Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Great resort, Great location, Small Room

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Great location, great beach. friendly atmosphere
Cons: Tiny hotel rooms, bathroom needs updating
Location: The location is right on the beach. Plenty of things to do and places to eat within driving distance.
They offer condos and hotel rooms at the Mana Kai and classify them as A and B rooms. If the 2nd bedroom of each condo is not scheduled it is offered as a hotel room (B room). The hotel room was a lot smaller than expected and the bathroom was outdated and tiny. The lack of space does make it hard to find a place to put everything. The doors for the A and B rooms are almost touching each other so if your neighbor doesn’t close the door quietly at 3am you will definitely hear it. There were floors that were going thru a remodel so it is possible the outdated bathrooms are getting a facelift. The beach is beautiful and the sand is clean. There are several great locations to snorkel and see many types of fish and an occasional sea turtle. Some fish even came close enough to almost touch. There is a store onsite that has about everything you would want and I was surprised at how much that had. Some items were a little pricey but it was nice to satisfy that sudden craving without leaving the resort. The pool area was nice and very clean. The onsite tours/ticket booth was very helpful in booking a luau and offered a lot of different activities. I would recommend the Mana Kai Maui Resort. I would even recommend the smaller hotel room for those who can tolerate a smaller space and plan on being outside a lot. Although small, the hotel room did provide the cost savings to stay in Maui longer. Overall, the service was great, the resort was great and the beach location was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Vacation!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The 5 Palms! Our server Drea was outstanding and the Bartender Gabe was exceptional too!
Cons: No
Location: Friend
Great Location, Great ocean view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JOD from Montreal

Great location, room and views

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, roominess, comfort, views, facilities
Location: Long beach and nice reef right out the door; shopping and casual restaurants 5 minutes drive; surf-break (and lessons) 5 minutes drive;
Had a suite (BR w king bed, plus a king and a fold-out sofa in front room) for two parents and 3 teenagers. Plenty of space, nice balcony with great views (our room was at the beach end of the hotel) and good facilities (pool, sports equipment rental, well-stocked store on site). A beautiful long beach extends south from the hotel, and in addition there's a little reef right in front of it. We saw plenty of snorkelers swimming around it, and there's (inexpensive) rental equipment available just off the lobby, so though I'd never done it, I decided to give it a shot - and was dazzled by the variety of colorful corals and fish. Probably wouldn't have bothered if this hotel hadn't made it so darned easy - but now I'm hooked! Our kids also made good use of the pool and the beach. The store was handy too, as the hotel is a mile or two from "central" Kihei (only a five minute drive, it's true - but if you want a quart of milk or a bottle of wine or some sunscreen, it's great to just run downstairs and get it). There's a very nice restaurant too, but being a bit upscale for our gang, we generally made that five-minute drive - or took advantage of our suite's well-stocked kitchen to make our own meals. We spent our days mostly on excursions away from the hotel (Lahaina, Haleakala, Hana), so we didn't require a lot - but what a great place to enjoy the views (and sunsets!) at the end of the day, to get a good night's sleep, and to enjoy a morning coffee before heading out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location, though not a regular hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location. RIGHT on the beach. 20 steps and you're in the sea. Put a mask on and you'll find fish and giant turtles. very cool
Cons: The lobby experience, and the renovation noise (though i don't know how it could be improved short of shutting the place down for a month)
Location: As i say, right on the beach, which is much better than many of the larger hotels and resorts
Most hotels have a nice lobby and staff who'll greet and help you 24/7. This one doesn't. It just has a small window where a couple of pleasant staff members will give you your key and paperwork, and it's open just during the day. The are cleaning staff who do a good job on the rooms, but apart from that you're pretty much on your own. For us this was fine, so just be aware. The only thing we were disappointed with, and why we ultimately moved on, was the major renovation project that's going on. I didn't come on vacation to listen to what sounded like jackhammers, even if it was on a different floor. This hadn't been disclosed to us when booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukiah, Ca

Wow! As good as I had hoped!

Posted Jun 20, 2014
I stayed on the hotel side years ago and realized I'd made a mistake reading reviews from people who had stayed on the ocean side. Determined to have the experience I'd set out to have then I recently returned. AMAZINGLY KIND AND HELPFUL STAFF AND A VIEW THAT WILL KNOCK YOUR SOCKS OFF.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Oceanfront location
Cons: Reservation process
Hotel rooms are small and overpriced...description is a bit deceiving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anita from utah

Beautiful beach on property

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The beach and the location
Cons: Air conditioning and brighter lights in the bathroom.
Room was kinda hot no air conditioning, cooled down at night though. Left slider open to catch the ocean breeze. Bathroom was hot and the lighting was too dim for me. Other than that this property was perfect. Would not hesitate to go back. The beach was just beautiful! Not crowded !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Redmond, WA

Awesome Hotel beautiful views of the Ocean/

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: I just looked online and read reviews.
Cons: We were happy with how things were.
The staff was wonderful and you simply can't beat the views and easy access to the beach. We loved our trip and can't wait to go back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Santa Cruz

Mana Kai Maui in Kihei

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: front deck staff, lanai's, on the beach, mini mart, restaurant on premises, easy parking
Cons: the cost!
Location: at the end of Kihei and right on a very nice beach. You can snorkel right out front or walk down to Ullua/Mokapu.
We've stayed at the Mana Kai Maui many times over the years. Part of the reason is the view off each lanai which is exceptional. Some things this time were not quite as pleasing. We had to ask the front desk for more bathroom supplies (toilet paper and tissue) as both were seriously low and no replacements could be found anywhere in the condo..this happened the night we got there. Also, this room had no sound system at all, not even a radio with an MP3 player. The Mai-Tai's at the Five Palms cocktail lounge were way below standard, quite awful in fact, and we have tried quite a few different places on the island and know a GOOD Mai-Tai! The lounge chairs in the lawn are zealously guarded by a security guard (only for guests, which we get), but they are BEYOND uncomfortable, we started calling them (the rack)! The convenience of having a mini mart downstairs is lovely, the lobby and room were very nice and the front desk people were extremely helpful and even directed us to an Urgent Care that we unfortunately needed which was very nice. The room rates for these rooms are too much we think but we've been coming back because of the view and many other amenities, however, we have found another place that we think will better meet our needs, it too is right on the beach, but with a lower price tag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniela from Dallas

Unexpected Treasure

Posted May 29, 2014
Location: Its Maui. There's lots to do and everything is near by
Mana Kai Maui seems to be made up of condos and hotel rooms. We stayed in a hotel room which wasn't even supposed to have an ocean view, but it did (it was gorgeous). The room had everything we needed, including a mini-fridge and new TV. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very self contained- there is an activity booth where you can reserve any number of adventures (we already had our Maui stay planned out, but I'm sure they would be very helpful to anyone who was overwhelmed with the many options for what to do in Maui), there is a surf shop where you can rent snorkel/surf gear and schedule a lesson, and a restaurant on site (its not affiliated with the hotel but they offered us a coupon upon check-in). The hotel is located in Kihei, which is about 25 minutes from Kahului and about 2.5 hours to the top of Haleakala Crater. The rate we got was very affordable and our expectations were pretty low- we were so pleasantly surprised that we will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone