Ratings based on 2,727 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston/Kemah, Texas

Family Vacation with 2 Young Adults

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Location, room size.
Cons: Friendlier/better trained staff, add complimentary bottles of water in room each day, clean the glass shower doors in the bathroom.
Location: Close to Whaler's Village shopping center. Be sure to get the fried rice breakfast at Gazebos!! Get it to go!
This was a celebration for our family; 25 year anniversary, one graduation from college & one high school. The hotel was very nice and clean. We really liked our room with the very large walk in shower and the large room. My only complaints would be the following: we arrived at 9:00 from our stay on Kauai and our room was not ready until 4:00. They held our suitcases at the hotel and we drove next door to the so pping village (they do provide a free shuttle I believe) and ate lunch at Hula Girl (great place and good food).When we returned, there were about 20 people waiting to check in and approximately 50 suitcases in the entry with MANY people waiting for their rooms to be ready. Luckily, our rooms were ready, however, they gave my adult son and daughter a king bed. Needless to say, they do NOT want to sleep together plus I had requested and paid for 2 doubles when I booked the hotel 4 months ago. I called the front desk and the young man on the phone was not very accommodating, simply repeating over and over, "We cannot guarantee what you reserved". He mumbled maybe they could move tomorrow & he put me on hold. After about 5 minutes a lady picked up the phone. She was much nicer and more accommodating and moved the kids to the double bed the next day. The waitress we had at the restaurant (female from Argentina) was pretty bad -never refilled our drinks during dinner & then asked us to take our after dinner coffee to go (we didn't).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowling Green KY

My home while in Maui!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
For me, the BEST resort on Maui. Yes, it's older, yes, it's smaller. Everything thing else about this place is over the top great!! Especially the staff, from the housekeepers to the Presdent of the company Tom whom I have met are great, friendly,helpful people who are glad you are there. Our daughter was married At Royal Lahania last week, I put my full trust in them to make that occasion what we all want our daughters wedding to be and they did not disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Nice hotel right on beach.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Staff was extremely helpful. Our bag did not arrive as American Airlines didn't get it transfered to our Hawaii flight. It arrived at midnight and the staff made sure we received it as soon as it arrived. Very professional and understanding with my concerns. Loved every minute.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

It's hotel living. Good for a short stay.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
There is nothing but a tiny refer and coffee pot, with terrible coffee to boot. Cleaning staff was excellent, very friendly and considerate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Kory, Hotel Management
Mahalo Gloria! We appreciate the feedback, and will check on the in-room coffee. We also have a great coffee shop with delicious made-to-order specialty drinks in addition to a full service restaurant & bar open early everyday. Hope to see you again! Aloha.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New zealand

great location and setting

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: location, setting, views, tropical landscaping
Cons: Maybe a more extensive menu in the restaurant. We ate there most nights and it was all a bit bland - maybe we just made the wrong choices ?
Location: In great tourist area, but not over crowed like some of the nearby hotels. convenient for other hotels , shops and local town.
Great location, slightly away from the crowd but only a 15 min walk to a snorkeling area, shops, other hotels and a short shuttle ride to Lahaina. Very relaxing lovely garden setting with fantastic tropical landscaping. Restaurant has great outlook over pool and beach. Air con could do with upgrading but the cottage was generally nice and comfortable. Food OK, nice coffee shop and handy shop on site. we would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Kory, Hotel Management
Mahalo nui! Glad you found it relaxing yet convenient, and appreciate you sharing your experience. We are updating the air conditioning in the cottage units as well. Hope you'll get a chance to come back soon. A hui hou!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacation night before checking into our condo.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Desperately needs updating in rooms/bathrooms. Our toilet leaked, air conditioning was not working well. No lamp in the room worked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maui hawaii

Noisy hotel right next to the beach

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Don't book this hotel very noisy and the fourth day of our stay the construction workers started work on the balcony in the next room. Couldn't use the balcony for the next 3 days because of debris falling on the deck. Hated it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by kory, Hotel Management
Aloha & thank you for the feedback. We are very sorry you hated it. The painting work being done on the exterior of the building shouldn't have caused much noise or debris to fall on your balcony. We try to minimize any inconvenience while we make these necessary updates to the property & building, we will make sure everyone know this. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

great location, quiet setting away from the crowds

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: located dierctly on the beach
Cons: permanent beach umbrellas on the beach and around the pool and grass areas.
Location: walking distance to whalers village. short drive to front street restaurarants and stores, also cannery mall
very relaxing location. friendly staff, clean rooms. right on the beach without having to walk through expansive grounds. Love the royal scoop ice cream and coffee shop.On site convenience store a hidden gem. Hotel lu'au the best , and on site, so no parking hassles. Only downfall to this hotel, NO permanent property umbrellas or beach umbrellas, so no shade on the hottest hours, or windy days. Main pool located directly in front of the main restaurant, so active area, not suitable for romantic ambiance(day or evening). Overall, we would stay here again, gorgeous beach and beach walk!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice cottage rooms great beach access

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Good location Expedia onsite Nice room/cottage and great room patio
Cons: Wifi service More chairs on patios (4 not 2) Sun umbrellas by the pool chairs/lounges available to take out to beach w/o extra charge
Location: Whalers village w/in walking distance giving more food options Easy beach access Good beach to swim on
Good location, close to whalers village and good beach access. WiFi is absolutely horrible!! U will not be able to do any looking for activities or directions through your own wifi..almost impossible to hook up. Pools were ok, disappointed that they didn't have chairs/lounge chairs out on the beach like many other hotels. They will nickel and dime you to death: additional parking fee, fees for use of sun umbrella or beach chairs (other hotels offer for free and u only pay for cabanas). No poolside service. Once we received a menu for poolside snacks... but no one ever came back to take our order.. took a while before we finally found that we were supposed to order ourselves at the activity shack rental hut (last place I would have looked for food!) Only one person working the other poolside bar and they were often MIA- getting ice or other items. Couldn't order food from poolside bar either so found yourself going from one place to another to get food and drinks. On the positive, room was nice, clean and I loved being in a cottage instead of the big hotel. Room service was really good/fast and not any more expensive then going into the restaurant. Nice personal patios outside of your room. Expedia was onsite to book our activities and they were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from City Bell - Argentina

estadia en la isla por primera vez

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: todo el lugar y el entorno que hace que nos relajemos y disfrutemos de la tranquilidad y del paisaje
Cons: no
Location: el hotel esta emplazado en un lugar apartado y cercano está lahaina donde ademas de un outlet existen tiendas, comercios y una marina muy interesantes
nos sentimos muy bien atendidos y disfrutamos de todas las comodidades que nos brindaron con un personal muy eficiente y calificado