Ratings based on 2,255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Beautiful grounds and access to a fantastic beach. The cottages where I stayed are clean and spacious but could use a few updates but the location more then makes up for it. Definitely returning soon, good value for price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Terrific Hotel, Terrific Location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well-appointed. Free local paper every day.
Cons: Free wi-fi was very slow, and sometimes wouldn't work
Location: Nice clean beach. Lahaina town a short drive away.
We booked this at the last minute through Expedia-AARP. It was an air-hotel-car package. We stayed for five nights and opted for the additional $59 nightly to stay in the main tower instead of one of the cottages. Check in was a breeze, with helpful staff assisting us all the way. The room was well-appointed and very clean. Small refrigerator where we kept our drinks. Too made no microwave to warm our leftovers. Balcony looked out onto the beach, the ocean, and the islands of Lanai and Molokai. We faced the luau that performed every night. We were worried about the noise but they stopped at 9 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

November visit to Royal Lahaina

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable. Staff were helpful.
Cons: the "ocean view" is a bit of a stretch. It just means you are on a higher floor. More of a partial ocean view.
Location: Whaler's village is pretty good for shopping. Cool Cat Cafe in Lahaina is great for burgers. The beach walk is great for a run.
This was our first time at the Royal Lahaina. The hotel seems older but fairly well maintained. There was maintenance going on when we were there, but it was not intrusive (no loud noise, smells etc.). The location is nice, walking distance to Whaler's Village and a short drive to Lahaina where there are lots of good restaurants and amenities. The beach at the hotel is nice and quiet. The bay is fairly sheltered so it's good for swimming. Not much to see for snorkeling, though there is a small reef on the rocks at the south end where there are fish and occasional turtles. We didn't dine at the hotel, so I can't comment on that, but the staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Excellent hotel with a beautiful beach

Posted Nov 16, 2014
My fiancee and I stayed at the Royal Lahaina for 3 nights and had a very memorable stay. Located in front of a beautiful beach this hotel provided us with outstanding service from the moment we arrived. A speacial mention to Floor Manager Lucas who went above and beyond to making our stay a memorable one.. Highly reccommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Colombia

Nice and calm

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Clean, good food, calm area.
Cons: pool area isn't great
Location: Front street is very close. You can go and visit the shops there and have lunch or dinner.
This hotel is really nice. It is in a great area where other more luxurious ones are located but this one is more calm and relaxed. Hotel staff are nice and friendly. The food was delicious! It was disappointing that they were renovating one of the pools so there was not only one less pool available (the hotel has two small pools) but the noise could be heard even from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

First timer in Maui

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Excellent resort, in need of repairs due to weather but repairs were in progress.Ready to go back and leave behind the hassle of everyday life.Great people at resort, willing to listen and help u out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Second time :-)

Posted Nov 7, 2014
I enjoy this hotel the staff is friendly and helpful, this is my second time staying at this hotel is so close to the ocean It takes me less than 2 minutes to enjoy Lahaina beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Quieter beachfront hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Location and employees were all great
Cons: Plumbing in bathroom
Location: Close to Lahaina & Cannery mall is walking distance.
Its was Halloween weekend and our stay here was wonderful. No line checking in or checking out. No matter how busy hotel was, great service did not change. Their is happy hour at the restaurant where we had our best mai-tais. No need to go to store because the hotels gift shop sells everything. Some prices in there were better than Safeway & ABC stores & Longs. Our room was beachfront cottage, perfect location. Plumbing in shower not that great, but the room location & service we got made up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cons: Parking spaces were so small and far away that I think I'll get valet parking next time.
Very nice hotel, and close to the beach. Restaurant has good food. Luau is second to none on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the 5-star rating and positive feedback. Our Royal Lahaina Resort Luau is definitely a great time and something every visitor to Maui should experience. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, clean grounds.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly Bartending and restaraunt staff. Grounds were kept clean and orderly. Beach was always clean and free from debris.
Cons: Shower area was poorly kept with stained tiles and mold in the shower door seams. Bed wasn't properly made and coffee cups were not available regularl
Location: Location is close to a small mall with food and water sports equipment rentals. Beach is at end of property with pools available. Luau is on property.
Most hotel employees friendly. Great bartending and restaraunt staff. Mainteneance and Housekeeping skills not so great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. Happy to read that you were pleased with the friendliness and service of our associates and that you enjoyed our tropical grounds. Mahalo.