Ratings based on 2,576 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Love the cottages

Posted May 5, 2015
I'm not sure why but the hotel thinks it's an "upgrade" to stay in the tower instead of the cottages. The reason we stay at this hotel is because of the cottages alone. The inside is nothing fancy but it's clean and convenient and the landscape is beautiful. They "upgraded" us to the tower and we politely asked to have our cottage back which they did for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great location

Posted May 5, 2015
I loved my stay at the Royal Lahaina! It was close to the beach, the grounds were beautifully maintained, and the staff was great! The only downside was that we got a deal on the stay due to current renovations and we stayed in an older unit that hadn't been fixed up yet. So there were wear and tear issues with the air conditioning and overall state of the unit. However, the cleanliness was still great and we got to enjoy such a great location at lower cost! We enjoyed the beautiful beachfront and could just walk over to black rock for snorkeling! We didn't mind and would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful Resort

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Very well kept and beautiful.
Cons: I was understanding about the little bugs because we were in a garden and we are in NATURE but maybe they can improve on that. It wasn't a lot.
Location: The Maui Brewing company is 5 minutes away, whaler's village is also near by. The location is perfect. The beach looks like a postcard.
Went last week for my honeymoon, I have been wanting to visit this resort for a couple of years now. I loved it!!!!!!! we stayed in a garden cottage and it was awesome, we had our own little back patio, and it was great. The grounds were very well manicured, the beach was beautiful. I loved hanging out at the barefoot bar by the pool, very scenic. Definitely coming back next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Our Maui Vacation.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Close to beach, grounds well kept, staff friendly.
Cons: Some work on the rooms is need again, at least ours requires it.
Location: Resort is centrally located to everything. Shopping is close and getting around if you have a car is no problem.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Resort is right on the beach. Grounds are keep in excellent condition. Parking is a problem, spaces are very narrow and you can just about get out of your car. Dressing area of the room is dark, more lighting is needed. Resort had major remodel in 2008, our room needed work again. Shower door was leaking water. Ceiling in shower had paint peeling and some signs of mold were present around the shower door. Air Conditioning broke down, (nothing for 4 days), was not yet fixed when we left, sleeping in a hot humid room was difficult. They provided a fan if requested. They also pick up the cost of parking for the air conditioning problem, which was nice. The whole tower was without AC and they were hearing about it. The place was OK but we will probably try another resort the next time we go.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will definitely go again

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: It was nice location, very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff,
Cons: Internet
I was out first trip to Maui so we enjoy the beach, and went exploring surrounding area. Had to leave something for our next trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom hi

No air condition can't believe

Posted May 3, 2015
Upon arrival, we were told that we didn't have air condition in the room. However hotel paied $50 to each room. I was thinking that because I booked via Expedia package. That is why hotel treats us different. I took my friend to visit Maui since it was golden week in Japan. And told them how nice is the hotel. I was so ambraessed to tell my friend that no air-con in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis

Do not stay at this resort

Posted May 2, 2015
The air conditioning was out the entire time we were there and there was no compensation for it. If you smoke this is not the place for you. They didnt have showers where you could wash off From the beach... we paid for a full beach view but only got a partial..
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Citrus Heights CA

Returned to the Royal Lahaina Resort after 15 year

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Updating. Reviewing menu items and food quality. Tower has been refurbished, but a/c was not replaced. Parts hard to find. Down for 2 wk min.
Location: Whalers Village, other resorts and convenient to Lahaina and highway routes.
In reviewing some of the information, I read about the cottages having been refurbished, but in reality only a very few have been done and only this year. Thus, after 15 years of "in attention" the conditions are quite worn. I was surprised that my cottage was in as good a shape as it was. With my last visit, I was fortunate enough to have a single story cottage so no noises from above. The unit I was in was extremely noisy with people constantly slamming doors, standing outside a louvered bathroom window (within inches) and carrying on a loud and long very early morning conversation. The staff is great. The room attendants did such a good job. Was able to talk with a couple of them and both were extremely pleasant. They did a very good job. The parking was free on my last visit and that isn't so much a problem. Valet parking is $15 per day and self-parking is $10. In the self-parking, spaces are very small and limited. Many spaces go to waste as another vehicle is not able to park when the next vehicle is way over the line (or just a larger vehicle). The fun part is trying to find a self-parking spot during the luau (note that luau atendees are charged $5 to park too). Valet parking isn't worth it. Had pina colada at beach bar for $13.86 (small plastic glass). Menu stated $11 and was told by bartender that prices just went up. The few experiences with the expensive restaurant was that food quality was substandard. I don't mind paying $ for good food only.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin

NO AIRCONDITIONING

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Staff was fantastic
Cons: Communication regarding issues that happened during our stay could have been much better!
Location: Restaurants, shopping, luau and BEACH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My husband and I met 7 other family members an all stayed here from 4/22-4/27/2015. We had a fantastic time. The air conditioning went out on Friday, 04/24/2015 around 1:00 p.m. and was not repaired before we left on Monday. The hotel contacted each travel company that we had purchased our package trips through and requested a $250 credit. I have yet to find the credit actually deposited in my account, thus I will be contacting Expedia directly. Thank you, Mary Lynne Reagan
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Close to beach

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: The valet, bell service was good.
Cons: The whole resort!
Hard to keep room cool. The air conditioner does not cool the room adequately. The cottage needs to be updated. Everything is "old" in the bathroom. Our refrigerator had to be replaced because the freezer door didn't close properly. Requested an extra blanket three times, and each time, housekeeping brought up the wrong item.