Ratings based on 2,443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lahaina

Right on the beach

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Lots of sand and the pool isn't to far away. Grounds well kept. Ample parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

First time at this property

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Please see above.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Enjoyed our Pacific Whale Foundation snorkel/dolphin watch trip out of Lahaina. Abundant whale activity---one of the best reasons to go in winter.
Overall, a wonderful choice. High marks for the location, views of ocean and mountains, appearance of the room interior, friendliness of on-site staff, including wait-staff in restaurant and bar, guest relations, valet, and front desk---with one exception. The young lady who checked us in delivered poor service---no eye contact, had to repeat answers to questions, didn't see that both of our rooms had been pre-paid, and generally gave the impression that she didn't care whatsoever that we had given her hotel our business. In contrast, when we asked that one of our rooms be changed due to A/C noise, that person knocked herself out trying to make it work--which it did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary AB

Awesome views

Posted Jan 26, 2015
We were upgraded to the top floor with a living room and North and west views it was awesome! The room was beautiful and clean the lighting over the sinks could be brighter for doing make up. We found the restaurant good and reasonably priced. The trolley and bus to Lahaina were very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

OK for the price, but not ideal for kids

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Staff friendliness, close to beach
Cons: Updates to rooms, better swimming pools and activities for kids
Location: Location is good, lots of shops, restaurants, and attractions a short car or shuttle bus ride away.
We had a cottage room (not a suite), which was fine so long as you don't spend a ton of time in there. My husband & I brought our 9 and 5 year-old with us and it was pretty tiny with 2 double beds. Room was clean but could definitely use some updating as far as paint and carpeting were concerned. As for the resort itself, all of the facilities seemed to be geared towards the retirement community-- most of the guests were much older than us and we felt a little out of place. If we came back to Maui we would book at a different resort that catered more toward families.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

This is the first bad review I've ever left.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Nothing. Some guy with a black jeep was allowed to drive down the walkway and grass to park beside his unit. We had a big cockroach. No sun rm service
Cons: Closer parking. Same rules for everybody. Batteries that work in TV remote. Handrail in bathroom. Don't bang on door at night. No cockroaches.
Location: Great snorkeling and restaurants on other side of Black Rock. Wonderful drive to Hana.
Thought whoever is reading this might find our experience a little interesting... so here we go. I called the resort before booking to see if they had handicap accommodations. I was told "yes" and that they'd put us in an updated unit close to parking and would make a note of it. When we checked in I explained to the lady that I'd called before booking and the content of the conversation. She said, "there's no note" and seemed completely unsympathetic of the situation. She then tried to sell us an upgraded unit for a higher price, but we'd have two double beds and would have to move mid week. We said that wouldn't work. So we were given a unit far away from the parking lot without a handrail of any kind in the bathroom. The place is set up in such a way that you constantly feel obligated to tip. From the minute we pulled up someone was grabbing for our luggage without asking us first if we'd like help with it... so we tipped that guy. Then we were told to move the car before check in or they would gladly valet park it for us. My husband parked the car while we all waited at the front desk for him to come back with his credit card. After checking in, a guy started loading our luggage on a golf cart to take us to our unit... so we tipped him. We were told if we needed a lift to give a call. But, we would have had to tip until we were broke just between the rides to and from parking. One of the staff yelled room service and opened our door while we were in a dead sleep 11:00 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom waikiki

Cant miss stay

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Convenient and comfortable. Everything available on site and dont need to leave if you just want to relax. You can see whales breach for hours from the beach bar and cafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

beautiful setting saw dozens and dozens of whales

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Location: Watch whales, Walk to Whalers village Drive north to the rural area in just a few minutes to the blow hole and snorkeling bay
I attended a nursing conference there. I had a marvelous time in the pools, beach (so close) and tiki bar. I LOVED the live music each night and the hula dancers each night by the pool. I felt very respected by the staff. My room was spotless, comfortable, large and I LOVED the mini bar area with sink, stools, refrig... I would come back in a heart beat! Thank you so much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful facility, beach, restaurant, staff!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
We stayed four days and were delighted with this hotel and the value it provided. Great location in the middle of Kaanapi beach hotel area. We loved the veranda restaurant ambience and food. The hotel grounds, pools, and beachfront made this a perfect tropical romantic get away spot for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn New York

AWESOME MAUI

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The Island is paradise the hotel needs an upgrade it is an older property the internet is horrible when you want to Facebook your pictures it is a real nuisance not to be able to have quiet moments on the deck checking in with your peeps left behind. The staff needs some further training housekeeping can't get all the towels in the room at the same time and if you ask the desk any front desk type questions most of them cannot answer. The restaurant staff is much more on their game and the restaurant food quality and service is great the room service is also great. They should have let us know in advance the $10.00 per day parking charge and you have to self park. Not the best hotel I ever stayed in but not the worst but don't miss Maui!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sullivan Illinois

Very nice resort by the beach

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The service, the smiles,very clean,view of ocean,the beach was beautiful,shops.
Cons: We had to ask where's the hot tub was and it was across the street by the tennis courts we seen and decided not to get in. not pretty setting at all.
Location: they have a breakfast you can go to free that shows you all the different thing to do and even calls and sets them up for you this is not a timeshare
We loved this resort. Everyone from parking the car to the maids treated us like royalty. The name fits them well Royal Lahaina Resort! Clean, great view,great service,beautiful beach!