Ratings based on 2,484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane, WA

Great location, great staff, good value!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Needed a room in Kaanapali for just one night and found the Royal Lahaina. The staff is super helpful and courteous. The price was very good. The cottage was updated and clean but the AC was loud. Watch out for ants. They show up nearly the moment you set down food. Very near the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moderate hotel, nice beach front location

Posted Feb 27, 2015
I booked a nine day stay at the Royal Lahaina resort. It seemed like we had one of the best beaches on Kaanapali. The luau, held right at the resort, offered tasty menu options and entertaining performances. A destination experience to enjoy. The hotel showed some wear and tear and could have been quieter overall but generally comfortable with accommodating staff. Small pools. The oceanview room option was a worthwhile upgrade. The menu choices at the resort restaurant were limited and pricey but happy hour drinks were an affordable afternoon offering, and as a non-inclusive resort, meals at Whaler's Village, in Lahaina or neighboring resorts were accessible within walking distance or by trolley and permitted choice of price and meal selections. The real draw of Maui is the weather, natural beauty of the terrain and the island vibe. The resort offered a pleasant, more than adequate base camp for days in the sun, tour/island experiences, and respite from life back home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma Panhandle

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The view, the grounds, the friendly service, the clean beach, the convience store, ice cream shop, and safe walking around the area.
Cons: Overbooking at the resort was a big frustration for us after a long day of travel.
Location: Lahina Harbor offers triolgy snorkeling, submarine rides, lots of shops and eating. We enjoyed all of them.
Our stay at the Royal Lahania was excellent. The food was good, the service was excellent and the grounds were perfect. If staying for the first time ask for a room 5 floors or higher and on the north side of the building for the best view of the ocean. Our only complaint was that the resort had obviously overbooked as we had booked our rooms 9 months ahead and our room was not what we had booked. The Staff was courteous and we did get the room we wanted the day after we arrived. We loved the luau, did a excellent snorkeling trip with Triolgy, enjoyed downtown Lahania, rented a car and drove the Island with out much trouble, enjoyed the beach, walked the area in safety and watched the whales from our balcony every morning. We traveled with a group of 14 and the resort was good to arrange for our group to be together when we wanted. We loved the Ice cream shop on the grounds for fast, healthy food when we didn't want to eat in the dining room. The convience store was great Lovely vacation for us. Aloha
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Anselmo, CA

Tidy, clean, simple. Great shower!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Cons: Have the staff talk to you like a person, not a job.
Location: Whales go by the hotel. The water is amazing.
The desk clerk was scripted, but that is common in Hawaii. The space itself was quiet, low-key, simple, tidy, and clean. The shower was hot and the water pressure was hard. No water shortage in Hawaii! The whales passed right by the hotel, and we could hear them underwater. The water was clear, warm, sensual with a fun little wave out in front on the beach. Enjoy!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Winter Vacation

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Good beach and access. Good restaurant and happy hour. Never seemed crowded with the spacious lawn space available.
Cons: Some of the rear cottages.
Location: Location is a few miles only to Lahaina and also close enough to Rt.30 to drive up and see the north part of the island.
We stayed in a ground level cottage second row from the beach which was convenient. Sunset dinners on a nice evening sitting outside the last day was memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Excellent Stay

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Cons: Parking was difficult to find at times and the spaces were very small. It would have been nice if the beach towel check-out had later hours.
The hotel staff were all nice and incredibly helpful. From the moment we pulled up and were welcomed "home" by the attendant at the front gate, we felt completely relaxed and comfortable at the hotel. The restaurant there has great food and an excellent view. Plus, they have nightly Hawaiian music. The hotel also offers a free exercise class each morning. The beach is just steps away. We had an amazing view from the 7th floor of the hotel tower. Everything about our accommodations was delightful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatoon

Hotel- more so Cottages need work. Call Holmes

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Cons: If the shareholders of this hotel or timeshare owners were aware of the condition of these properties I am sure they would be selling these.
When we arrived the first cottage had smelly VERY smelly carpeting, wood rot in the windows and the bathroom , mildew, ants lots of ANTS on bathroom floor and on the counter top in the bathroom. 4 hours later we purchased deodorizer that wasn't helpful at all, we asked to move into another room or cottage the desk told my wife well we cant put you in the tower so we were relocated to another cottage needles to say rather then complaining we sooner focus on enjoying our vacation outdoors. Top it off we booked a Valentines supper with the hotel that offered for Feb 14, I ordered the special my wife ordered salad and a teriyaki chicken meal guess what the waiter didn't ask how I wanted steak done , I ate it with a butter knife "it was well done" when the second waiter came she asked are we sharing the steak?? we said no my wife ordered chicken as well so mean while my steak was getting cold I started eating half ways through my wife's chicken showed up. McDonalds upsells all their orders a hotel with any class should also upsell their food and provide proper utensils at least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

One night at Royal Lahaina

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Nice smaller, traditional resort
Location: great location
We stayed one night at Royal Lahaina, awaiting our timeshare week at the Westin. We were upgraded to waterfront, a great room with lovely view. Service was very good. We will go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Good location just hard to get to

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The grounds back onto a golf course so that could be an advantage to some travellers
Cons: The repair of the units needs some work
Location: Lahaina is nearby and a bus will take you there for $2 each way. The Outlet centre is good but not as populated as that on Oahu.
This resort is well situated for a holiday just transport on Maui is difficult other than renting a car. We booked this accommodation 8 months prior to our arrival and requested two beds in the cottage for my eighty year old Mum and Aunty but when we arrived were told that they had only a single King size bed for them. Not impressed and when we complained was told that a request in just that not a firm booking! Eventually staff member did sort it but the cottages were very tired with paint peeling in the bathrooms. Ok for just a two night stay. Luau was fabulous with set seating and a nice show, the food some of the best we have had at a Luau in Hawaii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

It is a beautiful hotel with sea view.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We stayed a short time and checked out at 03:00 AM early morning because we went to Haleakala National Park for Sunrise.