Ratings based on 975 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great Hotel location with very kind stuff. Near Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poway

Best kept secret on Maui

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The hotel grounds are relaxing.
Cons: Nothing, it's perfect.
Location: Shopping, Big Beach or drive to Kehei for dinner. Walking trails are fun and scenic.
This hotel is fantastic. The hotel rooms and grounds are terrific. The location is quite and the staff is some of the best on the island. When picking your package I highly recommend booking the breakfast package, as the morning brunch is amazing. The hotel offers a shuttle to the Wailea Shopping Center. You can go to the beach, bike ride, play tennis or walk the exercise path. Bottom line you will not be disappointed staying at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ohio

Nice resort with friendly staff & beautiful nature

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Resort and grounds, staff, view, beach, amenities
Cons: Unfortunate that two homes under construction directly behind hotel
Location: Great location on island with mild weather, little rain and wind, beautiful beach and view, and loved being so close to Wailea.
Our stay at Makena was most enjoyable. The hotel/resort is situated in a beautiful, natural surrounding. It is very scenic (ocean, flowers, trees and plants) and very well maintained. The staff - front desk, concierge, valets, shopkeepers, service, waiters and waitresses, and recreational assistance are all very friendly, helpful and Hawaiian-like displaying kindness and good will. The beach is very clean and conducive to swimming, boarding, snorkeling, etc. with a fabulous view of the ocean and surrounding islands. The resort is located just a short drive (or shuttle drive) to Wailea, a very nice, upscale area with lovely shops, restaurants and beaches. The only minor distraction is home construction was part of our ocean view (two homes being built) but they are not that obtrusive. Overall, our Makena stay was wonderful and we would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Vacation

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: They really need to expand and/or add pools.
Resort was great for couples. Not so great if you have young kids since the pool is so small. The resort indicates they have a children's pool but it is way too small for the kids to actually enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Beautiful, affordable, luxury hotel!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This hotel was in Makena along a road of luxury hotels and it definitely competed well, especially for the price, $1300 per person, for 2 people, that included flight and breakfast for 7 nights!!! No resot fee and free valet! We were upgraded for free to a partial ocean view and it was beautiful! Our room was clean and updated, nice large lanai with table and chairs. Hotel is surrounded by lush green hills and lush green landscape, waterfalls and ponds in middle of hotel and surrounding hotel. Really made us feel like we were in a tropical paradise. 2 Pools were very nice with free cabbanas and a restaurant and bar. Drinks and food were amazing! Swimmable, beautiful beach right infront of hotel. They had kayak, snorkel, boogie board, paddle board, and umbrella rentals right infront of the beach which was so convenient. They had free lounge chairs on beach and rentable coushioned and covered chairs too. There were small reefs infront of hotel woth turtles! The concierge was very helpful for booking activities and not at all pushy. They had a coffee shop that served starbucks, I only wish they stayed open later. The breakfast was worth the $16 per person we paid through Expedia, because if we paid at hotel it would have been $60 per person! The food was slightly different every day and was delicious!!! All the staff were very helpful and nice. This hotel is great for couples (we were on our honeymoon) and families. We would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver , Canada

We like it as 3 stars Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Very Good
It is good Hotel and perfect location , recommend it but we expected way more than 4 stars Hotel, I call this hotel 3 stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Quiet resort & a Nice view.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Upgraded from Ocean view to Ocean Facing; north ocean view faced mostly resort not so much ocean. Staff was excellent. Breakfast Buffet package was well with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Maybe the best locations on Maui

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Location: see above
This property is the southern most on this coast, it is has an incredible beach on site where a wonderfully crewed sailcat departs twice each morning for snorkeling on the molokini crater and turtle town sites. We rolled out of bed made coffee in the room (starbux provided)and walked to the beach where we boarded the cat and were fed more coffee, juice, muffins and fruit enroute to molokini. The grounds are beautiful, and the property is surrounded by the incredible beaches of Makena State Park, Black sand beach, Big and Little beach as well. The town of Kihei is just North for several dining options, and the Mrs enjoyed the shops of Wailea just 5 minutes away. I really enjoyed the fact that the resort didn't nickel and dime you like most, parking, internet and loaner bikes were included with no resort fee. The staff is incredible, and I wish I had gotten everyones name but from valet to check in to pool/waiter the staff were all genuine in their effort to see that we enjoyed ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kanagawa, Japan

Just as name of hotel indicates.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Quiteness and very friendly hotel staff.
Cons: Dining facilities were rather poor. Eespecially in the evenning, the only available restaurant offered very small variety of choices.
Location: As location, it situates rather far end of the island but offers good beach and is surrounded by beautiful golf courses with kind attendants.
The sunset veiw with beach and coconuts trees from the room balcony is really unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

So good!!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros No resort fees Free self, vallet parking Free wifi Free water and beach towels Friendly staff Amazing beach access Inexpensive and delicious food