Ratings based on 2,135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Beach front location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
This is a very nice hotel. It is close to the Whaler, but not a 5 minute walk as described, it's a 5 minute drive which is ok if you know that in advance. The rooms are clean, comfortable and semi-spacious. There is a frig and a personal safe in the room, but no microwave. This is a completely non-smoking resort, smoking is even prohibited on the balconies, so if you are a smoker you may want to keep this in mind. They offer breakfast each morning and there is one restaurant on the grounds for dinner but I would recommend visiting some of the local restaurants as the dinner menu is limited. All and all a very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnstown PA

Great views all around

Posted Jul 27, 2014
This is my 3rd stay at RL. You can't beat the price for the best views and beach access. A little disappointed this time with hotel staff. Some not as friendly as in the past. Had to wait a third day to get a room with dbl beds for 3 of us when booked months in advance. But overall, another wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Hawaii Dream Escape

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Large and recently updated rooms, the bar, staff, laid back atmosphere, and beach fronting the hotel.
Cons: Lounge chairs and Jacuzzi
Location: Snorkeling Snorkeling Snorkeling Snorkeling
We loved the hotel. The rooms in the tower were really nice. Looked like they were recently remodeled. The Royal Lahina is right next to two of the best snorkel areas around West Maui. We originally wanted to stay in the Hyatt but when we later had brunch there we discovered the beach in front of the Hyatt was not even swimmable. There were huge rocks and no beach. The Royal Lahina on the other hand fronts a spectacular beach and is right next to Black Rock where there was great snorkeling. The hotel restaurant was pretty good and the bar has a great happy hour from 2pm-6pm. Only complain was there were not enough lounge chairs by the pool. Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great Ocean View

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: Guest service Price of food Pool Supply activities like Kayak, boarding on spot not at the harbor only.
Location: The location was great. Not too far from activities.
The hotel was great. We came and they overbooked standard rooms so they upgraded us to a Ocean View room and we loved it. This is an older hotel that was renovated not too long ago. It is a good hotel. I think they are in planning process to demolishing it and building a new resort. They had a breakfast buffet that was actually decent but I think the $25 per person was way out of line for a breakfast that didn't include steaks. The pros: - Ocean front. Didn't have to cross the street or walk blocks to get to the beach. Out the door and the beach was right there. Awesome. - Fridge was include in room. Great for stocking cold water. - Great location The cons: - too many ants. our room was infested with little ants. luckily they showed up just a couple of days before we left. - need to upgrade pools - food expensive - customer service needs more training. Need to smile more, be friendlier, proactive and excited. Standing in line to check in and there were three guest service personnel standing behind the counter yet only one person helping everyone getting checked in. - small rooms - small bed - no microwave *** Should at least have a microwave
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. Happy to read that you enjoyed the view and beach. At this time there are no plans for us to demolish and build a new resort. I will be sure to review your comments with our Front Desk associates. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oc california

Good

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Good recommend it next to the beach and nice facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha Pepe. Thank you for the 5-Star rating and recommendation. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location, clean and comfortable!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We stayed at the Royal Lahaina for 10 days for our honeymoon! The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. We had an ocean view room in the tower and it was spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel provided bathrobes and a decent hair dryer. Our balcony was small but lovely to sit out on. The rooms were quiet and the bed was comfortable. The hotel had a nice restaurant for breakfast with ocean views. The early bird breakfast (6:30-7:30)was a decent deal. There is also a nice little store and ice cream shop at the hotel that offer lighter fare (drinks/yogurt/sandwiches). The hotel pools are simple. The beach is lovely. We could always get lounge chairs...but you can't take them onto the beach. You can pay to take an umbrella on the beach (which they set up for you), for folding beach chairs and for a cabana....we didn't do these things, but many people did. The fee for parking was $10 a day. We payed $15 a day for valet service which was very convenient. Overall I think this resort is well worth the money. It isn't as luxurious as the 5 star resorts....but also is much more well priced. I would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for selecting Maui and the Royal Lahaina to celebrate your honeymoon. So glad that you enjoyed the experience, found us to offer a good value and would stay with us again on a return visit. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice hotel ocean view

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Excellent resort highly recommend to my friends and family
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha Sam. Thank you for the 5-Star rating and referrals. We hope we can welcome you back to Maui and the Royal Lahaina Resort again soon. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Private Getaway on the Beach

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The location, the privacy, the cleanniness, the beautiful well kept grounds, the courteous staff; overall the beauty of it.
Cons: Everything seemed fine.
Location: It was great! The trolley and the shuttle bus services were great to take you nearby to the Whaler's Village and Front Street.
Overall it was a wonderful experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Beautiful hotel and grounds and beach view! Everyone was very attentive and friendly. The only uncomfortable issue that we encountered was an annoying buzzing sound that came and went. We had the Security look into it and said it was the elevator doors, however, it was a buzzard coming from either from a smoke alarm in the hallway or through the bathroom ceiling vent. Hopefully, the next guest would have said something so that it could have been looked at more carefully.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the resort. I will follow up with our Security Department regarding the buzzing you mention, to ensure this has been addressed. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

great hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: great location, great staff, loved the new remodeled modern room, great buffet breakfast I would stay here again in a heart beat, great beach,
Cons: pool should stay open till at least midnight
Location: centrally located resturants and shopping minutes away, although you do need a car to get around in maui
had a great time can't say enough about this hotel, staff friendly and very helpful, room clean ,great beach upgraded to a tower room from garden cottage
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha Jane. Thank you for the 5-star rating. Glad to read that you were pleased with the resort and had a great time. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I loved the hotel on the beach with a pool very nice and not crowded. They did an update to the hotel so visually it was pretty.Free Trolley
Cons: Bathroom showers need a bar to hold on to inside shower. Lobby cushions need to be cleaned, they were dirty. Room should be vacuumed daily b/c sand
Location: Lahaina is nearby, Whalers Village, Outlets are close by, rent a car if you want to see the island
I was disappointed with the 3:00 check in, we arrived around 5:30 and still did not have a room until after 8 pm and then the room had not been cleaned. The toilet had to be plunged every day to the point we had to use the restrooms in the lobby and not our room. Staff seem interested in getting tips and not always go out of their way. I felt like staff at front desk did not care about our issues. Restaurant and bar staff were wonderful, very friendly. Ford was outstanding to my family and made us feel very welcome. You need more people like him.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Royal Lahaina Mgmt, Hotel Management
Aloha Kat. Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for the check-in and maintenance issues you mention, I will follow up directly with you to review these. Glad to read that you enjoyed the restaurant and I will be sure to pass along your positive feedback to Ford. Mahalo.