Ratings based on 2,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to the beach without the crowds

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: We loved the Luau at the hotel. Very reasonably priced, the food was excellent and the free cocktails a bonus
Location: Take the trolley to Whalers Village or the bus to Lahaina town. Lots of lovely places to eat and shops to entice even the worst shoppers.
We stayed here for 5 days/nights and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is very airy and the room was spacious. The staff were wonderful and the beach very inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Better than its 3-star rating.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: This hotel is the site of the local luau - a must-see event during your stay. All hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: There was no privacy between rooms when sitting on the balcony. Internet connection in the room was weak and intermittent.
Location: There were regularly scheduled shuttle buses to the Outlets of Maui for $2 or free 3-hour parking on the streets (if you can find a spot) on Front St.
For those used to staying in a 5-star hotel, they may see why this one is a 3 but for those who are used to staying in a 3-star hotel, it will feel like a 5-star hotel to them. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room and the view was spectacular. The room had beautiful ornate wood furniture and fixtures including the sliding window covering on the balcony. We kept the windows open and listened to the sounds of the ocean all night. The ocean was just a few steps from the hotel property and the public beach was clean and the water warm and blue. The pools were never busy so lounge chairs were readily available and there was always easy access to the poolside bars and restaurant. There is only one hotel restaurant but a trip to Front Street, the local must-go-to area, will offer several options for restaurants, bars and shopping as well as water activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Great location!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable. Room was clean and tidy. Elevators were fast.
Cons: Parking spaces were too tight
Location: Location of hotel was convenient, it was near Whalers village,Black Rock,and Front Street. The beach was right behind the hotel, was not too crowded.
Check-in process was a bit slow. We upgraded our room to the 11th floor with an ocean view. Tower oceanview room with balcony was worth the upgrade. The view from the balcony was amazing. Listening to the ocean everyday from the room was soothing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Complete rehab of rooms.
Location: Close to good snorkeling beaches, shopping and restaurants.
Location was good, as well as the grounds, but the room was disappointing. It was shabby - in serious need of updating. Lighting was poor, carpet was torn, windows were dirty and screens were missing. There were very few electrical outlets making charging devices difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus OH

Awesome old school Hawaiian Resort

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Location. It's right on the beach, walking distance from Black Rock which has great snorkeling with turtles. The Tiki Bars and happy hour were great
Location: Snorkeling, beach, food, drink, an awesome luau on the premises, a shuttle to Front Street, golf course
Great hotel, location, staff, room view.......no negatives. We would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Beautiful grounds and access to a fantastic beach. The cottages where I stayed are clean and spacious but could use a few updates but the location more then makes up for it. Definitely returning soon, good value for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

My Experience at the Royal Lahiana Beach Resort

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The staff, the comfort level of the hotel, the amenities
Cons: The breakfast is good but the extremely earlyh ours for the great price could be lengthened
Location: Not much to do nearby it is necessary to rent a car. The staff is truly great at giving exact directions to activities
The staff was courteous, and very helpful. The rooms are clean and the house keeping staff answers all questions and requests immediately. The location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Terrific Hotel, Terrific Location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well-appointed. Free local paper every day.
Cons: Free wi-fi was very slow, and sometimes wouldn't work
Location: Nice clean beach. Lahaina town a short drive away.
We booked this at the last minute through Expedia-AARP. It was an air-hotel-car package. We stayed for five nights and opted for the additional $59 nightly to stay in the main tower instead of one of the cottages. Check in was a breeze, with helpful staff assisting us all the way. The room was well-appointed and very clean. Small refrigerator where we kept our drinks. Too made no microwave to warm our leftovers. Balcony looked out onto the beach, the ocean, and the islands of Lanai and Molokai. We faced the luau that performed every night. We were worried about the noise but they stopped at 9 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

November visit to Royal Lahaina

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable. Staff were helpful.
Cons: the "ocean view" is a bit of a stretch. It just means you are on a higher floor. More of a partial ocean view.
Location: Whaler's village is pretty good for shopping. Cool Cat Cafe in Lahaina is great for burgers. The beach walk is great for a run.
This was our first time at the Royal Lahaina. The hotel seems older but fairly well maintained. There was maintenance going on when we were there, but it was not intrusive (no loud noise, smells etc.). The location is nice, walking distance to Whaler's Village and a short drive to Lahaina where there are lots of good restaurants and amenities. The beach at the hotel is nice and quiet. The bay is fairly sheltered so it's good for swimming. Not much to see for snorkeling, though there is a small reef on the rocks at the south end where there are fish and occasional turtles. We didn't dine at the hotel, so I can't comment on that, but the staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Maui trip

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: The pool could be updated and made larger for sure!
The staff was very helpful and extremely welcoming. The facilities were a bit outdated. The pool was small and similar to that of your grandmothers home. The neighboring Sheraton had much nicer amenities for only about $30 more a night.