Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: No resort fee, free valet parking, free internet, clean room, nice beach, beautiful landscape
Cons: Breakfast is not the best, but the staffs are very nice
Location: Quiet location, a little bit far away from town
Loved staying in this place, everyone is so nice. The hotel is very clean and beautiful. Wish I don't have to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Troske

Pleasant stay

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Beautiful grounds. Very friendly staff. Catered to the children, very family friendly resort. The staff was excellent! Gorgeous beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice

Posted Dec 16, 2014
We stayed during a slow time, so there were no crowds. Nice. This hotel is secluded and has it's own terrific beach. The pool is small, so when in the busy season, plan on getting out early to secure chairs, or head to the beach. In that case you will probably want to pay for a cabana $35 per day) if you prefer shady book-time. The views from floors 4-5 are terrific, including the garden and partial-view rooms. (not sure about floors 1-3) I recommend staying on the west side of the building, as the brisk afternoon trade winds will otherwise make balcony-time difficult.. The rooms (at least ours) was somewhat dated. Needed a facelift. Certainly clean, but you don't get that luxurious feeling. No fancy soaking tub, just a tub and a utility shower. A clean, serviceable room. The staff. Wow. A GREAT staff. Every extra mile was attempted during our stay. If it is still offered, consider paying for the packaged breakfast during your stay. A very good spread, which will otherwise cost you $60 per couple, per day, if you don't pay upfront. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice Stay (Could be better)

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: I like the way they conserve using utility by installing sensor on their doors so we don't waste utility (but the AC system is a little bit loud).
Cons: The hotel condition is a bit out dated. The tub is shallow. AC system is a bit loud. Drawers of the TV stand are dirty with coffee spills.
Location: Snorkeling at Molokini (as boat leaves in front of the hotel beach). Close to south point of the island which you can see dolphin. Mekena State Park
Overall it's a nice stay. Easy access to the beach. Friendly staff. Daily breakfast buffet is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Dont let the pictures on here fool you.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: nothing to like about this hotel, I dont even know why it is rated at 4.5 stars. hotel is so run down. for the money stay at the Westin
Cons: remodel and get new staffs
Location: it is actually far from everything
Pictures on here looks better than actual hotel, staffs definately not friendly. Go to the front desk to check in, employees have sad faces and were rude. Walk around the facility tiles on floor were missing or cracks. Carpet in rooms are worn down and the bathroom is so out dated. You better ask your grandparent how to use the faucet because it so out dated there is no identification of hot or cold on them. Wait till you go to the beach, so run down chairs and lounges missing leafs on chair you can fall through and is it dirty. I came here with the intention of super nice hotel not in no way for the price they charge is true. DO NOT UPGRADE TO OCEAN VIEW. they will give you the same room even if you pay more. I found out why they are not taking care of the place from a few employees, they told us that they are turning these units in to condo and timeshare in the next two years so that is why they will not up grade. If you planning to go to Maui stay around Kihei, much better area and the price is right, close to everything. Trust me you will be so disappointed, as for me and my wife we will never come back to Makena beach and golf resort even if they give us a deep pocket discount.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

A great hotel with a great beach and staff.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: The network switch in my room didn't work and the wifi was a bit spotty and weak,
I was pleased as to how friendly all the staff was except for 1 lady who could not understand when I was explaining that the network switch in my room did not work even after I explained all the technical issues I was experiencing and my work around. The hotel isn't as fancy as other hotels but the beach was wonderful. It was my wife's favorite hotel of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, CA

Excellent Location, Beach, Hotel and

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Our special thanks to Amy and Jennifer at the front desk, Dennis at the Cafe Kiowai, and Rosie of the housekeeping. These individuals have gone out of
Location: Royal Thai Cusine in Kihey (a short drive from Makena) is a wonderful choice for dinner! THe owner Cindy is exceptional!
Makena Beach and Golf Resort is an excellent place for vacation. We come every year and love it. The hotel offers a quiet get away with luxurious furnishings, gorgeous surroundings (breath taking views of the ocean and the mountains/golf course), fantastic beach (featuring white sand and calm water for swimming and great snorkeling including turtles). The property is very well maintained and offers numerous amenities (many are included with no extra charge). The staff is excellent (friendly, caring, respectful and accommodating).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Awesome! Will come back to this hotel. Staff are all awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great hotel. Very nice staff. Awesome location.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Very please with hotel and its staff. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Two min walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Ulm, Mn

Beautiful Hotel & Resort

Posted Nov 29, 2014
The resort was very quite, nice beach, friendly staff & many facilities. One of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed at!!