Ratings based on 1,242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Excellent Resort Hideaway

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Beautiful Grounds. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Very clean and always stocked. The staff by far!
Cons: A few more lounge options at the beach.
Location: Snorkeling and golf are King here. Access to the full range of activities as well.
We enjoyed one week of Maui at the most excellent location at the end of the Makena Resort right next to Makena State Park and Big Beach. Our cousins who live here stay here when they need to get away for couple time and we enjoyed the why! The grounds are beautiful with lots of activities to keep young folks having fun all day long! The cherry on top however was the most friendly, accommodating and excellent staff of the Hotel! Well Done Folks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by MakenaResort, Hotel Management
Aloha Woodie, we are so happy to hear you loved the resort and that our staff was so accommodating. We thank you for the wonderful review and wish you our warmest Aloha from our sunny shores!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

A Really Nice Hotel Near Turtletown

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: See Above
Cons: The price was MUCH higher than I normally pay. We chose this hotel as a "treat" for our last night since our condo was not available the last night.
Location: See my original chat, above, I covered that.
We loved this hotel, it was VERY clean, had the most cheerful staff we have ever run into in ALL our years of travel (we are in our 60s) and the room was really nice, great a/c, comfortable bed and amazing, beautiful view of the ocean from our fourth-floor room. For over $500 I would have expected a larger room, but still it was nice, private and quiet. It was pretty much the same size as any hotel room with a little extra "nook" for the tiny fridge, which we were glad we had. A microwave could be ordered on request, we found out. My husband was delighted with the best snorkeling of our entire two-week trip (we stayed here only one night due to our condo not being available through our last day) but the ocean-front area of this hotel was teaming with fish and "turtle town" was literally just a a bit of a swim right off the beach. Also, a boat goes out to Molokini right from the hotel's beach every morning and evening (we didn't use this service.) The hotel had plenty of amenities, including swimming pool, easily available chairs, umbrellas and covered chairs (for a small fee) for the beach along with beach towels, no charge. We ended up in a downpour in the little restaurant by the pool and our kind waitress brought us a towel to put over our heads as we ran back into the hotel (I had JUST styled my hair before we came down.) My favorite thing about this hotel was it's great staff. Everyone seemed happy and our every need was taken care of. A+
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China & USA

Relaxing Stay

Posted Jul 23, 2015
We stayed here for 6 nights out of our 2 week trip to Maui. Now regretting that we only booked 6 nights here. Hotel & concierge staff amaxing -- and not overcrowded - so very relaxing! Beach beautiful, smaller pool - but my kids liked it better than the one at current hotel with water slide. Overall a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great choice to relax

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Overall all the staff is great and extremely friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Tropical Paradise!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Gardens and rounds, architectural style of hotel, beach, food
Cons: It was great without the standard glitzy, generic look. Keep it just the way it is.
Location: Near Kihei, not a bad drive to aquarium, but lots of activities on site.
Makena is a special resort. It has a virtually private beach; no sharing a beach with other resorts. The style is reminiscent of an Asian/Mid-century blend, unique among hotels. At the end of the road, you really feel like you are on your own private island. Gorgeous grounds, above average food, lovely staff. Activities for kids/families. We had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by makena resort , Hotel Management
Aloha we are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed our location away from the hustle and bustle. We thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Warmest Aloha from our sunny shores.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Excellent Resort

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Location: Easy to get around Maui so no matter what you want to do, this location is just fine.
5 star staff service. Breakfast buffet was great. Beach had outstanding snorkeling. Room was spacious, clean and had a great ocean view. Loved the shuttle service into town and the valet parking was very efficient. No hidden fees. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Amazing

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Everything. Was so quiet and relaxing
Location: Easy to get to nearby and not so nearby activities either by shuttle service or very easy to rent a car with the conceirge
Beautiful hotel, amazing scenery and views. The use of the shuttle service was so simple and easy. Concierge service was great, easy to pick excursions to try and were reasonable priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Makena Resort , Hotel Management
Aloha we are glad that you found our complimentary shuttle service convenient and that our concierge was able to fit your need during your stay. Mahalo for taking the time to review our resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Service, beach, greeting
Location: Did not realize Maui has the best snorkeling spots and it was right off the beach. I would suggest snorkeling in Maui and zip lining in Honolulu. Also
Fantastic hotel. Great concierge service. Did not realize Maui has the best snorkeling spots and it was right off the beach. I would suggest snorkeling in Maui and zip lining in Honolulu. Also book the Maui sun rise bike tour in advance. They had run out of spots by the time we decided to go for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a great location.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Food is marginal.
We have stayed at this hotel off and on for seven years. Wonderful staff! Great location for access to Makena Beach or shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice resort.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Excellent location for a quite stay. Rooms were very comfortable.
Cons: Customer service could be improved. Many staff did not make an effort to help make the stay welcoming. I questioned the "Aloha".
Location: Excellent location for a quite stay. Not much around, except other hotels/ resorts, but great food spots within a short drive.
Nice hotel with a beautiful private beach. Rooms seem dated, but are very comfortable.