Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marikina, Ph

Terrific room, terrific beach, so-so service.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: spacious room, hotel feels Grand, terrific beach and availability of activities
Cons: more activities for families
Location: excellent selection of beach activities for the novice - snorkeling, boogie board, kayak, paddle board...this was the best part
Reception folks not as pleasant as I expected. Spacious, comfortable room. Terrific beach and availability of activities. Very nice staff at the beach. Very nice folks on hospitality team. Parking is too far and spaces too small. Facility is very nice but age is showing. Dining options are expensive. I expected more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, great views and wonderful staff

Posted Jul 4, 2014
My only complaint is the noise from room above. We can hear loud water noise from shower and bathroom. Woke us up one night. Also, you can hear every step. Other than that, suite was very spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. While we’re pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite, we would like to extend our deepest apology for any inconvenience the noise from the suite above caused. Thank you for your valuable feedback - please be assured that it will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dick from Calgary, AB

12 great days in Wailea, Maui, HI

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Adult only Pool (in addition to 2 others)... Poolside amenities -- Tanning lotion, Aloa Vera, towels -- a great beachfront... The Ciao Café ice cream
Cons: $150 a day for a poolside cabana? Who can afford that?
Location: Wailea Shops has some great restaurants (Longhi's, Tommy Bahama's).. at the Wailea gate. We loved the PITA Paradise, and the Monkey Pod.
This time we didn't want to stay at a Condo (usually we stay at the Palms of Wailea).... Instead, we decided to stay right on the beach. Fairmont Kea Lani was a superb hotel... the rooms are all suites and very large. Not cheap! Specially after having to pay an additional $30 (+tax) daily Resort Fee. There is something to be said for ALL-INCLUSIVES or staying at a condo and cooking.... Our Breakfasts were $34 per person for the Buffet and ordering anything less expensive didn't make sense as it cost more in the end once you add $6 for coffee, etc., etc. We tried a lot of the surrounding restaurants in Wailea and Kihei. Nick's at the hotel was great (of course quite expensive as you can imagine)... but eating in Maui in general is VERY EXPENSIVE. The beach and the pool areas at the Fairmont were fabulous. Our room got cleaned in the morning and we had turn-down service in the evening when they changed all our towels as well. The high-light of our trip was waking up early every morning and going for a long walk on the Oceanfront pathway, which meanders along all the hotels and oceanfront villas/condos and takes you all the way to Kihei (almost). The scenery was spectacular, the hotel properties/grounds along the path with manicured landscapes are really unique. A MUST to see. We had a car (Cheap! $15/day) and drove to Kapalui for Happy Hour at Merrymen's 3 to 5PM... excellent location and great food. Finished off our last day at the famous Mama's Fish House... near the airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Vancouver, BC

Problems with conference guests

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The separation between the children's pool area and the adult one.
Cons: Unfortunately the occasion of my family visit coincided with a number of business type conferences, some of which included unduly noisy members.
Location: The facilities on site covered our requirements for a week, other than we found the nearby Four Seasons a much quieter place to dine!.
The hotel staff were themselves excellent both in attitude and performance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Ian, and thank you for your review. While we are pleased that our staff's friendly service added to your stay, we’re very sorry to learn that your family’s vacation wasn’t entirely relaxing. Our resort welcomes a wide variety of guests to the hotel and we work hard to ensure that each guest has an outstanding visit. We’re very sorry that this wasn’t the case for you and have passed along your feedback to the leadership team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo and best wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimmy

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful grounds, kids really enjoyed the long water slide. Hotel staff were friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best at wailea beach

Posted Jun 11, 2014
5 days - 5 nights. Very relaxed, large open property on almost private beach. Super snorkling and paddle boarding, great restaurants and bars, super staff. very nice!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from San Francisco

Fairmont staff excellent.

Posted May 17, 2014
Fairmont staff went above and beyond their duty and created an experience that will never be forgotten on my stay with them. The hotel was gorgeous, peaceful and definitely a true Maui experience that everyone need to experience once in their lifetime. The moment you are greeted by the hotel staff when you arrive and then when you walk into their spectacular lobby, you know you have arrived and no your vacation begins. The staff was very attentive without being overly aggressive or intrusive. With the beach directly located on the property, what more could you ask for. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anybody. Hotel rooms were very nice and facilities were top notch.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha David. We’re incredibly happy that your “true” Maui experience was spent with us and that you found the resort to be perfect. Most importantly, we are very proud to learn that our staff contributed to making your vacation so memorable. We will absolutely pass along your kind compliments to the team. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise Found on Maui!

Posted May 7, 2014
Lovely property with warm and welcoming staff that make you feel at home during your stay. My husband and I were so impressed with the service, the food and the location that we did not want to leave. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone from couples to families. This was our 7th trip to Hawaii and the Fairmont has been our favorite escape!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Kea Lani for your recent escape to Maui! We're pleased to learn that your experience was memorable and that your expectations were exceeded. We're also very proud that our staff's friendly service added to your vacation. It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your husband back again soon. Best wishes and a warm aloha.
3 out of 5
by J and F from Toronto

Noisy but nice

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Staff were generally very pleasant and helpful. Free golf club rentals with Fairmont President club membership. Shuttle service around area...
Cons: room service charges a rip off. sound proofing in rooms. more alternatives for high price on property dining
Location: Great spot near golf and linked to other properties via coastal pedestrian pathway. short drive to other towns and activities
arrived after a 12 1/2 hour journey covering 6 time zones to very pleasant staff and easy check in procedure. Unfortunately our room, while very nice and comfortable was incredibly noisy. Between screaming kids in the next room and what felt like our upstairs neighbours taking a shower in our room at 6 in the morning there was little sleep to be had. The only solution offered by Fairmont staff was a move to another room at a substantial cost to us! We were assured that the room was a multiple level upgrade from the original but in an all suite hotel it was the exact same room with different view. In fact it had fewer amenities that the original and except for the screaming kids was almost as noisy. The wind blowing through the door jam was so noisy we had to stick towels under the door at night to sleep. Luckily we weren't in Maui to hang out in the room much so the rest of the facilities were very nice and the setting and area was terrific. The concierge staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. While we’re pleased that you received a high level of service and enjoyed some aspects of the resort, we’re truly sorry for the noise you encountered during your stay. We do have periods when more families with children are visiting (often coinciding with school breaks), however we strive to provide a relaxing vacation for all our guests year-round and sincerely apologize you experienced anything less. Please be assured that your feedback is taken very seriously and has been passed on to our leadership team. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo and best wishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Relaxing, warm weather, quiet end of the island... Amnesties are very nice but very expensive