Ratings based on 1,127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Great staff, facilities, area, mediocre room

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The common locations were gorgeous and the staff was very helpful in every way. The rates were reasonable, by Maui standards.
Cons: The room could have been cleaner and the carpet and tiling should be updated.
Location: It was very near some great beaches and golf courses, and Wailea has plenty of shopping and restaurants.
I was very impressed by the staff, which was very helpful and courteous, and the common areas, which were beautiful. Our dinner at the restaurant was very good, and reasonably priced by Maui standards. They don't nickel and dime you for extras, and had a free shuttle, free wifi and free bikes to use. However, our room needed a deep cleaning, and you could see where the maids didn't scrub the floors in the corners of the bathrooms or vacuum all of the rugs. If they replaced the tiles in the bathroom and the carpets and kept it cleaner, the rooms would be great. I would stay again, but would complain about the cleanliness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

조용한 분위기와 시설에 만족

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: 바로앞 비치가 있고 시설이 자연과 잘 어우러져 휴향하기 좋았음
Cons: 좀더 부대시설이 많았으면 좋겠음.
조용한 자연환경에서 휴식을 취하기 좋은 리조트였음. 골프리조트도 훌륭하였고, 객실이 가격대비 넓고 좋았음.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Fantastic, helpful staff on beautiful beach

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Nice location, nice beach, very helpful staff.
Cons: Breakfast buffet food could be a little hotter; we tried the buffet first morning and stuck with ala carte the rest of the week.
Location: Near Wailea; on Makena Beach. Easy to get to Molikini for snorkeling. Nearby lava fields, and of course great golfing nearby.
Whale watching was fantastic, right from the balcony. Fun activities in the evening, like star gazing and storytelling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us here at Makena. We are glad the that you got to enjoy whale season right from our rooms, and got the chance to try our complimentary guest activities such as star gazing and storytelling. Mahalo for taking the time to review Makena, we hope to see you again soon! Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bend, OR

Best place ever!

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Restaurant prices were high.
Location: Town close by. Lovely beaches all along coast.
We received an upgrade upon arrival, although I don't think any room would have been bad. It was a beautiful hotel...the staff was wonderful. The location was perfect. Close enough to town, but totally private and quiet with our own private beach. Honestly, it was the best vacation we've ever had!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha we are happy to have provided the location for your best vacation. Our resort away from the hustle and bustle provides the right amount of seclusion but still providing close enough access to attractions in Wailea and Kihei. We hope to welcome you back to sunny shores again in the near future. Till then we wish you a warm Aloha A Hui Ho!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, Ca

Sweet view

Posted Jan 23, 2015
I loved the view, staff was excellent and the room was spacious and comfortable. I would book my vacation there again in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Premium Service & Hospitality

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Hospitality
Cons: Nohing
Location: Best beaches on Maui Great for walking through Makena and the resorts along the ocean Golfing
It was the eighth vacation in Maui and the fourth time at Makena. From our reception by the valet to the staff at the beach and pool we are blown away by the professional service. We never met a staff member that didn't smile and go out of their way to accommodate us. This is truly what a resort should be !! 10 out of 10 !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha, we thank you for your continued support of Makena! We are glad to have provided you with the same hospitality and service that you have come to expect from your stays here. Mahalo for taking the time review our resort and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calif

Gem of a hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The setting is gorgeous. Love the open courtyard which makes it feel like you are outside all the time; the only part inside is your room.
Cons: Bring back the complimentary snorkel lessons/rentals which I understand they discontinued 2 months before our arrival.
Location: Snorkeling and beautiful beaches nearby, zip lining in the upcountry, Road to Hana (all day trip), shopping in Lahaina, drive to Haleakala Crater.
The word "resort" pretty aptly describes this lovely place. Located far south from the touristy parts of Maui, it truly feels like you are on an island paradise all your own. The hotel is designed around a large open courtyard landscaped with lush vegetation, waterfalls, and ponds filled with koi. A private beach is just a short walk from the pool area. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. When we asked about where to get the best shaved ice, one of the girls directed us to "Local Boys" in Kihei which was amazing! Hospitality was over the top: complimentary valet, bikes, bottled water, etc. I would absolutely recommend this place and plan to come back again. The only negative--leaving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Coast of CA

We will be back!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
We chose this hotel because of other reviews. We were not disappointed. Loved being away from the other resorts. Really quiet &peaceful. Staff made us feel welcome. From valet attendants to checkout, we were treated like special guests. Carmen, Ralph, Ryan, Garfel, Sunnie were all wonderful! Thank you. The whale watching from our lanai was amazing!!! Dolphins, sea turtles , snorkeling... Loved it all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha, we are so happy to hear that our customer service was as it should be during your stay and that our resort didn't disappoint. Your review has been forwarded to our entire team in recognition of the specific employees mentioned. We thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Makena. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Review for Makena Beach

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Beautiful atrium and open space; food were great at the restaurant Their concierge is very helpful
Beautiful hotel and resort; we were seconds from the beach; stunning atrium and very open space Our room overlooked the golf course Just a wonderful place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great location and close to a beautiful beach.

Posted Jan 16, 2015
The stay was very pleasant. The WiFi and parking are complementary. This is the last hotel going south from Kihei and in the very quiet area. The only problem was loud noise coming from the house construction north of the hotel during the day. I hope the construction is completed by the time we visit again.