Ratings based on 2,547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burns Lake, BC

Lovely hotel!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location and very clean.
Cons: Drink and food prices could be a bit better.
Location: Lots of tours close by.
It was a great hotel, the hotel staff was friendly. Make sure you double check your hotel bill before checking out. We were double charged for our parking space. Food is really good but found the drinks were really expensive. Cleaning staff was friendly and did a great job of cleaning. Would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, CA

Not coming back

Posted Apr 19, 2015
We were very disappointed with our stay here. #1, we were told there is no laundry facilities on site. What makes it worse, is there isn't a public laundrymat in Kaanapali. #2 there is no gym. They have a room for yoga, but no treadmills, weights, etc... The last thing was we paid for a room with an ocean view. But when we got there, we got a room right next to the elevator. When we tried to sleep, we could hear the elevator repeatedly behind the wall next to us. When we asked for a new room, the staff seemed annoyed and said we could get another room away from the elevator, but no ocean view for the same price as an ocean view. Overall, disappointed, and will pick another place next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Get the Cottage

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location, access to beach, staff and cottages next to the main tower
Cons: Age is showing and could use renovation
Location: Lahina harbor is very close by and the hotel has shuttles starting at 10 AM, at the harbor there is shopping and many water ventures,
the J cottage was on the edge of the golf course, beautiful views lots of windows, this one bed room cottage with kitchen and two bathroom was so roomy, we loved it. I will come back to this place again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta Canada

Our 40th Anniversary Trip to Maui!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The lobby was nice to just sit, relax and enjoy the breezes. The restaurant was versatile with buffets and al a cart serving. Enjoyed the breakfasts.
Location: Location was great. We were a hour from the airport and glad, if we had stayed by the airport we would have missed so much. Liked the Luau and shops.
We had asked for an ocean view, but got only a 15% view from our room. Had to be on the balcony to see it. The room, staff and food was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Very average!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We were anticipating more services included in our room cost. The staff was marginally friendly. Did NOT feel the Aloha spirit I had when I visited 30 years ago. Plus, very marginal eating facilities!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Kory, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear it wasn't quite what you were expecting. We often get wonderful comments about the friendliness of the staff and the true Aloha spirit we all love to share, so it is worrisome to read that this was not your experience. We are truly sorry and hope you'll give us another chance to show you that Hawaiian Hospitality you had enjoyed 30 years ago. Mahalo nui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom i

Beautiful, quiet beach

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I loved this hotel! I was nervous coming here as I read the reviews and wasn't sure what to expect. We got upgraded to a cottage ocean view room right behind the pool. This resort is so quiet compared to the Sheraton. The pool is cold but my kids still loved swimming in it and would stay in for an hr at a time. We have the best part of the beach. There is snorkeling at black rock by Sheraton or you can just walk five minutes the other way from resort and there is wonderful snorkelling off point or just before. My nine yr old son snorkelled five feet from shore and saw many fish. I would highly recommend staying here if you want a beautiful beach and want to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Kory, Hotel Management
Mahalo! So glad to hear you and the kids enjoyed it here. Indeed, we do have a great location for those looking to relax peacefully on the quiet side of Kaanapali Beach, and yet have direct access to all the fun activities nearby. Thanks for sharing. A hui hou!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Overall Very Good

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Beach, value. Nice balcony's (better than the one at the Hyatt)
Cons: Pools were basic. Need a hot tub near the pools.
Location: Location is quiet. A bit of a walk to other resorts and restaurants, but quieter and more peaceful.
The Royal Lahaina is at a great location on the beach and an incredible amount of beachfront. The beach is broad with one of the lowest concentrations of people (much better than south of black rock). The rooms were nice and comfortable with a nice balcony space and view. The restaurant / bar were good and reasonable with excellent staff. Concerns were minor but facility seemed dated in some ways, the pools were basic (although not crowded), and the only hot tub was near the tennis courts, far from the other pools. Overall, great value for what you get
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Kory, Hotel Management
Mahalo for a great review and for mentioning some of the best things about staying at the Royal Lahaina. Our facility enhancements are ongoing here, so keep an eye out for some of the new improvements next time you get to visit. A hui hou!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SA

All very nice

Posted Apr 14, 2015
The resort was nice enough, exceeding our expectations. We didn't expect amazing and we got very nice for a family!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, terrible service

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Location is great, right on a beautiful beach. We ate most meals at the hotel restaurant, the service was mostly really slow even with very few people there. One night the family beside us left after waiting a lengthy time for service. Tried to order room service but there was no answer. Cleaning ladies came to our room between 3-5pm everyday which I found in inconvenient as we liked to shower and get ready for supper then. Wifi only worked in one of the 3 rooms we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

Great hotel, close to beach, price was great.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: location, valet service excellant, great dining, sunsets fabulious
Cons: updated rooms, do not have children with family on top floor, many times the pounding of foot steps , very loud
Location: Beach, shops close by, entertanment,
I would come back to this place. Great location, employees were top-notch Rooms need up dated and to be cleaned better. otherwise, Great