Ratings based on 2,250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Colombia

Nice and calm

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Clean, good food, calm area.
Cons: pool area isn't great
Location: Front street is very close. You can go and visit the shops there and have lunch or dinner.
This hotel is really nice. It is in a great area where other more luxurious ones are located but this one is more calm and relaxed. Hotel staff are nice and friendly. The food was delicious! It was disappointing that they were renovating one of the pools so there was not only one less pool available (the hotel has two small pools) but the noise could be heard even from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

First timer in Maui

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Excellent resort, in need of repairs due to weather but repairs were in progress.Ready to go back and leave behind the hassle of everyday life.Great people at resort, willing to listen and help u out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Second time :-)

Posted Nov 7, 2014
I enjoy this hotel the staff is friendly and helpful, this is my second time staying at this hotel is so close to the ocean It takes me less than 2 minutes to enjoy Lahaina beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cons: Parking spaces were so small and far away that I think I'll get valet parking next time.
Very nice hotel, and close to the beach. Restaurant has good food. Luau is second to none on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the 5-star rating and positive feedback. Our Royal Lahaina Resort Luau is definitely a great time and something every visitor to Maui should experience. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, clean grounds.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly Bartending and restaraunt staff. Grounds were kept clean and orderly. Beach was always clean and free from debris.
Cons: Shower area was poorly kept with stained tiles and mold in the shower door seams. Bed wasn't properly made and coffee cups were not available regularl
Location: Location is close to a small mall with food and water sports equipment rentals. Beach is at end of property with pools available. Luau is on property.
Most hotel employees friendly. Great bartending and restaraunt staff. Mainteneance and Housekeeping skills not so great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. Happy to read that you were pleased with the friendliness and service of our associates and that you enjoyed our tropical grounds. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Staff were excellent & went out of their way to please. The bed was the most uncomfortable ever & the ac blew cold air on our heads all night. Overall, great value & worth it; would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha Jackie. Thank you for the review. Glad to see read that you were pleased with the service and value offered at the resort and would return. We strive to offer our guests a great vacation value and will continue with measures such as our No Resort Fees policy to ensure that Royal Lahaina Resort guests are receiving the very best value available on Maui. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Califonia

Outdated.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Best beach.
Cons: Fitness room, jacuzzi, updating of rooms. The plumbing was terrible. Toilet easily plugged. Hot water inconsistent.
Location: Great location, trolley to other Kaanapali locations, and shuttle for low cost to Lahaina. Luaus, jet skiing, parasailing all fairly close.
Beautiful location and great beach, but hotel needs a major overhaul. The only workout room is just a training room, where you pay for a personal trainer, or take classes. There are no individual fitness machines. There is no jacuzzi available. Supposedly there is one way up by their deteriorating tennis courts, but it was not in operation. We wanted to switch hotels but we were locked in, so we made the best of it. The staff is very friendly, and the location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha Mac. Thank you for the feedback. Sorry that we were not exactly what you were looking for, but glad that you were pleased with the staff and location. As you note, we do have a hot tub which is located at our Tennis Ranch. Not sure if there was an issue during your visit but the hot tub is usually available and in operation. I would also like to note that in January 2015, our Tennis Ranch will once again host the Royal Lahaina Challenger, a USTA Pro Circuit Event and Hawaii's only professional tennis tournament. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I never wanted to leave

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Got a great price on Expedia for Halloween in front at. Checked in and got upgraded to the suite because there was availability. Brilliant! Great view, location, and hospitality. Only feedback I have is if the food was just a little bit more edible this hotel would be a six star. Stay at the Royal Lahaina.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review and five star rating. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Cottages

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Easy access friendly staff. Great fascilities.
Cons: In the cottages air conditioners need to be quieter.
Location: Need a car to visit attractions as there are numerous. Visit CJ's restaurant a ferw minutes walk away.
Road cottage was near main road and noisy. However we were able to change without difficulty. Had difficulty with Internet, this should be free. Room cleanliness on last two days could have been better. Air con rather noisy and needs upgrades. Lovely stay though and close to the beach. Does have a nice atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. Glad to read that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the atmosphere, despite a few issues. The resort does offer complimentary standard in room Wi-Fi that is geared for text and email, as well as a premium Wi-Fi option which has a daily charge and is more suitable for video streaming, etc. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Great place!

Posted Oct 22, 2014
There were some hiccups with the facilities but they solved the issues and provided options. Nicely handled. Staff are nice and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha ShayJay. Thank you for the positive review. So happy to see that our associates were able to turn the "hiccups" around and assist in delivering a great experience. Mahalo.