Ratings based on 1,073 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Encinitas CA

"Old Hawaii" Hotel Near Beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere, the staff, and the price.
Cons: The only comment was the room had a mild odor from a cleaning product.
Location: Shopping across the street. I saw someone fishing where the hotel grassy area meets the bay.
I stayed 5 nights at the Marriott and selected the Maui Beach Hotel for the 6th night. I felt like I was in a hotel which was relaxed and pleasing, and incorporated a flavor from the past. The staff was genuine and very helpful. Though an old hotel, it was very clean, quiet, and convenient. The drapes in the room were older but did a great job keeping the room dark. I recommend this hotel for vacation or business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

Just one night in town close to everything

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Maui Beach Hotel is a good hotel to stay in town. I had a ocean view room and saw people having fun on the rocks next to the beach.
Cons: The common areas of this hotel needs some renovation, from the lobby to the walkways. The ac in the room needs to be changed to a quieter ac.
Location: Maui Beach Hotel is like in town close to airport, shopping, theatres, grocery store. Safeway and Walgreens are 24-hour stores located nearby.
Maui Beach Hotel is situated in town close to everything, from shopping to scenic areas. Upon check-in, I paid the resort and parking fee. Maui Beach Hotel does not look like a resort and requires a much needed renovation. The room was nice and clean compared to the common areas. The room had the basic amenities, wireless connection, and a ps3. Watch out for the very loud ac than needs to be adjusted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pretty nice hotel, clean with ice cold a/c. Room comes with a flatscreen and a PS3. They do seem to be renovating so you will see people working around the hotel, they were not noisy though. The hotel is right next to the beach, however the rocks on the ground make it a place where you wouldn't want to swim.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't trust the pictures

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I reserved a room for 5 people, with a garden view, 2 beds and a pull-out sofa. Upon check in, I was told my reservation was for only 2 people and they only had a king size bed room with the garden view. We were finally given a street facing room with 2 beds and a regular sofa. The gap under the room door was so large we had to place a towel across it. I saw a cockroach run across the bathroom counter, and my husband saw two on the shelf in the closet. Had we arrived earlier I would have demanded my money back and stayed at the Marriott down the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lahaina, hi

Nice spot , good atmosphere . Close to everything

Posted Apr 2, 2015
The staff could be alittle more lively, other than that everything was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Convenient location and good value.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Satff were friendly and the location was convenient for shopping. Nice harbour view.
Cons: It is an older building but didn't seriously destract from the overall pleasant experience.
Location: The mall is well populated with a variety of stores and there are a number of restaurants, food stores, department stores in the area.
This is not a tpical beach resort type hotel. Located in a commercial district downtown, the hotel is on the harbour and minutes away from a large mall including Macy's. Being on the highway it is a busy area but very close to the airport near all major highways out of town. A nice average sized pool that is clean but interestingly adjacent to the restaurant which was sparesely populated while we were there. The hotel could use a little 'freshening up' but clean enough and the staff is very friendly and helpful. For the price the hotel has all the basic ammenities and wasin my opinion good value compared to alternate locations in the resort areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

One night stay would be the longest.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The ocean view.
Cons: Better air conditioners and updated rooms.
Location: Close to shopping malls that one can walk to. Best restaurant is the hotel next to it.
Knowledge of nearby restaurants was low to none. Not courteous at check-in. Air conditioner was super loud. No swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot for a quick stopover

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We weren't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised! Hotel is aging but it was very clean and all staff we met were excellent! We were exhausted from 20 hours of travel. Comfortable bed, clean room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom midwest

Might be racist.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
About the only interaction I had with the staff was on Friday when I inquired about the 80's night event they have. I asked if it drew a younger crowd (I'm 28) and they were hesitant to answer. Then I asked if it was like an older crowd and they said yes and instead of suggesting I attend, they told me to go to Kihei. I said thank you and went to Kihei. This was around 9pm. Kihei wasn't very happening. It was around 11pm when I got back to the hotel. They have a big Parking lot, I mean big, and it was packed. People of all ages walking around. I tho "Why would they tell me to go to Kihei, this place is the place to be!?". I got in line behind some young kids. I was the only Caucasian standing in line, it's 11:40pm. I made eye contact with one of the receptionists I talked to earlier who was at the podium to get in at the front of the line and then they announce they are only letting 9 more people in. There's about 12 people in front of me. Some of the young kids got upset and left. They told everyone else to leave. They had 2 security guys at the door. I walked up to the first one and asked if they were doing "1 person out, 1 in" and they said no. I said, "but I'm a guest here." He said sorry. A local kid came up who knew the security guard and they let him in. I walked to the reception and said "so they aren't letting anyone else in..." She said sorry they must have ran out of wrist bands. "So I'll just go back to my room.." She says "Ok.". I couldn't believe what happened.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel that is centrally located

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Color, floors, furniture.
Location: The best sites of Maui have the easiest access from Kahului, where this motel is located.
This could be a great hotel, if it were refurbished and updated. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was great. But, the rooms were drab, dated, and a little worn. Its central location was its best feature.