Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bessemer, AL

finaly a good night sleep

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: every thing
Cons: the A/C unit was a little to small for the room it had a hard time cooling the room. Other than that everything was great!!
Location: plenty of restaurants, good prices and good food. Loved the beach at Mana Kai Maui.
Before comming to Mana Kai Maui we stayed at another Hotel, ( it was a Disaster) This place was a welcome sight to see. Nothing like the place we had just left total oppisite. I am very pleased with my stay here look foward to staying there again, only longer next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach and location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Great view and location. Loved the grounds and good size pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpectedly beautiful resort on the beach!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Excellent location - easy drive to most everywhere on the island. Go to Coconuts for fish tacos!
We booked with the Mana Kai Maui Resort at the very last minute - 24 hours prior to arrival. Based on the reviews, we weren't expecting much. But upon arrival, we were beyond pleased with what we had reserved. The common area (lobby, pool, etc.) is beautiful. Very well kept and clean. Our hotel room was also great. We were on the top floor and had an amazing view of the ocean and mountain. Loved it! There were only 2 downsides, albeit minor: 1) The front office is not 24/7 and we arrived after it closed. However, we were still able to get to our room without any trouble or headache. 2) The walls are thin and we could easily hear when our neighbors would leave, arrive, talk, etc. Sometimes we would think that they were entering our room when they turned the knob to open their own room - it was that loud / close. Overall, we were extremely happy with the Mana Kai Maui Resort and would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Great resort, Great location, Small Room

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Great location, great beach. friendly atmosphere
Cons: Tiny hotel rooms, bathroom needs updating
Location: The location is right on the beach. Plenty of things to do and places to eat within driving distance.
They offer condos and hotel rooms at the Mana Kai and classify them as A and B rooms. If the 2nd bedroom of each condo is not scheduled it is offered as a hotel room (B room). The hotel room was a lot smaller than expected and the bathroom was outdated and tiny. The lack of space does make it hard to find a place to put everything. The doors for the A and B rooms are almost touching each other so if your neighbor doesn’t close the door quietly at 3am you will definitely hear it. There were floors that were going thru a remodel so it is possible the outdated bathrooms are getting a facelift. The beach is beautiful and the sand is clean. There are several great locations to snorkel and see many types of fish and an occasional sea turtle. Some fish even came close enough to almost touch. There is a store onsite that has about everything you would want and I was surprised at how much that had. Some items were a little pricey but it was nice to satisfy that sudden craving without leaving the resort. The pool area was nice and very clean. The onsite tours/ticket booth was very helpful in booking a luau and offered a lot of different activities. I would recommend the Mana Kai Maui Resort. I would even recommend the smaller hotel room for those who can tolerate a smaller space and plan on being outside a lot. Although small, the hotel room did provide the cost savings to stay in Maui longer. Overall, the service was great, the resort was great and the beach location was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Vacation!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The 5 Palms! Our server Drea was outstanding and the Bartender Gabe was exceptional too!
Cons: No
Location: Friend
Great Location, Great ocean view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JOD from Montreal

Great location, room and views

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, roominess, comfort, views, facilities
Location: Long beach and nice reef right out the door; shopping and casual restaurants 5 minutes drive; surf-break (and lessons) 5 minutes drive;
Had a suite (BR w king bed, plus a king and a fold-out sofa in front room) for two parents and 3 teenagers. Plenty of space, nice balcony with great views (our room was at the beach end of the hotel) and good facilities (pool, sports equipment rental, well-stocked store on site). A beautiful long beach extends south from the hotel, and in addition there's a little reef right in front of it. We saw plenty of snorkelers swimming around it, and there's (inexpensive) rental equipment available just off the lobby, so though I'd never done it, I decided to give it a shot - and was dazzled by the variety of colorful corals and fish. Probably wouldn't have bothered if this hotel hadn't made it so darned easy - but now I'm hooked! Our kids also made good use of the pool and the beach. The store was handy too, as the hotel is a mile or two from "central" Kihei (only a five minute drive, it's true - but if you want a quart of milk or a bottle of wine or some sunscreen, it's great to just run downstairs and get it). There's a very nice restaurant too, but being a bit upscale for our gang, we generally made that five-minute drive - or took advantage of our suite's well-stocked kitchen to make our own meals. We spent our days mostly on excursions away from the hotel (Lahaina, Haleakala, Hana), so we didn't require a lot - but what a great place to enjoy the views (and sunsets!) at the end of the day, to get a good night's sleep, and to enjoy a morning coffee before heading out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location, though not a regular hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location. RIGHT on the beach. 20 steps and you're in the sea. Put a mask on and you'll find fish and giant turtles. very cool
Cons: The lobby experience, and the renovation noise (though i don't know how it could be improved short of shutting the place down for a month)
Location: As i say, right on the beach, which is much better than many of the larger hotels and resorts
Most hotels have a nice lobby and staff who'll greet and help you 24/7. This one doesn't. It just has a small window where a couple of pleasant staff members will give you your key and paperwork, and it's open just during the day. The are cleaning staff who do a good job on the rooms, but apart from that you're pretty much on your own. For us this was fine, so just be aware. The only thing we were disappointed with, and why we ultimately moved on, was the major renovation project that's going on. I didn't come on vacation to listen to what sounded like jackhammers, even if it was on a different floor. This hadn't been disclosed to us when booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukiah, Ca

Wow! As good as I had hoped!

Posted Jun 20, 2014
I stayed on the hotel side years ago and realized I'd made a mistake reading reviews from people who had stayed on the ocean side. Determined to have the experience I'd set out to have then I recently returned. AMAZINGLY KIND AND HELPFUL STAFF AND A VIEW THAT WILL KNOCK YOUR SOCKS OFF.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Oceanfront location
Cons: Reservation process
Hotel rooms are small and overpriced...description is a bit deceiving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anita from utah

Beautiful beach on property

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The beach and the location
Cons: Air conditioning and brighter lights in the bathroom.
Room was kinda hot no air conditioning, cooled down at night though. Left slider open to catch the ocean breeze. Bathroom was hot and the lighting was too dim for me. Other than that this property was perfect. Would not hesitate to go back. The beach was just beautiful! Not crowded !