Ratings based on 936 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It didn't feel like a 4.5 star but very clean

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The gardens and landscaping were amazing. The koi pond was fantastic.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, we are happy to hear you found our gardens and landscaping to be beautiful and that you found our property to be very clean. We thank you for taking the time write a review of the property!
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, we are happy to hear you found our gardens and landscaping to be beautiful and that you found our property to be very clean. We thank you for taking the time write a review of the property!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily from Toronto, ON

Great hotel and beautiful beach

Posted Mar 20, 2014
This hotel was full of friendly staff and beautiful views. The beach property was beautiful as well. The concierge desk was excellent and everyone was helpful!
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Aloha, we thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and views to your liking. We hope to be able to welcome you Makena sometime soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from Kailua-Kona

Awesome!

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Beautiful beach and far better than noisy, other side of island! Resort appeared to be relatively full but set up well so no crowds, no noise. Very quiet and good restaurant on site. Actually hadn't been to Maui in years due to noisy other side of island with mediocre hotels. This resort rocks!
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort and the peace and quiet the property affords our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Makena sometime in the near future. Thank you for the wonderful review!
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort and the peace and quiet the property affords our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Makena sometime in the near future. Thank you for the wonderful review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best 4* value in Maui

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Quiet, friendly helpful staff, excellent location.
Cons: Reopen the golf course.
Great price, nice view, excellent semi private beach, no charges for good high speed internet or valet parking. The Friday seafood buffet is exceptional, and the in house Starbucks is all we need for breakfast. Too bad the gold course is not open right now, but there are plenty of others nearby.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Aloha, We are glad that you got to enjoy our Friday Seafood Buffet and that our breakfast options were more than sufficient. Unfortunately yes, our golf course is still closed for renovation but we do offer complimentary shuttle service to the nearby Wailea courses. Mahalo!, we are grateful for your five star review of our Maui resort. Warmest Aloha from the Makena Ohana!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Very nice hotel, excellent staff

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Views and staff
Cons: More food choices and places to drink.
Location: Location was at end of road. Had to drive to shop and eat.
The staff was wonderful, very cordial and helpful. The hotel itself lacks some amenities. The only eating establishments were lacking choice and very expensive. We did have a nice stay.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Aloha, we thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are glad that you found our staff to be helpful and cordial. We are sorry to hear that our food and beverage selections were limited. Our resort has four fabulous dining options but we also provide guests with complimentary shuttle service to the various shopping and dining options in the nearby Wailea region. We are glad overall you had a nice stay with us. Warmest Aloha from the Makena team!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maui favorite from Vancouver

Quiet & Mesmerizing:

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Its overall services, comfortable & relaxing surroundings. Appreciated the Fruit plate greeting on my arrival night. The Concierge was valuable.
Cons: Wider food options (gluten & dairy-free) etc. , restaurants alternatives and a microwave in the room is a preference. Additional activities...
Location: Some shopping, suntanning on various beaches, biking, golfing.
In general overview, my stay at Makena Beach & Golf Resort was wonderful. The staff were quite pleasant and mostly eager to help and informative when asked. The room was comfortable and housekeeping were diligent in ensuring its cleanliness. There were a number of complimentary services and activities provided that allows the guest some points of interest without need to venture far, i.e. Chef Garden tour was one highlight:), Shuttle to nearby shopping, etc. The Valet Parking was a nice touch as well. However, the restaurant's menu selections and food options were quite disappointing. The hipe do not match the experience. It was acceptable but, limited. Was hoping for more and better tasting.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Aloha, we are glad to hear that you had overall a great stay at Makena with our various complimentary activities and amenities. We are sorry to hear that you found our restaurants to be limiting. Your comments have been forwarded to our Food & Beverage team for review. Mahalo for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maui favorite from Vancouver

Quiet & Mesmerizing:

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Its overall services, comfortable & relaxing surroundings. Appreciated the Fruit plate greeting on my arrival night. The Concierge was valuable.
Cons: Wider food options (gluten & dairy-free) etc. , restaurants alternatives and a microwave in the room is a preference. Additional activities...
Location: Some shopping, suntanning on various beaches, biking, golfing.
In general overview, my stay at Makena Beach & Golf Resort was wonderful. The staff were quite pleasant and mostly eager to help and informative when asked. The room was comfortable and housekeeping were diligent in ensuring its cleanliness. There were a number of complimentary services and activities provided that allows the guest some points of interest without need to venture far, i.e. Chef Garden tour was one highlight:), Shuttle to nearby shopping, etc. The Valet Parking was a nice touch as well. However, the restaurant's menu selections and food options were quite disappointing. The hipe do not match the experience. It was acceptable but, limited. Was hoping for more and better tasting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aloha Girl from Tustin, CA

Amazing

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: No smoking around non-smoking rooms.
Location: Beautiful and quiet location with the BEST snorkeling on the island!
Incredible Aloha spirit by entire staff! Awesome location and amazing rooms!!!
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
We are happy to hear that you really felt the spirit of Aloha at our property. Hope to be able to welcome you back to Makena sometime soon. Much Mahalo for your review.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
We are happy to hear that you really felt the spirit of Aloha at our property. Hope to be able to welcome you back to Makena sometime soon. Much Mahalo for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Chico, Ca

Older but very nice hotel on beach

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: Hotel restaurants were just OK.
Location: Removed from much of the tourists things to do. But very short drive to Kihei.
Makena is somewhat removed from much of the tourist scene on Maui, which is nice if you're just going there to "chill". The hotel beach is very nice, and not too crowed. Not far at all from "Big Beach". The hotel staff couldn't have been friendlier.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, we are glad that you found our property to be nice and relaxing and are sorry to hear that you customary guest service standards and famed friendliness was not present during your stay. Your comments have been forwarded to our team for further review. We thank you for your review.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, we are glad that you found our property to be nice and relaxing and are sorry to hear that you customary guest service standards and famed friendliness was not present during your stay. Your comments have been forwarded to our team for further review. We thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Shanghai, China

Nice but dated

Posted Mar 1, 2014
The hotel was quiet. Almost dead actually. Seems like the hotels in walking distance to the shopping center have stolen all the business. More of a spot for seniors than a young couple or people with kids. Very small pool, not much poolside dining options. But it was right on the beach. The room was quiet and the view was good. Bed was great and we slept well. The only really out of place thing was the bathroom. The toilet seat was disgusting. Old, yellowed, and looked like they stole it out of a truck stop.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, We are glad that you found our rooms to comfortable and relaxing. We are sorry to hear that you found our bathrooms to be so, cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us at Makena and your comments have been forwarded to our housekeeping team for review. We also are sorry to hear that overall our resort was not a good fit for you, we do cater to many families with kids of all ages and were recently voted a top romantic resort destination. We hope that overall you had a wonderful Maui stay. We thank you for your review.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Aloha, We are glad that you found our rooms to comfortable and relaxing. We are sorry to hear that you found our bathrooms to be so, cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us at Makena and your comments have been forwarded to our housekeeping team for review. We also are sorry to hear that overall our resort was not a good fit for you, we do cater to many families with kids of all ages and were recently voted a top romantic resort destination. We hope that overall you had a wonderful Maui stay. We thank you for your review.