Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bellevue, WA

Bad price / quality ratio

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We just spent one week there. We got the pleasure to be upgraded in an apartment with Ocean view. All up, for 7 nights, we spent around $2,700 for a 2 bedroom apartment. In my opinion, it is super expensive. OK, it was a big and clean apartment. But equipment was old and design was out of date. The boards in the kitchen smell old. Ventilation in the bathrooms was very limited. All up, it was really too expensive for the quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

excellent accomodations with a beautiful view.

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: location
Location: Close to Lahaina which has lots of things to do.
The villa had everything including a beautiful view of the ocean so you could watch the whales from the bedroom window or the deck. Just off the 11th tee so you could also watch golfers tee off. Nice and peaceful environment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Ocean View
Booked this trip well in advance and got a good deal, I thought. The room however was no where near a 4 star. Perhaps 2. It smelled musty. No services at all for 10 days. I asked the front desk if I could have clean sheets to change them myself and she said I could wash them in the in room washer and dryer. Did not have any cleaning supplies and that is not much of a holiday if I have to clean and do laundry plus at check out we paid an additional $400+ USD for resort fees. The room was nothing like the pics displayed on the expedia website. I feel we got the worst room in the resort(therefore not really a deal).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much for less

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The Bay and Plantation golf courses are fabulous.
Cons: Better staff training. More value for the extravagant expense.
Our mid January 2015 visit to the Kapalua Villas was our fourth. Over the years the services available have declined while the rates just keep going up and new fees are added such as an end of visit cleaning fee. Your rate used to include access to the pool at the Ritz as well as access to the Montage Spa. Those services are no longer available yet you are still charged a daily resort fee which includes the date of check in and check out though you are not likely to make use of the remaining resort amenities on those dates. As you have to pay extra for room cleaning service, we opted to decline those charges and clean up after ourselves. During our two week stay we ran out of things such as toilet paper and paper towels. When we attended the front desk to collect replacements where we found the staff less than helpful. We shall be staying somewhere else should we return to Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Canada

Spacious. Superb location.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: 1. View 2. Location 3. Space
Cons: There is a high pitch noise coming from the little toilet on the main floor. Eventually we learnt to stop it (temporarily) by flushing the toilet.
Location: Kapalua is one of the most beautiful parts of Maui. And the island is small enough to have all the interesting spots covered easily.
I was surprised by the size of this villa. It can easily accommodate a party of six. There is also a large living space and a fully equipped kitchen. Decent wireless internet - works in each and every corner of the villa. And, most of all: large balcony with a fabulous ocean view. The location (Kapalua) is also prime - especially if you are a golfer - and the rest of Maui is easily accessible. One can object that the beach is not quite close, but I did not find a few minutes walk a nuisance at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Posted Jan 31, 2015
one day there was lots of noise outside room for 8 hours due to room repair.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and too expensive

Posted Jan 28, 2015
The unit we stayed in was rather dated with curtains hanging down unhooked. Not too impressed at all. However, the view was amazing. No maid service unless you paid more money, and then a resort fee on top of everything, and then more money to have the unit cleaned. I wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Billings, Montana

Spacious Condo in Kapalua

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Spacious condo. Very clean and very quiet. Nice large balcony/patio overlooking the golf course.
Cons: Nothing. A great condo and very beautiful and peaceful area.
Location: Honolulu store is close by for groceries. Several local beaches. 4 pools available to our condo unit. Golf. Numerous opportunities for peaceful walks.
Very nice one-bedroom condo in Kapalua adjacent to the Bay Course. The views of the golf course and ocean on the horizon are very pleasing and refreshing. The complex is very quiet, beautifully landscaped and private. There are several nearby beaches that are worth visiting; Kapalua Beach, Napili Beach and Slaughterhouse Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Loved the villa! Very updated and spacious! Definitely need a car to get around outside of the village!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellevue, Wa

The more features, the more to maintain

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location and size of condos.
Cons: Better maintenance.
Location: Quiet location close to golf, beaches
The use of the front door code wasn't well explained when we checked in. Several things were inop when we got in and the promised maintenance person didn't show up. So I fixed what I could myself and we elected to live with the rest. The cordless phone was inop. Somebody had tried to use the power supply for the answering machine to fix it thereby rendering it inop too. Both TVs were disconnected from the cable. The batteries in the one TV remote we used were almost dead so we robbed the DVD remote, but the TV remote still didn't work well. The bathroom vanity lights were inop. The deck and furniture off the living room had dirt and bird droppings on them. The door to the deck off the bedroom was unlocked. There were a lot of other appliances and features we never tried so don't know if they were functional or not. I got the impression that the suite had not been occupied for a while and not recently inspected or cleaned.