Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BJ from Morocco

Fabulous beach hotel full amenities

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The beach!
Cons: The mattresses and bed linen. When we checked in, the sheets were very rumpled and bed untidily made. Old mattresses, pillows
Location: Car needed to stay there
Staff extremely helpful and well informed. Hotel is located in small, 2 storey units and has separate small, adjacent swimming pools. Large rooms and bathrooms with lanai. Every request promptly answered. Good for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth from Calgary

Golden crescent beach, quiet, lush

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It is quiet, clean, close to amenities, and has a small private lanai. It isn't a huge hotel, so doesn't feel busy.
Location: Snorkeling: Honolua Bay, Napili Bay Restaurants: Star Noodle in Lahaina is a MUST Food: Napili Market
This is our second stay at Napili Kai. The beach is a golden crescent of fine sand and the waves are mostly gentle, broken by a coral reef where we saw turtles, fish and once even a small octopus when we snorkelled. The rooms are clean and quiet. The resort is close to restaurants in Lahaina, and a fabulous snorkelling beach just north, Honolua Bay, where the catamarans come daily with boatloads of snorkelers, but which is accessible by car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ChillyWilly from Oahu

Family friendly hotel away from the wild crowd

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Secure and safe for young girls. Restaurant at location. Outstanding staff. Air Conditioner.
Cons: Remove all roosters. Provide room service meals or a pizza delivery.
Location: Plenty of golf. Ziplining was awesome. Snorkel at the hotel location. Great runs with little traffic.
Nice location hotel of Northern Maui. Beautiful scenery and relaxed atmosphere. Great for families with elementary children or those who want to stay away from the club scenes or large crowds. My only negative was that there are roosters in the area that started to crow at 4am. I would've liked the ability for room service. You will need a car in this area and there are plenty of restaurants to drive to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxed tropical retreat

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Very peaceful location, lush landscaping, on a beautiful bay which is protected from wind and waves;coastal trail
Location: Snorkelling in the bay, right next to Kapalua which has beautiful golf courses, and the coastal trail.
Napili Kai is a beautiful, low key ocean front hotel that's away from the hoards of tourists in Kaanapali. It's rooms are more like condos and has the laid back feel of the Hawaii years ago. It's beautifully landscaped grounds are filled with tropical plants & several pools for those who don't want to venture into the beautiful bay. I've been to Maui many times and have stayed in all areas (Kaanapali, Wailea, Kapalua) and this was a first stay here and definitely not my last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view from our room

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Cons: Food in restaurant
The hotel is unique in that it is some hotel owned and some individually owned. We toyed in a studio in lani bldg that had been redone nicely. Close to Kapalua beach for snorkeling, Napoli on site was great for swimming. Restaurant was okay. My husbands meal was not good. I had the tenderloins and it was good. Ours did not have ac and was not a problem. We left the doors open and had a great breeze and listened to the waves and palms. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gini from QLD, AUS

Nice and spacious, beautiful grounds

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Large beds and big rooms. Quite complex
Cons: Bathrooms are a little outdated
Location: 15 miute drive to Lahiana with great restaurants. Iron Imu BBQ a couple of hotels down is great.
Great service, free rentals of mini golf, snorkles and surf boards. Onsite parking and small unit blocks across the grounds, great beach access, only have to share with 2 other resorts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice in Napili

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Location: Merrimans Restaurant is next door. Kapalua golf courses are very close.
Room did not have A/C. If it was hot, this could be a problem. This also makes noise more of an issue. The ocean view was very nice. The smaller property makes for more of a community feel. The Sea House restaurant on site is quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Cons: Seahorse restaurant disappointing for evening meal , convenient and ok for snacks
Outside resort activity a great base to discover Maui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Tokyo

Nice resort and beautiful beach

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Comfy king bed. Peaceful/relaxing location.
Cons: Generally OK
Location: Next to some beautiful beaches. Need a car to get here and to visit other places on Maui.
We stayed 6 nights at the end of Jan 2014. Unfortunately the weather decided to rain most days but on the sunny days it was really beautiful. Our room included a small kitchenette so we could cook some days to save on cost. The hotel's restaurant was also very nice when we dined there with friendly staff. It does get busy at times but we didn't have to wait long even without any reservations. The hotel has car parking. Guests get a free parking permit. We had no problems with parking except on Wednesday night when we had to spend a minute or two looking for a space (they host slack key performance on Wednesday's, so outside visitors also come). Generally, we had a big american car and could park in the spaces no problem (just a small squeeze). The beaches are very nice and you can walk to nearby beaches. Tip: There's a general store just 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Useful for snacks/drinks. Alternatively, Safeway supermarket is about a 15 minute drive from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014