Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Room was very quiet, nice flowers, clean, etc. I liked the hot tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, Chris! We appreciate your complimentary remarks and hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Frances from Seattle

Hmmm...

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Was advertised as a hotel but was actually a condo & not under the same management as the majority of the place. Somewhat confusing. Also, rooms only cleaned twice a week? A confusing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Frances. We apologize for the confusion. Maui Banyan is in fact a timeshare resort that also rents out rooms, hotel-style, to retail guests. Guest units are managed by different companies, and which room you receive is determined by the company you booked through. We are disappointed you did not have a more enjoyable time and wish you a great next visit to Maui wherever you should stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

resort with 3 level parking garage no elevator

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Across the road a beach
Cons: Remove all the speed bumps in the garage, to many speed bumps
Location: Eat & ABC store
Did not like room with a connecting room (lock out room) hear people in the connecting room talking & their TVacross
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Ron. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we do not meet your expectations and wish you an enjoyable next visit to Maui wherever you should stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by phillip from ohio

not happy

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
Not a very good one
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Philip. We are disappointed we fell short of expectations and wish you a wonderful next visit to Maui wherever you should stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OK in Kihei

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
They put us in a building furthest away from the beach, with no view at all. However on the plus side it was on the first floor in a 3 story building without an elevator. The room was clean and comfortable enough but nothing special. The Maui Banyan "welcome" mat at the entrance to the building was thread-bare and filthy. What is management thinking? the pools are small, but they have nice BBQ grills available. There's one tennis court, plus ample parking. the grounds are well maintained. It's an OK hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we did not fully meet your expectations. It would have been our pleasure to place you in a room with a premium ocean view had one been available. Unfortunately your visit coincided with our busy season, when many of our vacation club owners are using their weeks. They get first choice of rooms, and as you can imagine, those with ocean views go quickly. Thank you for pointing out the condition of the welcome mat. It certainly isn't a good way to make a positive first impression, and we will replace it immediately. Thank you once again for staying us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Read the fine print and you'll be fine!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: I like the location for the most part. Rooms are clean. People are very nice there.
Cons: As mentioned above.. the 'studio-suite' description should be more clear as to what is/is not included in the amenities.
Location: Great beaches, perfect spot to be 'in the middle' of the Wailea/Makena-Lahaina excursions.
I've stayed at MB before and this time when I was looking staying there I neglected to take the word 'studio- suite' seriously. I wrongfully assumed that it would have the same basic amenities as the prior visit to a non studio-suite and the amenities listed under the condo amenities list are NOT included in the studio suite.. i.e. no washer/dryer in room, no beach chairs for use, etc. It worked out okay and my companion and I enjoyed our trip in spite of the lack of room amenities which was my own fault really but I think if that was mentioned in the studio suite description that would have been helpful when I was making my choices. Also: once someone started occupying the adjoining room (the last 2 days of our trip) we could hear every single thing over there, it sounded like they were right there with us. It didn't help that they were up at 5am making smoothies either, but that's not the fault of MB of course.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed we did not fully meet your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great staff, great location

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Room was sufficient & can't beat the price. You don't spend much time in the room anyway... it is great for a budget traveler who wants more cash to do all the fun activities!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments, JR. We are glad you had an enjoyable time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Pretty beach by side. Worth more than what u spend

Posted Dec 27, 2014
A pretty beach just locates on the other side of the street. wonderful view of a sunset. I like the style of this hotel, providing almost every thing I need for cooking. You can buy some fresh fruit and DIY your smoothie. Onsite bbq is good and convenient. If you want have a holiday and treat youself as at home with families, it's a good place for its price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, echo! We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that our resort made you feel at home. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Right across from the street.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
We got a room with a joining door. The walls are thin. Could hear people in the next room talking. However, no additional charges for wifi, parking, or daily resort fees, and so close to the beach. So I guess we can overlook other shortcomings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback, June. We are disappointed we did not fully meet your expectations. It is great to know you still had an enjoyable time despite your reservations, and we wish you a wonderful next visit to Maui wherever you should stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Hotel inconveniences and lack of concern

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Nearness to the beach
Cons: cleaning and linen services and responsiveness to their customers.
Location: Plenty
We were there for 7 nights. Not once did the staff change the bed linens. only once did the staff replace the towels. After paying over a Thousand dollars for the week, I would have thought we would have had better service. The only other place we stayed for more than one night had daily linen service and cleaning services. Fortunately, we were on the ground floor, but we were told there were no elevators in the buildings when we were concerned about climbing stairs due to my hip problems. How do disabled people navigate the upper floors. I called the desk once to ask about linen service and left my name and room # since the front desk was busy with others, or so the recording said. I did not receive a call back from the front desk or someone else. Any cleaning of the room was done by my daughter and I. I will not stay there again or recommend the hotel to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, John. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. We are not sure why you did not receive a housekeeping visit. Guests staying a full seven nights are entitled to one free cleaning on the fourth day. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our executive housekeeper to determine the reason. As a timeshare resort, we do not follow the daily housekeeping model of traditional hotels. This is in deference to our timeshare owners, many of whom do not want the disturbance of a daily visit. We do offer daily housekeeping for a fee. The fact you didn’t receive a response to your request for extra linens falls well below our standards for efficient customer service. We are sorry we did not return your call. Since we are a two-story building without elevators, we do not assign upper-floor rooms to visitors with disabilities. We hope you will accept our apology for the inconveniences you experienced and are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.