurants.
We needed an inexpensive place for just a 1 night stay as we booked our trip, then looked for a condo to stay in beachside. The condo wasn't ready when we were arriving and needed just the one night stay after coming in late from the mainland. A luau was going on next door at The Royal Lahaina so it was lively. We were able to watch the show from our balcony.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, Or

Great location, beautiful view.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Ocean Inn is the poor step child to Royal Lahaina and the staff let's you feel that way. Building is run down. Outrageous charge for facility, but demand allows ripoffs. Parking is limited, plus $10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Cottage feeling.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Only complaint was a Luau was held every night just outside our room, except on Saturdays. It was loud and lasted until 8 pm so you have to blast the TV volume during that time.