Ratings based on 2,517 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved the view from our terrace of the ocean.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The location, right on the ocean. Great sunsets!
Cons: I'd prefer free parking.
Location: It's close to the port at Lahaina where I went whale watching.
We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Royal Lahaina. Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable room, great view (we saw whales, the ocean, and Molokai), and delicious food in the restaurant. There is a trolley that goes to Lahaina for $2, and a free one too. Nice and inexpensive drinks at happy hour.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto canada

Nice place poor restaurant

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Ocean view was great but too expensive Great whale views Resterant was not good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Great location, very comfortably rooms!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location was great, beach wasn't busy.
Cons: Hotel restaurant could be updated/improved.
Location: Right on the beach with a golf course next to the hotel which kept the area less busy than other hotels on the same beach. Walking distance to shops.
Loved the hotel and location. Rooms have been nicely renovated, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Honest hotel on great beach close to Black Rock

Posted Mar 22, 2015
We stayed at Royal Lahaina as it was a walk away from Westin where our family was staying, but more affordable. The hotel is very comfortable for the price! The building and facilities are a little oldish, it's more down to earth and that's what we like - no glitz and over the top perfectly manicured lawns. The staff were amazing, professional and super efficient while being very friendly and delightful. Susan at the beach shack and Rebecca at the pool bar were standouts for great customer service! The restaurant staff are the only weak link and the food is crap. Next door is the Royal Lahaina Lu'au which is excellent, plus you can practically crawl there. We stayed in an Ocean view room, true to the name we had excellent water views (level 6) and could easily see whales breaching all day long. It was a bit loud from the car park and service lanes (we prefer the open air for breezes, but they had aircon and it was dead quiet with the door closed), next time I would look for a room much further forward. Honestly the best rooms would be the water condos right above the pool area facing the ocean head on. And I think worth the price. The beach in front of the hotel is the best section of Kaanapali in my opinion (no rocks on shore), and only a stroll away from the amazing snorkelling at Black Rock. Anyway great stay overall and could definitely recommend a stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Unforgettable View.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Great snorkeling around the hotel. They have the best Mai Tai's. Breakfast buffet was good.
Cons: $12 for the Mai Tai's is steep.
Location: Snorkeling at Black Rock. Lahaina town is close and always fun to see. Lot's of good restaurants close by.
This was our 3rd time at Royal Lahaina. That should say enough. The beach was always clean. They are on the northwest side of the island which is away from most attractions, but driving 20 minutes up the road with that view made it better for us. We will be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OH

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Very nice hotel in a great location. Close to many shops and restaurants. It is located on a beautiful and clean beach. Pools are slightly small but still very nice. Extremely helpful front desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poulsbo, WA

Wonderful beach location, every room has a view!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The beach, the two pools, the tiki bar (with live entertainment!), the wonderful staff, the stores ... and did I mention THE INCREDIBLE BEACH!!!
Cons: The crawlspace door in our bathroom was a little funky -- but totally no big whoops. Everything else was truly excellent!
Location: Close to the airport, several towns, many restaurants, lots of shopping and services, and myriad coastal sites to explore -- you'll never get bored!
We were very impressed with this resort, from the gracious service and staff to the beautiful surroundings -- and everything in between! The hotel stores offered almost anything that you could possibly want or need to make your stay truly pleasurable, and their prices were reasonable, as well. We checked out other resorts in the area as we walked the beach, and we were totally satisfied with our choice of lodging. You will not be disappointed! (And P.S.: We saw Humpback Whales every day!)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Very disappointing!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Not much...
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!
We made our reservation in the garden cottages which looked lovely on the website. Upon arrival, we were very disappointed to see the condition of the cottages...they was paint coming off the ceiling in the bathroom and the vanity in the bathroom was very old. Clearly, nothing has been updated in these cottages since they were built. On the day of our departure, there was no water so we were unable to flush the toilet, brush our teeth or shower. When we checked out, the hotel did not even offer to compensate us for this inconvenience! We will definitely NEVER stay at the "Royal" Lahaina again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Maui visit.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: View of ocean able to whale watch from balcony. Restaurant in hotel.
Cons: Area for luau is gravel and hard to walk on.
Location: Very handy to LaHaini and port for any water type event.
First time visit to Maui. Hotel was a very pleasing experience. Staff was very accommodating, food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and right on the beach!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Beach bar was great!!
We stayed in a cottage. It was one that was not renovated yet. It was a room with 2 beds and a bathroom. Just what we needed for our stay. A little outdated, but it's not like you are going to hang in the room the whole time. The grounds are very well kept. Staff was very friendly, helped with everything. I would stay here again!